English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 March 2009, 16:33   #181
mai
Moderator
mai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stendal/Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 4,567
I have just performed a crc32 check(main-exe):
The mainexe of
Valhalla and the Lord of Infinity (1994)(Vulcan)(Disk 1 of 6)(Boot)[cr FLT][b]
is different to the others.
mai is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 March 2009, 16:54   #182
mai
Moderator
mai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stendal/Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 4,567
...by the way, the game dont start with A500 config, probably because of any command in the startup-sequence.
If you want to play the game on a A500 you have to load the Workbench before.(A600 - the game starts without Workbench)
But this is no reason to add [b] flag.
I dont know, why there was added the [b] flag.

Last edited by mai; 02 March 2009 at 17:22.
mai is offline  
Old 02 March 2009, 20:59   #183
mai
Moderator
mai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stendal/Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 4,567
@Galahad:
Do you remember, its cracked by you, have you made two different cracks of this game?
Maybe someone has changed the main-exe of
Valhalla and the Lord of Infinity (1994)(Vulcan)(Disk 1 of 6)(Boot)[cr FLT][b]
screenshot:

Last edited by mai; 29 October 2010 at 19:45.
mai is offline  
Old 10 March 2009, 22:41   #184
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
I dont know, why there was added the [b ] flag.
Simple: the disk image was added to TOSEC when WinUAE wasn't as advanced and near-perfect as it is now. So games which didn't work on e. g. 088R8 got the [b ] flag because they were deemed "bad". (with no good reason, of course)

But Toni has also fixed many old "bad" ([b ]-flagged) demos through the years, because it was often me who tested them on his A1000 and then found out they did work on the real thing, but did something weird in the code which lacked support in the emulator's engine.

ALWAYS take the [b ] with a sufficiently large grain of salt.
andreas is offline  
Old 13 April 2009, 22:40   #185
mai
Moderator
mai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stendal/Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 4,567
Sly Spy - Secret Agent (1989)(Ocean)(Disk 1 of 2)[cr PDX][a2]

This time its a real "bad" disk, even more, its double bad.
1. - Cracktro dont start, causes freezing.
2. - There is a checksum error in 1 (Music) file, game searchs for the file again and again in a loop, i have checked(removed the cracktro before).
mai is offline  
Old 16 May 2009, 18:33   #186
mai
Moderator
mai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stendal/Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 4,567
Rotox (1990)(U.S. Gold)(Disk 1 of 2)[cr Subway - SCX][t +4 Subway - SCX][b]

Whats wrong, someone knows?
mai is offline  
Old 16 May 2009, 19:19   #187
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Just checked it here (since it has a trainer ) and there seems to be no problem (well a really minor one). Completed level one by normal means and then skipped the levels to the end. Only thing I noticed is that on top of the hiscore table is some gfx junk.
Maybe the renamer didn't press space when the screen flashes and thought the game crashed. Oh and the game deserves the weird sfx on Amiga award
TCD is offline  
Old 16 May 2009, 20:12   #188
mai
Moderator
mai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Stendal/Germany
Age: 49
Posts: 4,567
Thank you for the efforts, TCD
Then there is probably no need for the [b] flag?
mai is offline  
Old 16 May 2009, 21:27   #189
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
mai, I don't understand why this trivial information still hasn't reached the most remote corners of this world

The "b" may as well be a relict from times when emulation was not as advanced as is now. (for instance, Ilyad was a REAL problematic game and thus always had the *b* in ancient DAT releases)
The reason why they're still marked "b" ("bad") could be a very simple one: because no one has either ever retested this stuff in current emulator releases *OR* did not bother to report it to the team.
andreas is offline  
Old 16 May 2009, 22:18   #190
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Well there are bad dumps or cracks which should be marked with the tag, but as you said there are many [b] games that I use and they work nicely Guess there should be really a retest run for those games Will try to list those I currently use here
TCD is offline  
Old 17 May 2009, 13:50   #191
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Just checked it here (since it has a trainer ) and there seems to be no problem (well a really minor one). Completed level one by normal means and then skipped the levels to the end. Only thing I noticed is that on top of the hiscore table is some gfx junk.
Maybe the renamer didn't press space when the screen flashes and thought the game crashed. Oh and the game deserves the weird sfx on Amiga award
Quote:
Originally Posted by mai View Post
Thank you for the efforts, TCD
Then there is probably no need for the [b] flag?
...then shouldn't it be labelled with one of the following; [b corrupt gfx] or [b gfx]?
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 May 2009, 02:56   #192
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
Guess there should be really a retest run for those games
That's exactly what I wanted to outline in my previous post.
andreas is offline  
Old 19 October 2009, 22:00   #193
zygzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
PS. If you read some of the posts in the thread "Fixing Flashback version.. Ongoing.." you will see that there is no protection on this version what-so-ever. The .adf files were created straight from the .ipf files i.e. 1885 Flashback 4 English OCS EU Retail: Delphine Collection:
Thread is old but I want to add sth. You know what was the funniest thing regarding this version? I've bought it long time ago although I don't have it now, that publisher included manual with protection codes. Of course there wasn't any moment to enter any code from beginnig till end. And this legal version was the one which I could ever finish. In previous version didn't work savegames or I couldn't pass protection screen.
Ah, of course, PC and Amiga codes were diffrent.
zygzak is offline  
Old 20 October 2009, 07:30   #194
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
zygzak, our German version was with codes and lo' and behold, you DID have to enter them: right at the beginning, that is!
I also remember someplace far later in the game where they demanded the code a SECOND time ...!
andreas is offline  
Old 20 October 2009, 14:08   #195
zygzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas View Post
zygzak, our German version was with codes and lo' and behold, you DID have to enter them: right at the beginning, that is!
I also remember someplace far later in the game where they demanded the code a SECOND time ...!
Cracker was too fast. I don't know much about cracking so I dunno if cracker can omit some protection zones that appears later in the game or if he should find it without testing from beginning till the end.
Maybe Your German version wasn't from Delphine Collection.
Second password has appeared always on first use of teleport, and I think taxi cab whas the third and last.
I think Delphine could publish FB with full animation like PC version but they want to save one or two discs. Now it is ridicules.
Ah, BTW which crack of FB is the full working now?
zygzak is offline  
Old 20 October 2009, 14:15   #196
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by zygzak View Post
I think Delphine could publish FB with full animation like PC version but they want to save one or two discs. Now it is ridicules.
The animations are there when you install the game to HD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zygzak View Post
Ah, BTW which crack of FB is the full working now?
The version Damien mentions is a copy of the IPFs to ADFs, so it isn't cracked (yet the manual protection is gone). I can upload them if you want.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 13:00   #197
zygzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
The animations are there when you install the game to HD.

The version Damien mentions is a copy of the IPFs to ADFs, so it isn't cracked (yet the manual protection is gone). I can upload them if you want.
Are you talking about full opening animation (on PC there are much more sequences than on Amiga version) or about some additional animations like dropping item or picking up item? If about second these additional animations can be turned on by some shortcut key on floppy version.
If about first I don't think so that opening animation is longer on HD version vs floppy version.

Next funny thing is that PC versions were bad cracked too (only first protection screen and denying protection codes after use taxi cab or teleport). But I saw properly cracked PC english version as well.
zygzak is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 13:03   #198
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,091
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
The sequences are disactived if the game is not run from a hard drive on amiga. CTRL+C activates them when played from disk if i remember well.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 13:47   #199
zygzak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 28
Could You tell me which of Shadow Dancer version was well cracked?
Long time ago I couldn't get any good and working version cause they all hang on second level (after first boss) when yellow ninja appeared. The reset combination was only one thing that could be done.
zygzak is offline  
Old 21 October 2009, 13:48   #200
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,522
Copy protection on Shadow Dancer was pitiful, all versions were 100% if I remember correctly, you probably had a bad disk
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Bad N00b Thread Loedown support.Hardware 23 08 April 2009 09:18
Re-filed cracks of games MethodGit request.Old Rare Games 43 09 August 2007 18:20
Top 100 / Bottom 100 games Galaxy AMR news 8 10 March 2007 12:10
Help me with 100% working games! Another World support.Games 1 07 January 2007 15:46
Overdoc's list of bad cracks & not 100% working games Overdoc project.TOSEC (amiga only) 34 22 May 2006 18:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26201 seconds with 12 queries