English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 April 2006, 23:53   #121
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 49
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
you've lost me DamienD i'll stick to the graphics side oh don't forget to send me the config file!
sarek2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 April 2006, 00:04   #122
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
I think I've thought of a way around it but it's very complicated... Just writing up the explaination...

Edit: just about ready to reveal the plan, this is really going to f$%k your head but I think it works...

Last edited by DamienD; 19 April 2006 at 00:15.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 00:12   #123
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
lol should be fun - I may 'borrow' some of these routines for mine - I (sadly) think I may have to run things locally of the hard-drive - not sure yet though! A lot more investigation needed.

By the way DD - do you know a variable for the current active drive - I want to change the paths in Gamebase to point to whichever drive it was ran from.

Cheers.
Macca is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 00:22   #124
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Basically for the Path I have these being created in %TEMP%:

... DVD.TXT
... C_HDD.TXT
... E_HDD.TXT
... F_HDD.TXT

__________________________________________________


The next part only applies for ZSnes.

When you select the Emulator settings + Normal I have this:

... IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_HDD.TXT ECHO ... >> %Temp%.\C_N.TXT
... IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_HDD.TXT ECHO ... >> %Temp%.\D_N.TXT
... IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_HDD.TXT ECHO ... >> %Temp%.\E_N.TXT
... IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_HDD.TXT ECHO ... >> %Temp%.\F_N.TXT

NOTE: No need to do anything for the DVD as you cannot copy across new files hence set any options...


When you select the Emulator settings + Scanlines I have this:

... IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_HDD.TXT ECHO ... >> %Temp%.\C_S.TXT
... IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_HDD.TXT ECHO ... >> %Temp%.\D_S.TXT
... IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_HDD.TXT ECHO ... >> %Temp%.\E_S.TXT
... IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_HDD.TXT ECHO ... >> %Temp%.\F_S.TXT

NOTE: No need to do anything for the DVD as you cannot copy across new files hence set any options...

__________________________________________________


Finally you select the Emulator controller + Xbox I have this:

IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_XB.CFG" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_XB.DAT" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_XB.CFG" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_XB.DAT" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_XB.CFG" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_XB.DAT" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_XB.CFG" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_XB.DAT" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_XB.CFG" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_XB.DAT" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_XB.CFG" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_XB.DAT" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_XB.CFG" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_XB.DAT" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_XB.CFG" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_XB.DAT" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_XB.CFG" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_XB.DAT" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_XB.CFG" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_XB.DAT" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_XB.CFG" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_XB.DAT" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_XB.CFG" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_XB.DAT" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"

NOTE: No need to do anything for the DVD as you cannot copy across new files hence set any options...


or you select the Emulator controller + PS2 I have this:

IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_PS.CFG" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_PS.DAT" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_PS.CFG" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_PS.DAT" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_PS.CFG" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_PS.DAT" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_PS.CFG" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_N.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\N_PS.DAT" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_PS.CFG" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_PS.DAT" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_PS.CFG" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_PS.DAT" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_PS.CFG" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_PS.DAT" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_PS.CFG" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_S.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\S_PS.DAT" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_PS.CFG" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\C_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_PS.DAT" "C:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_PS.CFG" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\D_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_PS.DAT" "D:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_PS.CFG" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\E_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_PS.DAT" "E:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_PS.CFG" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zsnesw.cfg"
IF EXIST %Temp%.\F_T.TXT COPY "%CDROMS%:\SNES\REGISTRY\ZSNES\T_PS.DAT" "F:\SNES\EMULATOR\ZSNES\zguicfgw.dat"


NOTE: No need to do anything for the DVD as you cannot copy across new files hence set any options...

__________________________________________________


ROFL... Told you it was crazy

Should work though, no???

Last edited by DamienD; 19 April 2006 at 00:57.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 00:31   #125
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Yes should work. Just don't make any typooos...
Macca is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 00:36   #126
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Ha, ha, ha...

I actually did so was editing my post while you put up your reply

I'm going to copy everything from my corrected post now into the batch file

Phew, my brain hurts now. ROLF
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 00:54   #127
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca
lol should be fun - I may 'borrow' some of these routines for mine - I (sadly) think I may have to run things locally of the hard-drive - not sure yet though! A lot more investigation needed.
Macca, no problem what-so-ever. You've probably already checked out my 70% finished SETUP.TXT file by now? You are welcome to use anything inside. Once I totally complete my SETUP.EXE I'll post it to you in the form of a .TXT file and will try to explain how it all works

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca
By the way DD - do you know a variable for the current active drive - I want to change the paths in Gamebase to point to whichever drive it was ran from.
Hmmm, at the moment my heads going full-time on getting mine finished while it's still fresh in my head...

Once completed I'll be happy to assist you with getting yours to run how you want it. Hopefully the emulator / front end etc. will be registry based
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 03:07   #128
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Finally finished writing all the SETUP.EXE file.

One small issue, I had to loose the Save Files going to the C: or D: or E: or F: drive

Now, no matter if you play from the DVD drive or copy it across to a Hard Drive partition all Saves Files get stored in C:\SNES\SAVES\SNES9X or C:\SNES\SAVES\ZSNES (depending on the emulator you choose)... It's hard to explain exactly why I needed to do this but trust me when I say it complicated things way too much...

Now all that's left to do is:
1) Create all these different sets of zsnesw.cfg + zguicfgw.dat (see below in Code: so it doesn't look funny)
2) Test everything extensively

Code:
SETINGS: 
======== 
 
N.CFG			normal 
N.DAT			normal 
 
S.CFG			scanlines 
S.DAT			scanlines 
 
T.CFG			tvmode 
T.CFG			tvmode 
 
D.CFG			default 
D.CFG			default 
 
-------------------------
 
CONTROLLER: 
========== 
 
N_XB.CFG			normal, xbox 
N_XB.DAT			normal, xbox 
S_XB.CFG			scanlines, xbox 
S_XB.DAT			scanlines, xbox 
T_XB.CFG			tvmode, xbox 
T_XB.DAT			tvmode, xbox 
D_XB.CFG			default, xbox 
D_XB.DAT			default, xbox 
 
N_PS.CFG			normal, ps2 
N_PS.DAT			normal, ps2 
s_PS.CFG			scanlines, ps2 
s_PS.DAT			scanlines, ps2 
T_PS.CFG			tvmode, ps2 
T_PS.DAT			tvmode, ps2 
D_PS.CFG			default, ps2 
D_PS.DAT			default, ps2 
 
N_HR.CFG			normal, hotrod 
N_HR.DAT			normal, hotrod 
S_HR.CFG			scanlines, hotrod 
S_HR.DAT			scanlines, hotrod 
T_HR.CFG			tvmode, hotrod 
T_HR.DAT			tvmode, hotrod 
D_HR.CFG			default, hotrod 
D_HR.DAT			default, hotrod 
 
N_DF.CFG			normal, default 
N_DF.DAT			normal, default 
S_DF.CFG			scanlines, default 
S_DF.DAT			scanlines, default 
T_DF.CFG			tvmode, default 
T_DF.DAT			tvmode, default 
D_DF.CFG			default, default 
D_DF.DAT			default, default
Phew, off to bed now

Last edited by DamienD; 19 April 2006 at 03:15.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 03:58   #129
sarek2k
E.A.B Addict and Proud
sarek2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: England
Age: 49
Posts: 543
Send a message via MSN to sarek2k
Good night m8 take a rest you've earned it
sarek2k is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 10:39   #130
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
Macca, no problem what-so-ever. You've probably already checked out my 70% finished SETUP.TXT file by now? You are welcome to use anything inside. Once I totally complete my SETUP.EXE I'll post it to you in the form of a .TXT file and will try to explain how it all works


Hmmm, at the moment my heads going full-time on getting mine finished while it's still fresh in my head...

Once completed I'll be happy to assist you with getting yours to run how you want it. Hopefully the emulator / front end etc. will be registry based
As luck would have it - it is registry based.

Having thought about it on the autorun side I think I'll just have click this to play off C:\, Click this to play off D:\ etc.

I may be able to put in a routine which checks the CD drive assign and then runs the relevant reg file.

Glad you've gotten it sorted now mate.

Take care.
Macca is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 14:19   #131
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca
As luck would have it - it is registry based.
Thank God for that, much easier to handle...

The reason why my SETUP.EXE is so complex now plus all these issues I've been running into recently are all because of Zsnes and it's file based configs
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 14:20   #132
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca
I may be able to put in a routine which checks the CD drive assign and then runs the relevant reg file.
I have a batch file for this if you want it?
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 14:42   #133
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Yep I'd love it - saves me writing / stealing / borrowing one...
Macca is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 14:43   #134
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Yeah there is the only thing I have a problem with in the registry side of it is that the paths are absolute rather than variable (i.e. z:\c64\saves\ rather thant %cddrive%\c64\saves) and the only way around it I can think of is using the 'click here if you are running off C:\' sort of thing.
Macca is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 15:18   #135
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca
Yep I'd love it - saves me writing / stealing / borrowing one...
Hey Macca,

I've e-mailed you 3 different variations of the batch file which finds out the letters assigned to CD / DVD drives:

CD_BOTH.BAT
... Displays 2 x CD/DVD drives found

CD_FIRST.BAT
... Displays the first CD/DVD drive found

CD_SECOND.BAT
... Displays the second CD/DVD drive found

Hope this helps you
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 16:09   #136
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Just had a thought can you do one to show the dvd drive the dvd is actually in?
Macca is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 16:19   #137
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca
Just had a thought can you do one to show the dvd drive the dvd is actually in?
Hmmm, I can think of a way:

Run the CD_BOTH.BAT so that your know which CD / DVD drives exist and then export this to a variable or text file. Now, take this infomation and check for a file that you know exists on each CD / DVD drive using IF EXIST...

DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 16:23   #138
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca
Yeah there is the only thing I have a problem with in the registry side of it is that the paths are absolute rather than variable (i.e. z:\c64\saves\ rather thant %cddrive%\c64\saves) and the only way around it I can think of is using the 'click here if you are running off C:\' sort of thing.
Can you not just have \c64\saves in the registry and stuff will be save to where-ever the program is run from \c64\saves. This is what I do in with Saves files location

For obvious reasons it doesn't work if it's a CD / DVD drive...

Last edited by DamienD; 19 April 2006 at 17:34.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 16:37   #139
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Well I may say that everything saves (including freezes) to currentuser\mydocuments\C64 Saves if possible.

I'll get into this when I get home tonight.
Macca is offline  
Old 19 April 2006, 17:06   #140
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Here's a list of environment variables in Windows XP that might help you:

http://vlaurie.com/computers2/Articles/environment.htm

DamienD is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Megadrive VS SNES Jawsykilla Retrogaming General Discussion 133 29 March 2013 00:19
New Snes Launcher synchro Retrogaming General Discussion 110 28 January 2013 11:30
SNES copiers gklinger Retrogaming General Discussion 20 26 March 2009 23:25
US Snes Games on UK Snes Steve Retrogaming General Discussion 13 17 December 2001 23:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25472 seconds with 12 queries