English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 May 2006, 13:32   #1
Paul
RIP Friends
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Kickstart 3.9 ROM Beta screenshots & movie

"Some screenshots and a movie clip from Kick3.9 Beta. Built with Kickstart 3.1, OS3.9, BB2 & and latest patches. Planned to be released as a self-made-construction-kit, with some instructions and useful tools.

View: screenshots and movie clip at a1k.org"

Source: Ann.lu
Paul is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 May 2006, 13:51   #2
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 2,028
That looks very interesting.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 18 May 2006, 14:02   #3
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Whats it mean ?
whiteb is offline  
Old 18 May 2006, 14:08   #4
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
Hum some peoples amaze me

Nice stuff.

Whiteb: they compiled kickstart 3.1 with the 3.9 patch so you can have a full kickstart 3.9 (unpatched) directly in ROM from a straight boot. As you can see on the vid they got OS 3.9 installed on an A1000
z00mba is offline  
Old 18 May 2006, 15:20   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
allright!

It is about time! I want one!!!
keropi is offline  
Old 18 May 2006, 16:38   #6
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
I wish the guy who filmed it had made it clearer and actually spoke about it. I love that Lotus tune as much as anyone on here, but it doesnt help much when that is not the subject at hand. Impressive though!.
blade002 is offline  
Old 18 May 2006, 17:01   #7
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
I just played with boingbag2 for 3.9, and Kickstart is registering as 45.57 ? and workbench as 45:3 (boingbag2).
whiteb is offline  
Old 18 May 2006, 23:25   #8
HOL2001
Amigamaniac

HOL2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neheim / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade002
I wish the guy who filmed it had made it clearer and actually spoke about it. [...]
Yes, there were not many informations given....

But it was impressive although.
HOL2001 is offline  
Old 19 May 2006, 00:42   #9
blade2565
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere
Age: 45
Posts: 60
well is there a way to program it in an actual rom chip or flash BIOS chip??? than no need to for reboots anymore while booting workbench... I have access to a BIOS, etc. programmer
blade2565 is offline  
Old 19 May 2006, 02:42   #10
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade2565
well is there a way to program it in an actual rom chip or flash BIOS chip??? than no need to for reboots anymore while booting workbench... I have access to a BIOS, etc. programmer
Well if the Kickstart 3.1 chip is softpatched by 3.9/BB2, than theoretically you should be able to just save off the kickstart as an image ?

Then you can burn it into the respective required chips for your machine.. my guess.
whiteb is offline  
Old 19 May 2006, 08:25   #11
blade2565
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere
Age: 45
Posts: 60
Yes and no I checked last night in Workbench 3.9 what rom version it shows mine shows I use rom 3.1 (v40.68) and not v45.xx....
blade2565 is offline  
Old 19 May 2006, 09:20   #12
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade2565
Yes and no I checked last night in Workbench 3.9 what rom version it shows mine shows I use rom 3.1 (v40.68) and not v45.xx....
Then you have not applied the boingbag 2 ROM update.
whiteb is offline  
Old 19 May 2006, 10:02   #13
blade2565
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere
Age: 45
Posts: 60
ah nope I already did not get what this boing bags did LOL but now I got it...
blade2565 is offline  
Old 19 May 2006, 10:09   #14
motorollin
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb
Well if the Kickstart 3.1 chip is softpatched by 3.9/BB2, than theoretically you should be able to just save off the kickstart as an image ?

Then you can burn it into the respective required chips for your machine.. my guess.
No. Even if the 3.9 update has been softkicked by setpatch, the rom reading software will only read what is on the physical chip, so you will still end up with a 3.1 ROM image.

It's easy to create a 3.9 ROM image. There is software available which will let you insert the 3.9 ROM Update in to a 3.1 ROM image. Then use an EPROM programmer to burn the chips.

--
moto
 
Old 19 May 2006, 10:18   #15
blade2565
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Somewhere
Age: 45
Posts: 60
Well if somebody can explain me how to do it and which chips I need to do it I am the first who wants to try it
blade2565 is offline  
Old 19 May 2006, 21:59   #16
rat
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteb
I just played with boingbag2 for 3.9, and Kickstart is registering as 45.57 ? and workbench as 45:3 (boingbag2).
45.57 = is the org. BB2 ROM update
45.58 = first beta kickrom unstable, too many bugs
45.59 = first "stable" beta kickrom

Differences between BB2 romupdates (45.57) and Kickstart (45.59) are:
console.device 44.8 -> 44.10
shell 45.7 -> 45.12
ram-handler 44.23 -> 44.24
filesysstem 45.13 -> 45.15
icon.library 45.1 -> 45.5

 
Old 21 May 2006, 13:27   #17
z00mba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fr
Age: 41
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorollin
It's easy to create a 3.9 ROM image. There is software available which will let you insert the 3.9 ROM Update in to a 3.1 ROM image. Then use an EPROM programmer to burn the chips.
Oh, can you name this program? Did a quick search on Aminet for it but without luck so far.
z00mba is offline  
Old 21 May 2006, 13:53   #18
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorollin
It's easy to create a 3.9 ROM image. There is software available which will let you insert the 3.9 ROM Update in to a 3.1 ROM image. Then use an EPROM programmer to burn the chips.
nope, it is not that easy...
keropi is offline  
Old 21 May 2006, 16:40   #19
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
"Some screenshots and a movie clip from Kick3.9 Beta. Built with Kickstart 3.1, OS3.9, BB2 & and latest patches. Planned to be released as a self-made-construction-kit, with some instructions and useful tools.

View: screenshots and movie clip at a1k.org"

Source: Ann.lu
I am interested by it

but I don't speak german .

is it possible to download this beta rom to try with maprom jump on a blizzard board??
CFOU! is offline  
Old 21 May 2006, 19:46   #20
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFOU!
I am interested by it

but I don't speak german .

is it possible to download this beta rom to try with maprom jump on a blizzard board??
Ditto

Though I guess instructions/proggie to do our own would be more legal.

I'm sure I've fiddled with a proggie to insert new libs etc into a rom image - must see if I can dig it out.
Charlie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batman the movie rom Software failure. 251Mario support.WinUAE 14 30 September 2014 14:48
Beta/Rekick/Kickit kickstart support gulliver request.UAE Wishlist 2 28 December 2007 19:20
kickstart 1.4 question cause winuae latest beta hanschke New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 06 October 2007 00:14
CD32 kickstart rom & extended rom ben111g Amiga scene 1 24 February 2007 14:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22956 seconds with 12 queries