English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 April 2006, 04:25   #161
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 49
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
Another thing m8 (i've had a drink or two tonight so bare with me ) Remember the snes and it's controller??? and then psx/psone/ps2 pads came along well i've forgotten which buttons are which on the snes controller because i have gotten so used to the psx one's i know the shoulder buttons L/R and start select are the same but can't remeber which button u pressed on the snes for games as just the other night i setup zsnes with pilotwings and the controller and still not convinced it was right was confussed over which button is A and which is B did i have them mapped the wrong way round ??

I'll have a look tommoz m8 and let u know what i discover and where to go then on the button mapping!
sarek2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 April 2006, 12:24   #162
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Just for you Sarek...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snes_controller.gif
Views:	130
Size:	242.7 KB
ID:	10851  
Macca is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 12:39   #163
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
Ah, now I realize why it was so hard to play some of the games. I use an X360 controller and the Xbox controllers have the X and Y switched. I finally understand the error of my ways.
StarEye is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 13:38   #164
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarEye
Ah, now I realize why it was so hard to play some of the games. I use an X360 controller and the Xbox controllers have the X and Y switched. I finally understand the error of my ways.
LOL

I use Xbox controllers (not Xbox360) but they are also switched
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 13:42   #165
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarek2k
Another thing m8 (i've had a drink or two tonight so bare with me ) Remember the snes and it's controller??? and then psx/psone/ps2 pads came along well i've forgotten which buttons are which on the snes controller because i have gotten so used to the psx one's i know the shoulder buttons L/R and start select are the same but can't remeber which button u pressed on the snes for games as just the other night i setup zsnes with pilotwings and the controller and still not convinced it was right was confussed over which button is A and which is B did i have them mapped the wrong way round ??

I'll have a look tommoz m8 and let u know what i discover and where to go then on the button mapping!
No problem.

Macca's uploaded a nice picture anyway but you could have seen this from these pictures I posted the other day
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PS2_01.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	34.9 KB
ID:	10852   Click image for larger version

Name:	PS2_02.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	10853  
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 13:50   #166
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
The only ones I cannot remember are:

... SNES L = PS2 L1 or PS2 L2
... SNES R = PS2 R1 or PS2 R2



Here's what I need you to do for me:

... Run Snes9x with both your controllers plugged in and test to see what I mapped SNES L + SNES R to (I think it was L2 + R2).
... Run Zsnes and do a full joypad mapping of each controller corresponding to the Snes9x layout, take print screens and then post them here.

Once I know this information I *should* be able to replicated it using my Xbox controllers.
Actually I should be able to work it out without you having to lift a finger...

Thought about it and here's how, quite logical really:

... Run Snes9x with Xbox controllers.
... Remap buttons until I work out which Xbox buttons give PS2 (JO)Button 4 + (JO)Button 5 and make a note of these.
... Run Zsnes and use the noted buttons to set SNES L + R.

DamienD is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 14:01   #167
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 49
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
This is Why i LOVE Zipsticks so much TWO buttons that do the same thing u can't go wrong lol
sarek2k is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 15:14   #168
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
In that aspect, the C64 dvd will be a lot more "true" to the original if you use a Competition Pro USB.
StarEye is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 15:45   #169
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 49
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
I had one of those loaned it to a m8 and never got it back i'll have to get another one!)

Right here goes @ DamienD having a shit load of problems here m8!
i have downloaded modified1 and 2 updated them is there a modified3????
i now have a snes dir on my c:\ drive and the settings are screwed back to what
they were originally i've copy the setup.exe from the modified 1 and 2 plus the
other reg files from the 2 zips and tried to re-run the setup of course it won't work because it's comming up with a sharing violation cause i am running the file i am trying
to copy!!!

if i Re-Burn the dvd that will fix it won't it?

Got myself in a right old mixup here i've took screenshots of both but they mean nothing to me as snes9x is now broken so i can't tell whats what!

when i originally ran your setup.exe i could at least get your settings but now i can't

also you say you've mapped SNES L&R as psx L&R 2+2???? wouldnt it make more sense to have them as psx L&R 1+1 (As tho they are the shoulder buttons on the snes pad? ie the TOP layer) or have u selected em as 2+2 for comfort???
sarek2k is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 16:14   #170
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarek2k
i have downloaded modified1 and 2 updated them is there a modified3????
i now have a snes dir on my c:\ drive and the settings are screwed back to what they were originally i've copy the setup.exe from the modified 1 and 2 plus the other reg files from the 2 zips and tried to re-run the setup of course it won't work because it's comming up with a sharing violation cause i am running the file i am trying to copy!!!
Sharing violation... Never had this before and I've run setup.exe straight after copying everything to the C: or D: drive. Just end / restart the task explorer.exe or reboot Windows...

No modified 3, 4 or 5. I can add 3 and 4, what does everybody think? Guess it would be good for 4 player games like NBA Jam...

As Snes9x is registry based, to find out what buttons I've mapped to SNES L + R all you should need to do it is:

... Insert the DVD into your DVD drive.
... Run SETUP.EXE from \SNES on the DVD.
... Select that you want to use the DVD drive from "File Location + Desktop Shortcut - Setup" menu.
... Select PS2 Controllers from the "Controller - Setup" menu.
... Select Exit, as all desired settings have been applied.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarek2k
if i Re-Burn the dvd that will fix it won't it?
No need, the above should work. Plus if all goes to plan I should have the new multi-emulator DVD all ready / tested by Monday at the latest

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarek2k
Got myself in a right old mixup here i've took screenshots of both but they mean nothing to me as snes9x is now broken so i can't tell whats what!
You sure have

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarek2k
when i originally ran your setup.exe i could at least get your settings but now i can't
Interesting. If you say you've copied everything to the root of C: drive then:

... Just delete the C:\SNES directory.
... Copy everything across again.
... Run setup.exe and select Exit, removing all applied settings.
... Run setup.exe again but this time select the options you desire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarek2k
also you say you've mapped SNES L&R as psx L&R 2+2???? wouldnt it make more sense to have them as psx L&R 1+1 (As tho they are the shoulder buttons on the snes pad? ie the TOP layer) or have u selected em as 2+2 for comfort???
Comfort... The original reason why I did this is that as you know there are two buttons on the "shoulder" of a PS / PS2 controller. L1 / R1 is a bit smaller than R2 / R2 so I thought this is a better option (more like to press this and not slip)

Last edited by DamienD; 21 April 2006 at 16:26.
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 16:26   #171
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
I think Sarek must have messed around whilst drunk - lol

May be easier for you to delete everything and re-run the installation (after applying the two fixes).

Any chance of an update on a front-end as well Sarek? I'm at the stage where I need to come up with some kind of copy routine (very easy one at that using xcopy and one variable - lol - but I may still make a hash out of it).
Macca is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 16:27   #172
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Macca, if you need help just call
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 16:46   #173
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Probably will mate - lol

In all fairness I am going to have one variable (for the installation drive letter - i.e. which drive do you want to install it to? c to z)

And then dependant upon which one they press depends on what happens and which reg files are copied across.

I'll start work tonight and email you a copy.
Macca is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 17:05   #174
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Hey sarek2k,

I think I'm in the same boat as Macca now. I also need an updated autorun as well

No rush though, whenever you have the time

Best regards,
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 17:21   #175
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Time to get the whip out I think...
Macca is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 17:40   #176
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 49
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
i AM in the middle of drawing macca's front end now can't do two things at once this is WIP real time
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	macca.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	111.6 KB
ID:	10859  
sarek2k is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 17:55   #177
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Looks like an old Zzap 64 that does..

Thanks for having a look at it mate.. I'll do the copy and regedit routines tonight, test it and then write a few instructions / readme and job done.

Then come Monday I'll get it posted.
Macca is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 23:54   #178
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
Very good news, I'm now finished creating those Zsnes configuration files. Phew...

Ok all that's left to do is as follows:

... Add in sarek2k's wonderful autorun.exe (hint, hint).
... Burn the DVD and test all options thoroughly.

If all goes well with testing then I will aim to start sending a few DVDs to people and also create an ISO
DamienD is offline  
Old 21 April 2006, 23:58   #179
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Cool congrats mate.

Even worse news is I've found more ini files - it's now gone from two files to four.

I'm going to get drunk I think that may aid my thought.
Macca is offline  
Old 22 April 2006, 00:00   #180
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,663
LOL. That's exactly what I'm about to do

I just posted in your thread while you were posting in mine. ROLF...

Maybe e-mails the best place to have this conversation?
DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Megadrive VS SNES Jawsykilla Retrogaming General Discussion 133 29 March 2013 00:19
New Snes Launcher synchro Retrogaming General Discussion 110 28 January 2013 11:30
SNES copiers gklinger Retrogaming General Discussion 20 26 March 2009 23:25
US Snes Games on UK Snes Steve Retrogaming General Discussion 13 17 December 2001 23:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31058 seconds with 12 queries