English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 April 2006, 17:00   #1
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
MAME and Amiga emulation

Not sure where I should post this...

One of the MAME devs, Aaron Giles has been working on improving the Amiga emaultion in MAME. Interesting:

http://aarongiles.com/?p=158#more-158

DamienD is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 April 2006, 17:23   #2
Dizzy
Pirate
Dizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 3,400
Nice info
Dizzy is offline  
Old 27 April 2006, 21:29   #3
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
I'd like to point out that uae is getting painfully accurate - it takes several years to achieve this kind of accuracy.
You are better off using uae and play the arcadia games in there.
IFW is offline  
Old 27 April 2006, 22:12   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
I'm sure it is IFW and alot of hard work has gone into this

I do love / use WinUAE all the time...

Same goes for MAME32, just thought it was interesting... Just nice to be able to play these in MAME32 also but I do realise it's not as perfect as UAE
DamienD is online now  
Old 27 April 2006, 22:21   #5
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Aye MAME has been doing more and more emulation for different platforms (SNES notably) and I think it will continually evolve.

Whilst I agree WinUAE is probably the best Amiga emulator out there home users who aren't technically savy (i.e. used to have an Amiga and all they did was feed it floppy disks) will benefit from MAME (espeically if it's double-click and it runs).
Macca is offline  
Old 27 April 2006, 22:57   #6
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,049
damn

Is their a MAME that just focus's on arcade games only and nothing else?
redblade is offline  
Old 27 April 2006, 23:16   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Well the SNES, Mega Drive, Players Choice, Amiga Arcadia, an others were inside dedicated arcades machines. This is why they are being emulated by MAME

There are not emulating all Amiga / SNES/ Mega Drives games, just the ones that were available in the cabinets...
DamienD is online now  
Old 28 April 2006, 01:34   #8
Duke
HOL-Team
Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Age: 37
Posts: 519
Send a message via ICQ to Duke Send a message via Skype™ to Duke
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
There are not emulating all Amiga / SNES/ Mega Drives games, just the ones that were available in the cabinets...
MESS is doing that though, and they also had some great progress lately, for example very good Bandai Wonderswan emulation. And here's a screenshot of MESS running an Amiga game:

http://home.arcor.de/startaq/amiga_blackmagic.png
Duke is offline  
Old 28 April 2006, 06:29   #9
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 49
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
Am i the only one that thinks mame has gone way to far is it not enough to emulate arcade games they have to do variations and other formats???? MAME has become the WINDOWS (BLOATWARE!) of the Emulation scene! I long for the days when arcade emulation was pure such as Dave Spicers Sparcade with just a few games emulated perhaps 50 at tops i can't remeber now but visited the site the other night!

Mame should keep to the arcades and not variants! If they want to do that then they should do seperate packs ie neo geo / pure arcade games and the chd stuff and another thing they should try and get stuff working proper before jumping on to the next latest uber game! i'd rather have 1,000 pure proper working older arcade games than 10,000 half working hodge podge assortment odds and ends and bits of other systems!

I dare DamienD or Macca to do a mame dvd(s) with batch files etc it would take about 10,000 years LOL and no i ain't doing the graphics for it
sarek2k is offline  
Old 28 April 2006, 13:08   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarek2k
I long for the days when arcade emulation was pure such as Dave Spicers Sparcade with just a few games emulated perhaps 50 at tops i can't remeber now but visited the site the other night!
Ahhh, Sparcade. That bring back memories

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarek2k
Mame should keep to the arcades and not variants!
But MAME is only keeping to the arcades... As said above these are actual arcade machines with modified SNES or whatever inside.

If you don't want these "variants" then don't download / use them...
DamienD is online now  
Old 28 April 2006, 13:28   #11
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,049
haha would of been funny if a FLT intro popped up before in the amiga arcadia rom packs.

eek might give galahad ideas
redblade is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Amiga's conversions Vs. MAME atchoo Retrogaming General Discussion 33 13 January 2012 02:22
MAME for Amiga blackcornflake support.Apps 26 14 December 2010 23:22
The undergoing changes in Laser Disc emulation (Daphne v1, preliminary MAME support.. NewDeli Retrogaming General Discussion 8 21 August 2009 21:20
Where to get Amiga-MAME games? Shamino request.Old Rare Games 3 07 April 2007 14:01
Amiga in mame? nnever2000 News 7 07 February 2005 15:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25544 seconds with 11 queries