English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 June 2006, 20:38   #1
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 59
Posts: 189
shortcuts on workbench

Hi guys,
I am running Bloodwych's classic workbench and want to know how you put a frigging shortcut on workbench.In Windows you right click and cut and paste to where you want it on your desktop.How do I do this on workbench? You are probably laughing hysterically now - but hey the England match only finished 10 minutes ago and you are still pumped full of adrenaline like me........does it have something to do with the iconify command?....please help.... I have enclosed the smilie that relates to how I am doing at the moment
Dave_wb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 June 2006, 22:14   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Just go to the game/app dir, highlight the game/app you want on WB and press RAmiga + L
RetroMan is offline  
Old 15 June 2006, 22:23   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Or....

Right click on the icon, from the context menu go to “Position->Leave Out” for the same effect.

Also on that menu is "Put away" to place it back from where it cameth.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 15 June 2006 at 22:31.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 15 June 2006, 22:41   #4
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 59
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroMan
Just go to the game/app dir, highlight the game/app you want on WB and press RAmiga + L
Hi!!
Thanks for the info - I felt a right prat but now I know better.I have found a pair of Enact speakers built for the Miggy circa 1995 so my A1200 now has an internal hard drive, a squirrelscsi cd rom, a zip drive and a second external hard drive with which I am using to play Rush at a decent decibel level.Thanks again and rock on!
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 15 June 2006, 22:45   #5
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 59
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych
Or....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych

Right click on the icon, from the context menu go to “Position->Leave Out” for the same effect.

Also on that menu is "Put away" to place it back from where it cameth.
Thanks Bloodwych,
You are without question "the man". I love your classic workbenches and amaze friends who dont know what a magnificent machine the A1200 was and still is.How the hell did Bill Gates ever get to be the richest man in the world with his windoze software.I cant wait to see Vista which they think will need a gig of ram just to tick over!!Thanks again
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 15 June 2006, 22:54   #6
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
No problem and yes you're right. I always thought Risc OS on the Acorn Arch was a neat interface too, amazing for the time especially since it ran completely from ROM (and loads better than the other ROM OS, Atari TOS).

Not as customisable or accessible as Workbench though.

Vista looks like a way of selling hardware - the "glass" rendered interface requires 50-70MB RAM on its own!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 16 June 2006, 08:09   #7
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_wb
In Windows you right click and cut and paste to where you want it on your desktop.
Duh... this doesn't make a shortcut but MOVE your file to the desktop folder of the current user.

To make a shortcut: right click on the icon then "Create A Shortcut" then move the shortcut tp the desktop *OR* you can drag'n'drop the icon with RIGHT mouse button and select "Create shortcut here" from the contextual menu.
z00mba is offline  
Old 16 June 2006, 10:35   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
@z00mba: you can also drag the icon with the left mouse button and hold down the Alt key to create a shortcut (hold down shift to move the file or hold down ctrl to copy the file).

@Dave_wb: there is no such thing like a shortcut on the Amiga. If you leave out an icon, it disappears at its original location. Although the file is not moved, Workbench only shows it on the desktop but not where it is stored.

Workbench keeps track of the left out icons in a file called .backdrop on each drive. You can edit this file with a text editor, if you want to do it the hard way.
thomas is offline  
Old 16 June 2006, 11:19   #9
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 42
Posts: 431
I realised recently I don't completely understand some stuff about workbench. I find the snapshot stuff in particular a pain.

Is there an idiots guide on the net anywhere, or do I need to get a book? I can picture it now "Amiga for Dummies"
Parsec is offline  
Old 16 June 2006, 11:29   #10
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
I remember as small freeware to create alias under WB (named WBAlias... so predictable) but you still have to leave out the Alias to get them on the WB after that. Anyway it never worked on my 3.9 system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parsec
I realised recently I don't completely understand some stuff about workbench. I find the snapshot stuff in particular a pain.
Snapshot, icons, display and a few other things in this area are indeed a real pain.
z00mba is offline  
Old 05 August 2010, 15:08   #11
bieniu
 
Posts: n/a
Hey,

Thx for the info how to make icon on desktop from game / file, but i still dont know how to make shortcut from directory.

When i try to make from direcotry "iconify" i have shortcut on desk but after enter inside icon diappear from desk.

Ehm... pls help

best regards
b.
 
Old 05 August 2010, 16:12   #12
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parsec View Post
I realised recently I don't completely understand some stuff about workbench. I find the snapshot stuff in particular a pain.

Is there an idiots guide on the net anywhere, or do I need to get a book?
OS3.9 The Book at http://amigan.1emu.net/aw/
Minuous is offline  
Old 05 August 2010, 21:42   #13
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
You should try IconLink.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 06 August 2010, 13:40   #14
exoticaga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 446
All the time i ave used amiga have never found an easy way to snapshot desktop as i like it. Would be nice i it just remember where the icons are placed automaticaly as able to do with xp os. Was there samll software or hack made to do this ?
exoticaga is offline  
Old 06 August 2010, 13:50   #15
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,901
I thought it was just right click --> snapshot --> all?
seuden is offline  
Old 06 August 2010, 13:55   #16
exoticaga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 446
BUt i always seem to snapshot - all and then window to make the icons stick. Just seems better if no snapshots needed, and could remember the position all icons were last left at automaticaly.

Or even a samll script to clickable icon on workbench, to do away with clicking snapshot this and that each time. I do move icons around a lot, so needing such a tool more often.
exoticaga is offline  
Old 14 October 2010, 19:43   #17
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 387
Let's lift this up a bit... How do I create a "shortcut" or something like that in a way that it runs a shell script? If my shell script is called "dosomething", how do I make an icon/shortcut on the desktop in WB 3.1? In dopus it's easy, but what if/when I want the thing on my "desktop"?
emuola is online now  
Old 14 October 2010, 20:22   #18
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
IconX
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 16 October 2010, 20:08   #19
emuola
Registered Whdload user
emuola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 387
Quote:
IconX
Thanks Now it works
emuola is online now  
Old 17 October 2010, 12:13   #20
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 50
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
cosmicfrog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with OctaMED v3 k/b shortcuts museum support.Apps 10 01 April 2016 16:15
Keyboard shortcuts A600 project.ClassicWB 2 05 April 2007 17:20
Workbench desktop shortcuts coze support.Other 5 05 November 2006 19:12
Keyboard shortcuts jobro request.UAE Wishlist 1 28 November 2005 13:46
Workbench Shortcuts lopos2000 support.Apps 6 29 July 2005 02:33

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27637 seconds with 11 queries