English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 August 2006, 08:50   #21
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknown_K
What requirements are there for burning using makecd? I have a Yamaha 4x caddy drive I would like to burn backups with on my Amiga 2000HD (Workbench 2.05 ,GVP 68030/40 with 16MB RAM)?
Burning wit this config will be really good.
I can burn at 2x speed on A2000 with 020/14 MHz and 4mb ram. Yamaha 4x4x16 scsi drive...
Chain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 August 2006, 09:53   #22
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong
BTW are you using the registered/shareware demo version of Frying Pan with your LiteOn DVD burner or something else?
I am using dvdrtools/cdrtools
Slayer is offline  
Old 01 August 2006, 10:53   #23
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayer
I am using dvdrtools/cdrtools
Out of curiosity, have you found any workaround for the 2Gb limit on burning?

Tried burning DVDs with the Frying Pan demo at all? Reason I'm asking is I've just ordered a Fast ATA IDE controller for my A4000 from Elbox and am looking at buying a DVD burner. I want to buy one that is supported by Frying Pan. Unfortunately the Frying Pan website only lists support for particular 1x-8x burners, which are quite hard to get hold of now (new or used!). Fortunately there are a few stores here in Oz that still carry stock of the LiteOn models you and Murakami have.

@Everyone
Anyone else here doing DVD burning on their Amiga using Frying Pan and a current generation 16x burner? If so, please spill the details
DrBong is offline  
Old 01 August 2006, 11:05   #24
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBong
Out of curiosity, have you found any workaround for the 2Gb limit on burning?

Tried burning DVDs with the Frying Pan demo at all? Reason I'm asking is I've just ordered a Fast ATA IDE controller for my A4000 from Elbox and am looking at buying a DVD burner. I want to buy one that is supported by Frying Pan. Unfortunately the Frying Pan website only lists support for particular 1x-8x burners, which are quite hard to get hold of now (new or used!). Fortunately there are a few stores here in Oz that still carry stock of the LiteOn models you and Murakami have.
I've tried all manners of pipes to try and use the mkisofs <arg> | dvdrtools <arg> , I've looked at installing other file systems that potentially can at least store an image greater than 2gigs.

I've tried to get programmers interested in providing the code to dvdrtools or cdrtools which will merge the 1 gig output files that mkisofs is capable of... (apparently the code only exists in some dvdprodad equivalent...

And I've tried to utilise some vague references to buring a dvd in multisession (i.e. burn 4 1 gig odd files one after
the other seamlessly)

I almost made the decision to simply burn 2 gig dvds... I mean, hell, they are as cheap as cdroms anyway now...

I will tell you this... it takes makecd 8 mins to burn a full cdrom at 8x...

I'm pretty sure using dvdrtools I burnt 2 gigs of information in less than that... but I can't remember if I write from the cyberscsi in that instance or not...

but really, as long as you don't have to watch a movie who cares how long something takes to burn to media, once it's burnt its done...

I'm beginning to think it's a waste of time anyway... 120 gigs etc are so cheap... I'd rather keep archives on 120 gig hds and simply have another as a back up etc...

some of my collections are so vast 120 gig doesn't even hold the entire collection... imagine swapping out that many 4 gig dvds... argh!



perhaps after I get a few amigaones I'll look at some sort of blue light media... until then... I was happy just to toy around with concepts...

hell, perhaps I'll code the missing parts myself one day
Slayer is offline  
Old 01 August 2006, 11:10   #25
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
I missed your other question... nope I haven't tried FP demo... I don't bother with crippled software... of course it'll do the job, so why temp yourself unless you are wanting to buy a solution



I'm mucking about with Morphos PPC dvdrtools port... having a few problems but who knows...

I could always reinstall NetBSD3.0 and find a unix solution...

adios!

just like the old days... doesn't matter what ultimately comes of it, it's bloody fun just mucking it out and brain thrashing with a good ol Amiga...

Slayer is offline  
Old 01 August 2006, 11:24   #26
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayer
but really, as long as you don't have to watch a movie who cares how long something takes to burn to media, once it's burnt its done...

I'm beginning to think it's a waste of time anyway... 120 gigs etc are so cheap... I'd rather keep archives on 120 gig hds and simply have another as a back up etc...

some of my collections are so vast 120 gig doesn't even hold the entire collection... imagine swapping out that many 4 gig dvds... argh!

What you're saying makes perfect sense, but I'm kinda sick of having the lids of my A4000s off or unscrewed just in case I have to swap HDs in and out for backup purposes. I find that when I have the lid off the A4000T that I'm tempted to expand it by stuffing more cards and other stuff inside that ends up bringing the whole system down!

Having DVD-RW/RAM drives on my main Amigas will save all the messing around with backup HDs and transferring large chunks of stuff between machines. Will also save me some financial grief too when the shit really hits the fan and I have to bring the A4000T to my technician to sort out!!
DrBong is offline  
Old 01 August 2006, 11:34   #27
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
your A4000s have lids?????????????????

heh

my A4000D and A4000T each have a AriadneII card plugged into a router myy modded xbox is connected also...

so sharing information isn't such a big deal... hell, I removed my 250 meg zip drives from both... kind of made them redundant...

but yes... the machines should be covered...

but mine are not

ya need a cpu room?
Slayer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UAE settings as an Amiga prog thellier request.UAE Wishlist 0 14 July 2013 14:21
Help Burning WinUAEX to DVD Castelian New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 22 November 2010 05:07
amiga and old blitz basic prog - please help brian hills support.Other 7 05 October 2009 01:56
Best Amiga prog. to do Music lopos2000 support.Apps 4 22 January 2006 11:58
Amiga prog to use keyboard as joystick? keropi support.Hardware 4 06 November 2004 23:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15446 seconds with 11 queries