English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 November 2001, 09:32   #1
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
King's Quest 1 Remake

Yay!! I have found a site with a remake of Kings Quest 1!!! Looks awesome, much like the update regarding Defender of the Crown.


http://www.qknowledge.net/royalquest/KQ1index.htm

This one's sure to make Amigaboy smile
All legal like too.

Last edited by Fred the Fop; 11 August 2006 at 09:41.
Fred the Fop is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 November 2001, 09:48   #2
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
Sierra already did their own King's Quest 1 remake for the 10th anniversary!


Attachment Removed

Last edited by Ian; 29 December 2001 at 21:10.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 22 November 2001, 11:19   #3
Blackjackel6
Junior Member
Blackjackel6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to Blackjackel6
Thumbs up looks promising anyway

regardless about sierra's own remake this project looks very cool indeed. i can't wait to see if tierra decide to remake other classic sierra adventures such as police quest which was never given the vga treatment by sierra
Blackjackel6 is offline  
Old 22 November 2001, 14:10   #4
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
WOW

It would be good if they redo KQ2 and KQ3
Paul is offline  
Old 22 November 2001, 14:52   #5
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
It's a bit of a hefty download though - a 23Mb executable file to grab!

Of course, those of you with Cable & DSL will think of this as no big deal.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 22 November 2001, 20:53   #6
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
I have just downloaded the game and the speech patch with my 56k modem.

Get FlashGet first before downloading this game and have plenty of patience.
Paul is offline  
Old 22 November 2001, 21:04   #7
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Is FlashGet (or maybe it could be nicknamed "FlashGit" ) considered better than GetRight (which I use) and GoZilla?
MethodGit is offline  
Old 22 November 2001, 21:14   #8
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Yes, FlashGet is much better than Getright in my opinion since it automatically connects the same file multiple times and downloads it as seperate chunks.However, know that some ftps consider this as hammering and may ban your ip. I'm banned from the underdogs because I did not know about this. Well they suck anyway...

This remake seems quite promising. But the way they create their artwork is painful (I know it from my own experiences) They must be dedicated to the work they are doing so maybe they should have created a brand new game rather than a remake.
 
Old 23 November 2001, 12:19   #9
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
They are remaking Kings Quest II as well

http://www.qknowledge.net/royalquest/screenshotsKQ2.htm
Paul is offline  
Old 23 November 2001, 18:22   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,292
One thing I dont like about this game: it's got that "blurry-smudgy-photoshop-whore" look, like in the Defender of the Crown remastered edition.

It sucks ;P
Akira is offline  
Old 23 November 2001, 20:07   #11
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Yes Akira. If you work only with a scanner and a mouse and have no chance of actually drawing lines with the computer as you can do with pen and paper, you cannot avoid this blurry look since you cannot make enough detailed graphics and most of the time you prefer to use massive amount of photoshop filters to hide the lack of complexity.
 
Old 23 November 2001, 20:14   #12
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
The thing I did not like is, it runs under DOS. Because of this I'm stuck at a 75hz screen mode which kills my eyes. Oh and it doesn't recognise my sound card either. I know it's an amateur project but hey, there are DirectX based, easy to use game creating tools made for exactly this purpose like darkbasic !!! (www.darkbasic.co.uk)
 
Old 24 November 2001, 00:38   #13
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,292
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
Yes Akira. If you work only with a scanner and a mouse and have no chance of actually drawing lines with the computer as you can do with pen and paper, you cannot avoid this blurry look since you cannot make enough detailed graphics and most of the time you prefer to use massive amount of photoshop filters to hide the lack of complexity.
Yep, if these guys knew about pixel drawing, you would get an astonishing game. But pixelart is such a niche art Today you only see it in the demoscene, and even there, it's starting to become too graphictablet-driven!
Akira is offline  
Old 24 November 2001, 01:02   #14
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
I'm sorry if this is nonsense for you but I need to say it:

Since we have nice graphic tablets and nice gfx applications designed for them, pixel drawing is considered as madness. In my opinion it's an old but distinctive method of making graphics and it can never die. With the invention of photography many expected that the painting was going to die but that didn't happen because painting had distinctive features that photography did not have.

In pixel drawing you are in control of even the smallest unit that can be modified and while drawing with a digital tablet you can hardly avoid <put your favourite gfx application here> ish look unless you work with a sinle pixel brush.

For example, you are stuck with the brushes photoshop offers. Surely you can create your own brushes but they feel and act just the same way the default ones do. Corel Painter's purpose is to simulate natural media for example, because of this we have lots of oil painting-ish looking digital images today. I'm not against it, actually I favor it but right tools should be used on right purposes and if you are going to draw a sprite for a game such as this, you have to work as detailed as possible.
 
Old 24 November 2001, 02:14   #15
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
"graphictablet-driven"? Please, explain.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 24 November 2001, 07:26   #16
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Shortly, that means the graphic's being drawn by tablets
check www.wacom.com for info on their graphic tablets.
 
Old 24 November 2001, 14:47   #17
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Cor, I'd really kill to get my hands that huge chicken leg the guy on the main ad on the site is holding!! *licks chops, slurps, whines for that leg etc.* :laugh
MethodGit is offline  
Old 24 November 2001, 18:13   #18
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Are you sure it's previous owner was a chicken?
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
king's quest vi save game garet74 support.Games 0 02 July 2012 14:04
king's quest IV aohovland support.Games 2 10 February 2010 01:59
King's Quest 6 - Disks not recognised Tim Janssen support.Games 2 17 May 2004 17:48
Larry, King Quest, Space Quest - fixed games haynor666 request.Old Rare Games 8 01 May 2003 18:07
King's quest 2 sborat request.Old Rare Games 22 04 August 2001 13:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23837 seconds with 11 queries