English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 November 2001, 05:30   #1
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Emulating WinUAE on a Mac

Ok guys. MacUAE is so far behind WinUAE its pathetic. Its not very high compatabilty wise. So. The reason I own a PC now for a year is for PC gaming. I tried to look into emulating Win 98 in Virtual PC, but the problem was it was not meant for gaming. I have a wonderful iBook, a laptop (Business Week: "pound for pound, best laptop ever."). I want to play Amiga games on my laptop using Win98 on Virtual PC. Any ideas on if this'll work?
Fred the Fop is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 November 2001, 18:29   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
Nice to see you are still around

It might work, but it surely will be sluggish as hell, no matter how fast your mac is (it's a 500Mhz G3, innit? perhaps it might run on a dual 800 G4). Besides, think of the unreliability of running an emulator inside an emulator....

Why don't you try running your Amiga games using Fellow under DOS? Thsi will be much better for VirtualPC! I bet you can run them at full framerate and all... Fellow DOS is a great emulator in my opinion. (my favorite in my setup )
Akira is offline  
Old 30 November 2001, 19:14   #3
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Excellent idea , Akira ! (Yes, its g3 500. As you know, Motorola chips are consistently faster and more efficient MHZ for MHZ. My 500 MHZ g3 blows my 800 MHZ P3 to shreds)
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 30 November 2001, 20:15   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
I know how fast it is, but still would be sluggish because of the double emulation shiznit going on. Try DOS Fellow and tell me how it went, I am interested
Akira is offline  
Old 30 November 2001, 22:50   #5
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
I will do this. I will go on www.emulation.net and find a DOS emulator. I know about emulation in emulation, of course you are correct on that point. Will report soon!
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 01 December 2001, 01:50   #6
bluebox
 
Posts: n/a
Watch this site and perpare to upgrade to OS X:

http://www.iit.edu/~sarimar/GDS/macuae.html
 
Old 01 December 2001, 03:54   #7
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Bluebox, I have OS X, and it is so fuggin good, XP is flounderin to copy it. Anyway, as you know OS X is based on the UNIX kernal, making the new MacUAE a DREAM!!
I can't wait for it to come out. I imagine a splendid GUI, blazing speed, stability etc.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 01 December 2001, 18:53   #8
bluebox
 
Posts: n/a
Frederic, I don´t want to discourage you but
the first port of UAE to OS X will be using
X11R6. A Port to Cocoa is planned afterwards.
So no

> splendid GUI

for the first release, I suppose.

And Marin Saric is still working on the first
release - which should be a simple Unix to Unix
port, but I don´t know much about the OS X API -
since six months, so some patience could be
necessary.

However, waiting for a native port seems to me
more promising than trying to emulate on an
emulator.

> XP is flounderin to copy it.

Is there anything in MS products that is not
copied ? ;-)

btw ...

bluebox
Guest
Registered: Not Yet

Why the heck I´m unregistered again ?
 
Old 01 December 2001, 18:57   #9
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
Quote:
Originally posted by bluebox
btw ...

bluebox
Guest
Registered: Not Yet

Why the heck I´m unregistered again ?
It's called, RCK's eraser bot

If you haven't follow our rules, your account have been cleaned.
(I think less than 10 posts & more than one month of inactivity have destroy your account)
RCK is offline  
Old 01 December 2001, 22:27   #10
bluebox
 
Posts: n/a
> (I think less than 10 posts & more than one month of inactivity have destroy your account)

well, I see.

maybe I should switch to a more MarzAttackz´esque style
of posting. ;-)

Is it okay when I write a bot for this purpose ? ;-)
 
Old 02 December 2001, 11:54   #11
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
lol
the bot is just my little brain who's maintaining this place

If you don't want your account be destroy, avoid > one month of inactivity, is it so difficult ?
RCK is offline  
Old 02 December 2001, 14:10   #12
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Quote:
Originally posted by bluebox
maybe I should switch to a more MarzAttackz´esque style
of posting. ;-)
:suspiciou
MethodGit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice for using WinUAE on a Mac TheDarkCoder support.WinUAE 8 14 November 2012 01:53
Mac Bootcamp and WinUAE Washac support.WinUAE 22 05 February 2012 19:15
WinUAE for Mac OS X? Pyromania Amiga scene 21 09 November 2009 23:56
Emulating An Amiga CD32 using WinUAE amigauser support.WinUAE 63 17 August 2006 06:25
winuae on mac Marcuz request.UAE Wishlist 3 09 April 2006 14:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16269 seconds with 11 queries