English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 April 2006, 14:52   #1
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 4,925
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Real A1200 floppy issues

Hi all,

I have a recurrent problem with my A1200 floppy. In WB3.0 it is listed as DF0:????.

I have tried a new floppy drive, new ribbon cable and new power cable to no avail.

I have taken the HDD out and tried to boot directly from floppy with no luck.

I know this is very vague but hopefully someone can help me?
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 April 2006, 19:34   #2
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 43
Posts: 791
Are you sure the disks you put in the drive is a working Amigados disk ?
Otherwise this sounds like your A-1200 is faulty - could be a bad CIA chip Unfortunately they are SMD chips soldered to the mainboard and only exchangeable when you have the right SMD desoldering equipment...
Overdoc is offline  
Old 12 April 2006, 12:44   #3
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 4,925
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
THanks Overdoc, both drives that I tried are Amiga compatible. Looks like my Amiga is dying
DDNI is offline  
Old 12 April 2006, 13:47   #4
Smiley
Amiga-less!
Smiley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,348
Sounds like a fried chip
Smiley is offline  
Old 12 April 2006, 14:33   #5
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 4,925
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Is there any repair options? or am I now in the market for a new A1200?
DDNI is offline  
Old 12 April 2006, 17:14   #6
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 43
Posts: 791
Hard to say, it could be something easy like e.g .a broken solder joint on the cable connector, but if it is the chip then it is nearly impossible to replace without SMD desoldering equipment.
If you have an ohm-meter you can take schematics fo the A-1200 and check if the floppy connector pins have connection to whereever they should go according to the schematics.

How did the A-1200 work before the problem ?
Did it fall down or did you pull the drive cable very often or something alike ? Or did the drive problem just occur from one day to another ?
Did you change the drive in the past ? I am asking because maybe your A-1200 is a ESCOM model and needs a PC drive instead of an Amiga drive ?!
Overdoc is offline  
Old 13 April 2006, 17:02   #7
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 4,925
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
HI Overdoc,

It is definitely not an Escom model. Both drives are bona fide Amiga drives.
I think you are right about a fried chip as on VERY close inspection, all the solder joints look A1.
This is so annoying as I just set up a lovely PCMCIA network and purchased new 3.1 ROMS - yet to be fitted.
The floppy really isnt essential is it? Surely I can simply mount adfs to HDD and then use WHDLOAD to install? Trouble is I tried a couple of proggies in UAE that are meant to allow this with no joy. Can anyone give me guide as to how to do this?
DDNI is offline  
Old 13 April 2006, 23:01   #8
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 4,925
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Cracked it! Now have 4 emulated floppies on my HDD that I can dump ADFs onto to install with WHDLOAD - brilliant.

My old miggy still has life !!!
DDNI is offline  
Old 14 April 2006, 00:40   #9
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)
jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 433
Send a message via MSN to jrom
You can always go for an external extra drive... a hdd and eth0 and off you go... no need for df0:
jrom is offline  
Old 14 April 2006, 00:56   #10
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 4,925
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
? external floppy not controlled by same chip as df0: ?
DDNI is offline  
Old 14 April 2006, 19:23   #11
Overdoc
Commodore Collector
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austria
Age: 43
Posts: 791
Yes, they are controlled by the same chip, but it would be a good idea to check if an external drive works !
If it works then you are lucky and the problem must be somewhere else.
With kick 2.0 or higher you can also boot from an external diskdrive. Only problem is that most software, especially games want to load their data from DF0: and so keep searching for a disk in DF0 instead of DF1....
Overdoc is offline  
Old 15 April 2006, 00:09   #12
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 4,925
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Thanks again Doc! Just need an external drive now.....
DDNI is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Issues with rev 2B A1200 and its Floppy Drives scam3r support.Hardware 10 20 December 2012 00:34
A1200 4gb CF causes floppy issues DaveMB support.Hardware 32 27 September 2011 17:56
Dodgy A1200 floppy issues Smiley support.Hardware 0 23 May 2006 18:15
Getting real hard disk to work in WinUAE issues bilko9070 support.WinUAE 2 14 December 2005 04:43
Sound & Floppy issues on A1200 r6stu support.Hardware 8 09 November 2005 09:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16636 seconds with 12 queries