English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2006, 21:22   #21
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
You can always make your own kickrom file and use BlizKick

Romsplit and Remus will do the job http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/beta/index.html
AMIGAZ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 May 2006, 15:48   #22
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGAZ
You can always make your own kickrom file and use BlizKick

Romsplit and Remus will do the job http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/beta/index.html
thanks for info
CFOU! is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 12:50   #23
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Reviving an old thread.

I'd like to attempt to burn the updated 3.9 roms for my 1200, does anyone have some instructions for doing this?
DoogUK is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 13:11   #24
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
The only person I know who has successfully done this is Motorollin over at A.org and Toni Wilen here.

You need to use the tools created by the excellent Doobrey, ROMSplit and Remus.

Start with a regular A1200 KS3.1 v40.68 ROM (assuming you want to make A1200 KS3.9) which you split into separate components.

Then you combine them back into a ROM but replacing any files you like with the ones from romupdates in OS3.9/BB2 (or elsewhere).

If you want to go beyond 512Kbytes (i.e. use 2x27C400's for 1Mbyte) I think you will need to use a new EXEC and perhaps some patches.

Discuss it with Doobrey he's usually in a talkative mood.

Make a really cool guide when you're done

P.S. Your ROM's should work in WinUAE for you to test before burning...
alexh is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 13:20   #25
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Thanks Alex, thats pretty much the way i figured it had to be done.

I know Motorollin did them but he's not to keen on the subject as a lot of A.org snubbed him for it.

I will do a guide if i'm succesful.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 14:03   #26
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
It seems that AlfaRomeo has one of these roms (45.57) installed in his A1200T

I've been talking with him and he confirmed this.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 14:12   #27
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Could get him to dump the rom...easier way but i like the learning process of doing things like this.

One of the advantages will be native HD support over the 4 GB barrier.
DoogUK is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 14:51   #28
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
Erm, I did these too. Not too much trouble actually if you're used to burning regular ROMs. Work under UAE, test your ROMs under UAE before burning them, and you're all set.
coze is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 14:56   #29
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogUK View Post
Could get him to dump the rom...easier way but i like the learning process of doing things like this.
I'll ask him Doog
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 27 February 2009, 15:20   #30
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogUK View Post
Thanks Alex, thats pretty much the way i figured it had to be done.

I know Motorollin did them but he's not to keen on the subject as a lot of A.org snubbed him for it.

I will do a guide if i'm succesful.

I remember this thread on A.org & was disgusted how motorollin was treated for trying to help the community

Has any one seen Zetro ??

TC
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 00:03   #31
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 314
Twinkick3.9 / 68000 enabled
A1000 512KB Chip / 2048KB Fast

but hey .. in 2006 a.inc said "its only a fake movie"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tk.gif
Views:	2036
Size:	43.7 KB
ID:	20583  
Ratte is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 00:54   #32
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Can you change the kickstart screen ujsing these things?
what is this twinkick thing?
Akira is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 01:02   #33
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
I'm also using a 3.9 ROM...it's called Blizkick
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 02:06   #34
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
I need to make me a custom ROM, with CFD and other things...
It may be a good time of documenting my process and posting it as a tutorial
Akira is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 06:40   #35
Predabot
Registered User
Predabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Swedun'
Posts: 397
Hmm...! This is indeed cool. Do you all think it would be possible to make a Kickstart 4.1 rom as well?? I mean, that's the latest Amiga OS, yes?

Or would that not work, since AOS4.1 is made for the PPC platform...?

This updated rom is made trough combining stuff from the AmigaOS into the actual Kickstart system rom, right?

Would be cool for the community to have Kickstart 3.9+ roms to play with in WINUAE...
Predabot is offline  
Old 07 March 2009, 12:10   #36
DoogUK
Doogster
DoogUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dorset
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predabot View Post
Hmm...! This is indeed cool. Do you all think it would be possible to make a Kickstart 4.1 rom as well?? I mean, that's the latest Amiga OS, yes?

Or would that not work, since AOS4.1 is made for the PPC platform...?

This updated rom is made trough combining stuff from the AmigaOS into the actual Kickstart system rom, right?

Would be cool for the community to have Kickstart 3.9+ roms to play with in WINUAE...

I have already created the 3.9 roms
DoogUK is offline  
Old 12 March 2009, 03:06   #37
Predabot
Registered User
Predabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Swedun'
Posts: 397
Hot damn...! 0_0 I do wonder, will those be wholly copyrighted, or would you be allowed to distribute them?

( I guess I'll send you a PM..)

And is it possible to use AmigaOS 4.0 files to make an even more extended new rom?
Predabot is offline  
Old 12 March 2009, 03:27   #38
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
@Predabot

One would give instructions on how to patch the original roms, rather than distribute them. Like a guide. Naturally parts of the ROM will still be copyrighted (how not?).

You could try to put in any library you like, though aren't the libraries in OS4 in PPC format? You could use the later libraries/devices used in Amikit.
Calgor is offline  
Old 12 March 2009, 09:18   #39
prart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: somewhere
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoogUK View Post
I have already created the 3.9 roms
what? and where is that tutorial, master patcher?
prart is offline  
Old 12 March 2009, 10:09   #40
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
I think he is still sorting out the 1MB ROM issues....
Calgor is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batman the movie rom Software failure. 251Mario support.WinUAE 14 30 September 2014 14:48
Beta/Rekick/Kickit kickstart support gulliver request.UAE Wishlist 2 28 December 2007 19:20
kickstart 1.4 question cause winuae latest beta hanschke New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 06 October 2007 00:14
CD32 kickstart rom & extended rom ben111g Amiga scene 1 24 February 2007 14:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21697 seconds with 12 queries