English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 July 2006, 13:23   #1
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,955
VICE - The Versatile Commodore Emulator ported to Amiga finally!!!

Slightly old news, but several new Amiga ports of VICE 1.19 have appeared over the last couple of months, courtesy of AmiDog and Piru:

http://www.amidog.com/amiga/vice/

Ports for AmigaOS3 (m68k), AmigaOS4 (PowerPC), AROS (i686), AROS (PowerPC) and MorphOS (PowerPC) can be downloaded here:

http://www.amidog.com/amiga/vice/download.html
DrBong is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 July 2006, 15:58   #2
commie1974
Ami Worshipper
commie1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Piraeus-Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 187
Yeeeeeeaaaaahhhh!!!
At last, guys
Great newz, DrBong
commie1974 is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 17:07   #3
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 786
It's a pity that it requires a graphics card. I wanted to run the PET emulator. It's annoying that you need a graphics card to emulate a monochrome computer.

(yes, I know that it's because it's a port)
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 17:49   #4
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
@mr_a500:

Get the new WinUAE 1.2 platform everyone's talking about. It runs like a dream.
The most high-end A4000. It even has 16-bit Paula
amiga is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 17:52   #5
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 786
Quote:
Get the new WinUAE 1.2 platform everyone's talking about. It runs like a dream.
What? I'm using a real Amiga here. I doubt WinUAE will run like a dream on my A500.

Thanks anyway.
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 18:00   #6
bippym
Global Moderator

bippym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 8,486
and also there is little point running vice thru winuae (other than for obvious reasons.. like to see if it'd work) you might as well run the PC version directly!
bippym is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 18:02   #7
Tony Landais
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 426
i am a bit worried about how fast it would run on a real amiga
I only get a C64 at 6FPS with WinUAE and default settings or 30 FPS with optimised settings.
As usual sound emulation is very time consuming.

Last edited by Tony Landais; 13 July 2006 at 18:09.
Tony Landais is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 18:34   #8
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
i am a bit worried about how fast it would run on a real amiga
I only get a C64 at 6FPS with WinUAE and default settings or 30 FPS with optimised settings. As usual sound emulation is very time consuming.
My original post was done quickly at work, so I'll add some of my first impressions here now. I tested this for a couple of hours a fortnight ago on A4000/060 with Picasso II gfx card. It pretty much crawls with unoptimised settings. With optimised settings and sound turned off it runs at a half-decent rate, but depends to some extent on how sophisticated the C64 game or demo is that you're trying to run. Speed is not too flattering with C64 games that are hardware intensive (e.g. shoot 'em-ups like Turrican). Not sure if type of Amiga gfx card (i.e. 2D vs 3D vs PCI) is a great factor for speed with sound turned off, but I imagine it is with sound emulation turned on. Anyway, I would have liked to have fiddled around with it a bit more, but unfortunately my Amiga went down a day or two later. I hope to get my A4000T/060/PPC back soon, so I imagine the MorphOS version will run much faster on that.

As it stands, VICE on 060 is what Frodo is to Magic64 on 030/040 speed-wise. VICE is definitely a class above Frodo, so hopefully the AmigaOS3 version will benefit from further optimisation in future updates. I imagine this initial release is not terribly optimised, so there should be some room for improvement in subsequent versions. Emailing the author might provide some strong encouragement for this to happen..........so get on it if you want it!
DrBong is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 00:24   #9
commie1974
Ami Worshipper
commie1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Piraeus-Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_a500
What? I'm using a real Amiga here. I doubt WinUAE will run like a dream on my A500.

Thanks anyway.
LOL, I totally agree!!
Hail to all hardcore REAL miggy users in here!
commie1974 is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 08:10   #10
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by commie1974
...
Hail to all hardcore REAL miggy users in here!


I use WinUAE and I am a REAL miggy user, no less than you !!!
amiga is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 10:33   #11
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,955
@amiga
Erm, I'm not sure that he meant it the way you took it exactly. Doesn't change the fact that it wouldn't make much sense to run the Amiga port of VICE through emulation when the latest version with all features functional is available and developed for PC first. This news item is more about using real Amiga set-ups rather than emulation. If it works via WinUAE, then that's a good thing given it's an app, but quite pointless for regular use.

@everyone
Anyone tried it on real hardware and want to share their first impressions?
DrBong is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 13:05   #12
Psycreator[mds]
Amiga Musician
Psycreator[mds]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Warstein/Germany
Age: 36
Posts: 18
Send a message via ICQ to Psycreator[mds] Send a message via AIM to Psycreator[mds]
Tested VICE just for fun on my A4000TE 060 128mb ram and CVPCC plus a Repulse Soundcard.
First impression, it is very compatible, any Game worked without problems on the C64 and Plus4 Emulator. But it is really slow on 68k, 2-5 FPS maximum here )

If it would run as fast as MAgic64 it would be a cool Emulator, but this will never happen, so this Emulator is for High Powered PPC or PC's only. Can't wait until I got a PPC Amiga myself, the Vice would be fine )
Psycreator[mds] is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 16:14   #13
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 786
Quote:
Anyone tried it on real hardware and want to share their first impressions?
Yeah, I tried it on a real Amiga 500 and it failed when it tried to load cybergraphics.library. It ran great up to that point.

@commie1974:
Hail to you too.

@amiga:
I don't want to get into a pointless arguement, but WinUAE is NOT a real Amiga. You may emulate real Amiga software, but you are not a REAL Amiga user (...due to your lack of REAL Amiga). Is someone who runs a flight simulator a real jet pilot?

Last edited by mr_a500; 14 July 2006 at 16:55.
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 16:51   #14
commie1974
Ami Worshipper
commie1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Piraeus-Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 187
Eek

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiga
I use WinUAE and I am a REAL miggy user, no less than you !!!
Hey, the word 'REAL' goes to 'miggy', not to 'users'
I am completely sure that you are a REAL user of Amiga, else you would never had joined EAB But, IMHO.....
WinUAE sucks! In fact it's a good piece of software, but it runs on a ludicrous OS, hehe! Try a MacOS or a UNIX version, insted! But even in this case....
Nothing beats the real thing!!!!
commie1974 is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 18:07   #15
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by commie1974
Hey, the word 'REAL' goes to 'miggy', not to 'users'
I am completely sure that you are a REAL user of Amiga, else you would never had joined EAB But, IMHO.....
WinUAE sucks! In fact it's a good piece of software, but it runs on a ludicrous OS, hehe! Try a MacOS or a UNIX version, insted! But even in this case....
Nothing beats the real thing!!!!


Don't get overheated (like the "real thing")
amiga is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 18:11   #16
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_a500
... Is someone who runs a flight simulator a real jet pilot?
Judging from the incompetence of today's jet pilots, I'd say "yes"
amiga is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 18:11   #17
commie1974
Ami Worshipper
commie1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Piraeus-Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 187
Hehe, the real thing NEVER got overheated, even with an improved, power-consuming setup of extra drives, RAM etc.
And of course it never needed a 850watt-fan or thick-as-a-brick heatsinks, like the machines running.... you know what!!!
commie1974 is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 18:18   #18
amiga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amiga_land
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by commie1974
Hehe, the real thing NEVER got overheated, even with an improved, power-consuming setup of extra drives, RAM etc.
And of course it never needed a 850watt-fan or thick-as-a-brick heatsinks, like the machines running.... you know what!!!

Ok ok , I give up
amiga is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 18:25   #19
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 786
So, to get back on topic:
Did anybody else try Amiga VICE?
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 18:28   #20
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 38
Posts: 3,315
I agree, a true "Amigan" is someone who only uses a Amiga for all the games and stuff, and not emulates it through WinUAE.... BUT , I love WinUAE as it's soooo much faster and better in 1 million ways + more . Of course, it's a pain having to emulate it through a focking PC... but it's worth it cuz I can play all games and do all the stuff any Amiga can do sooo much faster and better (except PPC).... quicksave.. YEAH! :P...

Best regards,

Ironclaw - A focking super mega Amiga freak who loves the Amiga computer more than SEX!!! (weeeee)
Ironclaw is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
if msx games was ported to amiga ? turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 48 08 November 2014 23:04
VICE for Amiga xlar54 support.Apps 7 29 December 2009 11:11
UAE must be ported to the Amiga jharrison support.OtherUAE 3 21 November 2008 13:22
Flash Commodore 64 emulator dreamkatcha Retrogaming General Discussion 0 28 May 2006 19:24
do you know if moon patrol was ported to the amiga ? pbareges request.Old Rare Games 8 08 March 2005 18:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26438 seconds with 11 queries