English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 July 2006, 14:22   #1
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
DosBox 68k

Someone recently post a 68k version of DosBox on Aminet !

Finally after PC emulating Amiga, we can Emulate old classic PC games.
Frog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 July 2006, 15:03   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
lol, I have found dosbox not so good on more powerfull systems... it will crawl on the amiga...
keropi is offline  
Old 12 July 2006, 15:45   #3
MrZammler
Zone Friend
MrZammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Crete
Age: 40
Posts: 191
Tried it yesterday. It's not very very slow on my 060, but I havent tried running something on it.
MrZammler is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 13:22   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
I have to admit I am with Keropi on this one.

Dos box is... a dire implementation of a virtual os, especialy when its run on a virtual os (XP say). after a few hammer and tongs on my 3200 barton (2GB ram -Dual Chan)
I was almost able to play duke nuke'em at an almost playable speed.. but there are some that just trawll....

infact i got so upset with the speed of it.. i went in my the workshop, dragged out a load of old bits / junk and proceeded to put together an actual dosbox!

low and behold after 2 and a half hours of moaning at 98SE installing, configuring and rebooting... oh good i'd almsot forgotten howmany reboots you have to do.... I am sure i changed the keyboard config and it asked to reboot..... lol....

so after all that now i have in my front room (in a small media case) a TRUE DOS box (under 98se) with 1.4Ghz CPU and 512MB ram, 64MB GFX and AC97 sound all through my big TV!!!!! MMMmmMMM

so who wants a game of Duke / Doom / Quake and you name it hell i think theres about 200 games installed on it LOL


i did buy one thig for it though.....

a bluetooth dongle for my mouse and keyboard
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 16:08   #5
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Bah, a real DOS box would be something like an 8086 to a Pentium 200 with ISA sound cards!
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 17:52   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
thats pretty die hard there Unknown K.

in truth although i had components of that *ahem* specification, i fear the dust would prohibit them from working!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 18:17   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
My *real* dosbox is a slot1 p3/550 , 256mb ram, 20gb hd and a voodoo3 agp card plus a soundblaster awe64 isa sound card... that plays 99% of old games, but I still have my IBM PS1/pro 386sx/20 lol
keropi is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 23:16   #8
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
For DOS games I have a Tandy 1000HX (8086, 640K CGA screen), a 386/40 tons of cards, and a P200MMX also with tons of cards. I can play every DOS game ever made on one of those 3 with the correct video and soundcard(s).

Its hardcore I guess, but het it works for me.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 16:45   #9
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
well in fact i was in the hope to play some VGA adventure game that we're not made on amiga.
Frog is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 17:29   #10
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frog
well in fact i was in the hope to play some VGA adventure game that we're not made on amiga.
I highly doubt this can be done...
keropi is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 20:24   #11
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I would think it would be reletively cheap to find an old DOS x86 and just use that for old games.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 22:41   #12
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frog
well in fact i was in the hope to play some VGA adventure game that we're not made on amiga.
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
I highly doubt this can be done...
Why not? Like Frog, that would be my main interest in running DOSBox on Amiga (68k or PPC).
DrBong is offline  
Old 14 July 2006, 23:13   #13
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
You could probably run a DOS game on a DOSBOX running on a PPC, I just don't see running games on a 68K Amiga (would be too slow I think).

Is anybody going to try it?

I have DOS emulater software for the Mac (works on 68K) and to run Windows 3.1 the manual says you need a PPC machine. I snagged a Nubus 386/25 card for one of my Macs and it runs great except it only emulates CGA video (unless I rip the machine up to install a VGA card onto the Nubus card). So even if a 68K could emulate a DOS game how would you run the VGA graphics? My 286 bridgeboard on my 2000 can only do CGA unless I install a CGA card.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 15 July 2006, 06:56   #14
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
I have to admit I am with Keropi on this one.

Dos box is... a dire implementation of a virtual os, especialy when its run on a virtual os (XP say). after a few hammer and tongs on my 3200 barton (2GB ram -Dual Chan)
I was almost able to play duke nuke'em at an almost playable speed.. but there are some that just trawll....

infact i got so upset with the speed of it.. i went in my the workshop, dragged out a load of old bits / junk and proceeded to put together an actual dosbox!

low and behold after 2 and a half hours of moaning at 98SE installing, configuring and rebooting... oh good i'd almsot forgotten howmany reboots you have to do.... I am sure i changed the keyboard config and it asked to reboot..... lol....

so after all that now i have in my front room (in a small media case) a TRUE DOS box (under 98se) with 1.4Ghz CPU and 512MB ram, 64MB GFX and AC97 sound all through my big TV!!!!! MMMmmMMM

so who wants a game of Duke / Doom / Quake and you name it hell i think theres about 200 games installed on it LOL


i did buy one thig for it though.....

a bluetooth dongle for my mouse and keyboard

Did you press CTRL-F12 to speed it up?
Anyway, DosBox is a superb emulator, I should know, I have tested 3,000+ games on the various releases.
Duke Nukem is one that is a pain, and many games from 1996 onwards can be
slow no matter what. Otherwise, Doom or Panzsr General or Descent run beautifully, and many newer DOS games from 1997 or so run just right.
DosBox , like WinUAE is a WIP. It'll get better.
I use the Mac OSX and Windows XP release. Happy with both!
As for running demanding or even not so demanding (of course 32 bit games) on an Amiga...good luck. A waste of time.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 15 July 2006, 07:00   #15
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unknown_K
You could probably run a DOS game on a DOSBOX running on a PPC, I just don't see running games on a 68K Amiga (would be too slow I think).

Is anybody going to try it?

I have DOS emulater software for the Mac (works on 68K) and to run Windows 3.1 the manual says you need a PPC machine. I snagged a Nubus 386/25 card for one of my Macs and it runs great except it only emulates CGA video (unless I rip the machine up to install a VGA card onto the Nubus card). So even if a 68K could emulate a DOS game how would you run the VGA graphics? My 286 bridgeboard on my 2000 can only do CGA unless I install a CGA card.
I have run SoftWindows, a Macintosh Windows 3.1 emulator on the Mac emulator Basilisk on Windows XP!
I think to run amualted VGA games on a 68k you need atleast a 68040 with FPU.
I can tell you it was slow or crashed Basilisk when I tried to run Shadowgate Windows 3.1 version.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 15 July 2006, 17:05   #16
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
when i see ScummVM that handle to play DOTT, Sam N Max and others Lucas game in VGA on a A1200 030 50mhz pretty nice, i was thinking it was possible to play those old VGa adventure games on Amiga. I don't talk about playing to any FPS too slow. Anyway there's some Amiga port of Duke Nukem or Doom that are optimized especially for Amiga.
If DosBos 68k could have enough ppl interested perhaps someone will be interested to port latest version and otpimize it.
Frog is offline  
Old 15 July 2006, 17:28   #17
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeň
Age: 37
Posts: 349
PCTask would most likely be alot faster, as it is made for the Amiga. The later version even featured a x86 JIT emul if I don't remember wrong.. or was that PCx? Anyhow, both of those are probably worth checking out if you really are interested in emulating a PC on the Amiga.

Last edited by patrik; 15 July 2006 at 17:33.
patrik is offline  
Old 15 July 2006, 18:01   #18
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
@Patrick : nice idea !!
Frog is offline  
Old 16 July 2006, 12:53   #19
Captain_ Kal
Registered User
Captain_ Kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 47
Posts: 90
>>>>Did you press CTRL-F12 to speed it up?

And if you use "frameskip=1" you can increase the speed without any loss in frames (because you limit the frames that dosbox draws in a buffer, or a thing like that anyway )


>>>Duke Nukem is one that is a pain, and many games from 1996 onwards can be slow no matter what.

That's because DosBox emulates a 486 DX. (You couldn't run Duke Nukem on a 486 I think). But you can run these games using a Win98/WinMe Partition or Microsoft Virtual PC 2004. With Virtual PC you can have multiple machines running at the same time. I even use it for AROS.

>>>> so who wants a game of Duke / Doom / Quake and you name it hell i think theres about 200 games installed on it LOL

If you want doom on an XP Machine (with mouselook ) try http://www.doomsdayhq.com/

>>>>> so after all that now i have in my front room (in a small media case) a TRUE DOS box (under 98se) with 1.4Ghz CPU and 512MB ram, 64MB GFX and AC97 sound [IMG]images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG] all through my big TV!!!!! MMMmmMMM

I use a different approach. All in one machine with different OS and emulators.
Captain_ Kal is offline  
Old 17 July 2006, 08:01   #20
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 37
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrik
PCTask would most likely be alot faster, as it is made for the Amiga. The later version even featured a x86 JIT emul if I don't remember wrong.. or was that PCx? Anyhow, both of those are probably worth checking out if you really are interested in emulating a PC on the Amiga.
PCTask 3 had a "Turbo" mode that took 4x the amount of RAM. I'm not sure if it was a dynarec or not, I would guess so. Apparently not, as I found a readme for 4.3 that talks of the introduction of a dynarec.

Last edited by LocalH; 17 July 2006 at 08:07.
LocalH is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 2 02 June 2013 14:06
68k SoftCore development for DosBox AGA NovaCoder Coders. Asm / Hardware 0 18 February 2013 07:04
I've become a DOSbox nerd! StarEye Retrogaming General Discussion 77 18 August 2009 06:36
problems w/ 68k netsurf, dosbox, and sdl watertonian support.Other 1 04 July 2009 21:01
DOSbox v0.73 is out! Shoonay Retrogaming General Discussion 31 01 July 2009 11:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28796 seconds with 11 queries