English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 November 2001, 17:13   #1
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
Correct size of adf..

Can adf images be less than 880k?

I looked through my collection last night and found a few which had not downloaded properly (ie: had a filesize of 0) but other adfs I have, have a filesize in the range of 90k --> 880k.

I only had time to try one in an emulator and it didnt work

Some adf's I have are more than 880k but I reckon these are 81 track disks instead of the usual 79.
Big-Byte is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 November 2001, 17:39   #2
birdy-scc
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 231
If when making an adf the program reads only the used tracks then there's no reason why an adf shouldn't be smaller than 880k.

But I'm just speculating.
birdy-scc is offline  
Old 21 November 2001, 11:15   #3
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
Ta Birdy..

I looked at some of the adfs that I converted personally and they are less than 880k. They also work properly so I think you are right.
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 21 November 2001, 18:15   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
The ADF should be an exact copy of the whole disk. Even if tracks 30 to 79 are empty, it should still take 880KB!

They prolly work but perhaps soemthing is wrong with them? Check out BTTR's empty disk... it takes 880KB, ne?
Akira is offline  
Old 21 November 2001, 19:00   #5
žane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 246
Absolutely, all standard ADF's should be 880kb (901,120 bytes) in size, unless the user has specified to dump less than 80 tracks, which is pointless unless you're trying to save space and transfer each half of the disk separately and rejoin them afterwards.

If the ADF is not a multiple of 11264, then it is most likely incomplete, probably an error occured during the transfer of the image.

It should still work under emulation, though it could possibly cause a buffer overflow error if it tries to access tracks that aren't present in the ADF, depending on how the disk emulation handles odd sized images.

None of this applies to Extended format ADF's however.
žane is offline  
Old 26 November 2001, 16:14   #6
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
Sorry..

Was too ill to go to work on friday so decided to stay at home and sort out my adf collection.

The disk I had personally dumped that I though was less than 880k and working turned out to be an adz file. doh!

So I had a look at all my adf's and found about 100 that had a filelength of 0 and about 150 which had length <880k. None of these worked .

So I now have a new trimmed down but properly sorted TOSEC set.
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 27 November 2001, 16:07   #7
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,603
An ADF doesn't have to be 880K, but at the same time you need to fully know the contents of a disk before you start trimming.

1). Any ADF that has an AmigaDOS filesystem CANNOT be trimmed down under any circumstances!

AmigaDos writes file data all over a disk, a block here, a block there. Do not do it!

2). Any trackloading game CAN be done, as long as you know that the end of the disk is empty.

For instance, Stunt Car Racer is a 1 disk 880K ADF, if its a duplicate of the original (and patched cracked) then you can trim it down to 490k, because the other half of the disk is empty.

Frankly, unless you know a great deal about the Amiga and know what to look for in an ADF as data or just junk, I would leave well alone. Hardly seems worth bothering with a few K when 20 Gig drives are cheap as chips!
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 27 November 2001, 17:56   #8
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
There were talk about extended ADF files. Is that for disks larger than 880Kb? And how would you rip larger disks? And now that I'm at the whole asking stupid questions. Do you need anything particular to read them?
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 27 November 2001, 23:44   #9
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 37
Posts: 657
One of the uses of extended ADFs is for disks larger than 880K. For example, I use RawRead to create images of Diskspare disks. These disks hold 940K on a normal DD disk, still using just 80 tracks. If you try to image them with transdisk (or similar), a file of 880K is produced, which obviously doesnt work.
TikTok is offline  
Old 28 November 2001, 17:50   #10
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Smile AmigaDOS disk cleanup

Quote:
1). Any ADF that has an AmigaDOS filesystem CANNOT be trimmed down under any circumstances!
AmigaDos writes file data all over a disk, a block here, a block there. Do not do it!
Well, newer versions of X-Copy provide an OPTIMIZE option, which works like DEFRAG on a Windows-driven harddisk, but can also operate with floppy disks. A disk which is, say, 48% full, can be OPTIMIZED so that all of the disk contents are on the FIRST half of the disk, with the other half being empty.
This CAN save time when transferring, provided that you "resize" the image again afterwards so that AmigaDOS can continue writing on the disk for future sessions. Yes, it MUST have 880 kB to react correctly to any write-operations.
But I quite like that X-Copy feature: it speeds up disk access and when transferring, you can really save time that way. Consider this IS a criteria for A500 users having to do this with no more than a speed of 19200 kbps (if at all)
I'd even plead for every TOSEC AmigaDOS disk to be optimized by default: but I reckon that's an impossible thing to do.
Yeah, much too much stuff.

Last edited by andreas; 28 November 2001 at 18:03.
andreas is offline  
Old 29 November 2001, 01:05   #11
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
How about that?

I have the following adfs that are enormously oversized

Super Ski 2 (1990) [cr] (Disk 2 of 2).adf 1100kb
Turrican (1990).adf 1906kb
Master Blazer (1990) [alt].adf 1978kb
B.C. Kid (1 disk) (1992).adf 2023kb
Turrican 2 (1991).adf 2116kb
Turrican 3 (1993).adf 2228kb

They are all common files that can be found on pe2000.
Now, there are these things I don't understand... Most of them are one disked versions. If they contain so much data, how can they ever fit on a single DD floppy? Even weirder, one of them is not an one disked version (super ski disk 2) it contains 220kilobytes of extra data, then how many tracks were there on the original disk???

Last edited by Burseg; 29 November 2001 at 18:50.
 
Old 29 November 2001, 18:10   #12
Worfje
Moderator
Worfje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 94
The "Extended" ADF file format is used for games you may download at the Factor 5 homepage. These files contain some tracks which are specially encoded. This includes Turrican 1, 2, 3 and B.C. Kid.

These adf files aren't ripped from a real disk, so don't bother discussing the different sizes.

The fact is that these adf files can't be written back to a real Amiga disk.
Worfje is offline  
Old 29 November 2001, 18:49   #13
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
this explains it all then
 
Old 30 November 2001, 18:27   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Quote:
Originally posted by Worfje
These adf files aren't ripped from a real disk, so don't bother discussing the different sizes.
Where are they ripped from then? Aren't they ripped from an original, like what you do with Diskwiz?
Akira is offline  
Old 30 November 2001, 18:35   #15
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
What I understand from worfje's words is that, they have found some way to join multiple disks as a single adf file. At least this is how I understand it. Would be nice to know how it was done.
 
Old 30 November 2001, 20:52   #16
Worfje
Moderator
Worfje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 94
Factor 5 released the games and since they have the original source, they can distribute/repack it any way they wan't.

WinFellow has some support for the extended adf format, i'm not sure it is fully compatible yet. Peschau and Carfesh coded the support, so they should know the specifics.
Worfje is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you Split an ADF and size issue mancity support.Apps 32 09 January 2013 15:39
Game name to correct Another World HOL data problems 1 21 September 2008 21:33
is this correct? CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 1 28 September 2007 21:05
Workbench 3.1 correct HD size??? BarrySWE support.Apps 2 02 October 2005 16:12
Screen size isnt correct when playing games ? MadMatt support.WinUAE 17 24 July 2001 08:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21012 seconds with 12 queries