English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 November 2001, 13:04   #1
kurtbrian
 
Posts: n/a
Problems with Harddrive in Winuae

I am having a problem with formatting my newly created hdf-file, in the workbench 1.3

I can't format the HD. It says it has some sort of handler problem.

I have mounted the drive

What to DO
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 November 2001, 16:49   #2
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Exclamation

Unfortunately, you're out of luck here.

HDF's (unlike hard dirs, i. e. if you have every single Amiga file unpacked on your [Windows] harddisk) CANNOT autoboot with kickstarts below 2.0, that's a fact.
Bernd Schmidt programmed the uaehf.device for UAE, but he didn't provide support for 1.x kickstarts.
HOWEVER - you can use Robert Templeton's instructions here which also helped me to successfully build up a WB 1.3 HDF working on Kickstart 1.3!
However, it still requires a bootable floppy disk in ADF format to be inserted in DF0: for starting up the HDF and doing all that mounting stuff: as I said, it won't autoboot with Kick 1.3.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by andreas; 24 November 2001 at 00:52.
andreas is offline  
Old 24 November 2001, 01:15   #3
kurtbrian
 
Posts: n/a
thanx for the help and the link

However, I knew about the not-being-able-to-boot-part.
 
Old 24 November 2001, 06:30   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
But you can have an auto-booting 1.3 by copying the contents of your workbench disk into a directory and setting it as your DH0: drive. You may need to modify your startup-sequence to do this.
 
Old 24 November 2001, 13:10   #5
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Yes, you just have to read my post carefully enough.
I said "unlike hard dirs"
andreas is offline  
Old 24 November 2001, 13:43   #6
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Just noticed that eheh
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add Harddrive greyed out in WinUAE 1.4.3? narmi support.WinUAE 3 08 September 2007 02:45
Using Amiga harddrive in WinUAE? torob support.WinUAE 8 01 July 2006 02:35
USB/FW Harddrive in WinUAE possible? mrpijey support.WinUAE 1 06 June 2005 20:40
Add Harddrive Problems debbuthap support.WinUAE 24 03 March 2003 03:21
harddrive problems.. poppe support.Hardware 12 09 December 2001 21:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11426 seconds with 11 queries