English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 May 2006, 15:47   #1
somewherecheap
 
Posts: n/a
Flight of the Amazon Queen - AMOS

Hi,
If Flight of the Amazon Queen was programmed using AMOS, it is possible to see the code used? because I'm interested in programming games.

Thanks,
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 May 2006, 16:12   #2
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
I doubt FOTAQ was coded in AMOS, more likely it's coded in C and use some SCUMM-like (Lucas' scripting language for Adventure games) script language (if not SCUMM).

Anyway when a program is compiled into a binary file (executable) there's no way to get the source code back in the language it was written with. All you can see if the ASM code (wich won't help you too much if you are a newbie and code only in Basic).

To create point and click adventure game I think there is some software that allow you to create this kind of games without much programming knowledge. I've seen some on Windows but I'm pretty sure there was also on Amiga. I don't know what they worth tho. You may also want to look at BlitzBasic or why not Flash...
z00mba is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 16:15   #3
somewherecheap
 
Posts: n/a
Wikipedia says it was coded using AMOS
 
Old 30 May 2006, 16:25   #4
Adderly
[Satan^God]
Adderly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 701
Send a message via ICQ to Adderly
normally you can read "AMOS" anywhere if you do a hexview on a game coded with Amos, but i did not found this on FOTAQ...
Adderly is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 17:02   #5
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
I can't imagine a professional game like FOTAQ was coded in Amos... no way
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 17:59   #6
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Why not? Commercial AMOS games aren't that rare.
adolescent is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 18:10   #7
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironclaw
I can't imagine a professional game like FOTAQ was coded in Amos... no way
Erm... why not? There is a few quality games that are coded in basic, to name a few: Another World (GFA), Genesia (AMOS), Skidmarks (BlitzBasic)... Using a high-level language like basic to make the structure of the games and some optimised routines in asm when needed allow a faster and easier development than if you code everything in asm.
z00mba is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 18:54   #8
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,176
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
You can add the shortgrey !!! it's an AMOS game.

And hell yes, FOTAQ use a C coded engine like Indy 4 have !
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 19:11   #9
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 41
Posts: 722
greatest amiga game coded in Basic ever (Blitz) : Worms!!! i can't believe another world was coded in GFA ...are you sure about this one ? as far as i can remember there were not any instructions/routine favoring games development in GFA like in AMOS and Blitz...also AMOS cannot handle AGA screemodes (even if some extensions exist it's really difficult to implement) and FOTQ is AGA...the fact that is was a multiplatform adventure game also favors the idea that it was coded in C....
pbareges is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 20:35   #10
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
My mistake, I read some comments Eric Chahi made about the making of Another World a few weeks ago and I only remembered he used GFA. But in fact he mades the display engine in ASM (DevPac) and the editors and script interpreter in GFA. So the game use GFA for the skeleton and design tools and ASM for the display. I think it's like in Skidmarks where inline ASM where used along with BlitzBasic.
z00mba is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 21:25   #11
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,176
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
FOTAQ is 32 colors, it's an ECS game. Not an aga game ^^

check HOL.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 21:46   #12
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
GFA is a popular language on ST and often used by demomaker too to precalculated or do some tools, a bit as for Another World.

if you want to code some games then perhaps you can find some sources code on www.aminet.net
I think BlitzBasic or AmigaE have a better support.
Frog is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 22:12   #13
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frog
GFA is a popular language on ST and often used by demomaker too to precalculated or do some tools, a bit as for Another World.

if you want to code some games then perhaps you can find some sources code on www.aminet.net
I think BlitzBasic or AmigaE have a better support.

fotaq is scummvm supported game, it wasnt created in amos for sure
Chain is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 23:07   #14
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
Talking about GFA, do you peoples know it was ported to x86/Win32? I remember I tested a nice 3D world / meshes authoring program (Cybermotion 3D Designer) not so long ago and it's coded entirely in GFA. The apps is really amazing and I almost fall off my chair when I realised it's coded in this language.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain
fotaq is scummvm supported game, it wasnt created in amos for sure
Ah thank for the confirmation; I was pretty sure it was using SCUMM... guess I'm a bit lazy tho
z00mba is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 23:24   #15
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver
You can add the shortgrey !!! it's an AMOS game.

And hell yes, FOTAQ use a C coded engine like Indy 4 have !
you are right

and in my memory French FOTAQ demo seemed coded in amos ....

but final game ?????
CFOU! is offline  
Old 30 May 2006, 23:59   #16
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)
jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 433
Send a message via MSN to jrom
also... FOTAQ was also 'ported' to PC or the other way around... doing that all in AMOS seems a bit of a gigantic overhaul
jrom is offline  
Old 31 May 2006, 00:56   #17
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain
fotaq is scummvm supported game, it wasnt created in amos for sure
ScummVM supports only the PC version, not the Amiga one.
thor is offline  
Old 31 May 2006, 14:10   #18
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
I emailed John Passfield who was one of the Amazon Queen developers:

Quote:
Yes, the Amiga version was originally written in AMOS then converted over to C code, in fact the source code in C has a lot of emulated AMOS function calls.
The PC version was also converted across using the same C code base.

The tools to build the game were also written in AMOS and the entire game editing was done on the Amiga computer.

The game engine was called JASPAR - for "John And Steve's Programmable Adventure Resource"

The tools were:
JOKER - the game edtor. This allowed the building of rooms, laying out of objects and actors and walk paths, etc.
ACE - the cut scene editor.
DOG - the conversation tree editor.

I wrote the engine and tools and Tony Ball converted the JASPAR engine to the PC.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 31 May 2006, 15:27   #19
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodyJarrett
I emailed John Passfield who was one of the Amazon Queen developers:
thank for information... in fact game must use SCUMM format for file(s) but motor was written in amos&c

Can you ask to John Passfield if french amiga version was finished (but not released)?

I had played to french demo included in french issue....
CFOU! is offline  
Old 31 May 2006, 17:03   #20
quahappy
Born again WinUAE user

quahappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Age: 49
Posts: 1,661
This makes very interesting reading and has certainly surprised me that this game was originally written in AMOS and then converted into C. When AMOS Compiler was released, I had to adjust parameters within any programs I did to slow it down!

Makes you wonder how many other games were coded in AMOS first?!
quahappy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flight Of The Amazon Queen Manual & Reference Card Phantomz HOL contributions 9 27 February 2009 00:42
Flight of the Amazon Queen CD? Predseda HOL suggestions and feedback 9 10 September 2008 20:37
CU Amiga #75/Simon The Sorcerer Demo + CU Amiga #99/Amazon Queen Demo MethodGit request.Old Rare Games 12 16 February 2004 18:16
Request: Flight of The Amazon Queen Burge request.Old Rare Games 15 14 August 2002 11:01
Where's the amos.library on the 3-disk AMOS set? andreas support.Apps 0 15 November 2001 17:04

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.54492 seconds with 11 queries