English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

View Poll Results: What is your favourite Amiga filemanager?
ABCdir 1 1.22%
Dopus 58 70.73%
DirWork 3 3.66%
Ordering 0 0%
DiskMaster 8 9.76%
Other 12 14.63%
None 0 0%
Voters: 82. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 April 2006, 13:30   #41
commie1974
Ami Worshipper
commie1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Piraeus-Greece
Age: 43
Posts: 215
I vote for Diskmaster2! It is simple, small, powerful, efficient and free :-) What else to ask for? I also used Dirwork and CLI-mate, back in those A500 days! Nice, too! I think that Dopus is very good, but Diskmaster JUST ROCKS!!
commie1974 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 April 2006, 15:08   #42
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,607
Filemaster by one Toni Wilen
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 15:18   #43
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
for me, nothing beats ClassAction....
keropi is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 16:42   #44
blade002
Zone Friend
blade002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 2,443
I tried them all back then... Opus was the clear winner, although Disk Master was still very good.
blade002 is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 17:03   #45
pTah
Zone Friend
pTah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 32
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mick_AKA
Hell yes, some ADFs would be awesome!
take a look into the Zone!
(MaxonTools2... TRY IT )
pTah is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 17:04   #46
Ironclaw
Banned
Ironclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Age: 39
Posts: 3,313
Only tried Dopus or DiskMaster/FileMaster..... and used both now and then for different reasons..... Disk Master was good because it didn't need that much memory, took less disk space and only one file. It was perfect for those little good-for-everything disks you use to do .
Ironclaw is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 19:19   #47
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Quote:
Originally Posted by pTah
take a look into the Zone!
(MaxonTools2... TRY IT )
Awesome! thanks allot, time to see how good my German is then...
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 19:31   #48
pTah
Zone Friend
pTah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 32
Posts: 71
most of it is self-explaining. only the menus are german. it shouldn't be a big problem...
have fun.
pTah is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 19:55   #49
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 786
Whoa! MaxonTools2 is certainly the best looking Amiga filemanager. It probably takes up tons of memory though (looks like around 1Mb to run!). It's also pretty slow starting up. (6 sec vs <1 sec for ABCdir)

I'd like to try the English version. My German is not too good (limited to SAP table names ).
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 20:30   #50
Mick_AKA
crusader of light

Mick_AKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone, Staffordshire.
Posts: 1,136
Took a bit less time to load on my A1200, I have indeed used this before, and yes an english version would be fantstic. bye bye Dopus!
Mick_AKA is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 21:16   #51
pTah
Zone Friend
pTah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 32
Posts: 71
hehe, told you that this one is great!!!
on my cd32 it needs 3secs to load... not too much.
mem should be no prob, as nearly everyone has enough fastram... and it "only" eats 200kb chipmem.
this prog is running nearly always my while my amiga is on. and lzx- and lha-integration is also great...
pTah is offline  
Old 23 April 2006, 22:29   #52
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 786
Quote:
mem should be no prob, as nearly everyone has enough fastram... and it "only" eats 200kb chipmem.
Unfortunately, I don't have much RAM to spare. I've only got 8Mb Fast on my A500 and I like to open a couple filemanagers to view downloaded files/images or extract archives while browsing. If I open a couple 1Mb filemanagers, I'll run out of memory faster than a greased pig down a drainpipe.

Hey, I just noticed that MaxonTools2 has the "click on left or right border for parent" just like ABCdir and Ordering! Too bad it doesn't have ABCdir's "right button list scroll".
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 24 April 2006, 17:38   #53
pTah
Zone Friend
pTah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 32
Posts: 71
yep, in that case that's right... but does it really need one meg ? never realized it.
i use only one instance of it... :/
anyway for better machines, this one is one of the best the way i see it.
pTah is offline  
Old 25 April 2006, 20:39   #54
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frog
Filemaster 2.2+ or 3.1 (less stable), simple, efficiency, easy to configure, fast, run on kick1.3 as well as 3.1... it remember several directory listing (10 per windows). One of my essential tools
I use Filemaster too exclusively.. Some 3.x beta currently but 2.2 is also installed on my machine.

IMO Dopus went overboard with the features.. I just wanted to manage my files.. Also the cheap price of 50fim was nice for a young kid such as me. :-)
Quote:
PS : done by Toni Wilen, don't know if it's the same that made WinUae
The same.

BTW: how many of you registered it and how many used the version paid for by one Ville Jouppi, stolen from his disk box by an ex-friend of his.. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 25 April 2006, 20:52   #55
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
BTW: how many of you registered it and how many used the version paid for by one Ville Jouppi, stolen from his disk box by an ex-friend of his.. :-)
Yeah yeah.. Toni should hunt you down and feed you to the wolves!
BippyM is offline  
Old 25 April 2006, 21:14   #56
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Hmm.. If he'd have wanted to do that, he's had plenty of chances to do so in the last 16 odd years.. (geez, I'm feeling old at 25 already :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 25 April 2006, 21:17   #57
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
Hmm.. If he'd have wanted to do that, he's had plenty of chances to do so in the last 16 odd years.. (geez, I'm feeling old at 25 already :-)
yeah.. he can send you a virii infected WinUAE now tho.. Revenge is sweet... very sweet inded
BippyM is offline  
Old 28 April 2006, 14:06   #58
Rick Dangerous
Registered Playmate
Rick Dangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: OZ
Age: 47
Posts: 144
Hi,
regarding Dopus 4 running on a real A2000:
What does this request-message means that comes right after the start?
'Pre-3.32 configuration files not recognized!'
After clicking the 'Continue'-button Dopus works normal, except one thing:
When selecting Project-->Configure
it reads:
'Waiting for configuration port...'
'Configuration program not found/could not be loaded.'



Cheers,
Rick
Rick Dangerous is offline  
Old 28 April 2006, 14:23   #59
Theiikian
 
Posts: n/a
i vote for the classic Directory Opus, very powerfull appliction i still use this app in WinUAE and on my a1200, my second choice go to DiskMaster very fast and compact in size and easy to config any external appliction.
 
Old 28 April 2006, 14:32   #60
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,607
I haven't used anything other than Filemaster 2.2 since I don't know when. It has a bug if a filename is too long and it will crash on listing a directory if it comes across one, but I've only ever had that problem with TOSEC naming conventions that have stupidly long names.

Other than that, its small and compact and works on all my Amigas, in fact, I have it running right now under WinUAE. Only the main .exe file plus one library are needed to get it to work right.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real Unity: Directory Opus Magellan II for all Amiga and Amiga-like systems. spoUP News 0 19 March 2012 03:09
Unable to open your tool "directory opus' skeediddley support.Apps 3 04 December 2010 04:09
Long filenames filemanager MarlboroMan support.Apps 23 25 July 2007 10:03
Favourite Amiga Hoodie.. Magno Boots Retrogaming General Discussion 2 03 April 2007 04:07
Your Favourite Amiga NytroX86 Retrogaming General Discussion 16 04 February 2003 10:49

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32850 seconds with 13 queries