English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

Thread Tools
Old 22 March 2007, 15:15   #41
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by sink
nothing is impossible!
Except getting this to work on a legacy-free PC, apparently. : : Any chance this (or an IPF reader) could be made to work with a programmable USB floppy controller (SMSC has one in their lineup)?
cappuchok is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 March 2007, 21:40   #42
Registered User
caffeinekid's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wakefield, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 72
Bah! I just scavenged an old floppy drive to put two in a machine to adf these disks I've acquired and find that there is only one floppy compatible power point.
caffeinekid is offline  
Old 10 February 2008, 05:05   #43
Posts: n/a
- Is it possible to write an Amiga, Commodore 64 or any other non-IBM disk
image back to a real floppy disk using a standard PC?
- NO. The trick used to read non-IBM disks cannot be used to write
those disks. The PC floppy disk controller (FDC) is not able, with
any trick imaginable, to write non-IBM sectors.
To go a little into more details, the problem is that the FDC always
encodes data into standard MFM, excluding any other kind of encoding
(for example GCR), and cannot write any other synchronization marks
than those of a standard IBM sector, excluding the Amiga track
does this mean that we can write Amiga disks on the PC one way or another?
Old 10 February 2008, 09:55   #44
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 663
No, not without additional hardware (i.e. a Catweasel). The author of that document is not a native english speaker which is why the sentence is slightly confusing.
OddbOd is offline  
Old 01 April 2008, 22:10   #45
Posts: n/a
Floppy cable

Hi all,
A bit late into this I know, but looking at pidarr's cable (19/09) it looks as though it's missing the twisted over bit.
I'm not 100% certain what lines get twisted, but working on old pc's at work, our floppy cables definately have a twisted over section, that will allow a second floppy to work from one controller.
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DISK2FDI and ADFread Supamax support.Apps 19 30 November 2008 06:57
Adfread v1.1 Released Paul News 0 28 December 2006 12:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:31.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13226 seconds with 12 queries