English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 31 March 2006, 19:56   #1
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: #DrainTwitterSpam
Age: 45
Posts: 2,284
ADFread 1.0

ADFRead 1.0 Released

Adfread will allow you to create ADF floppy disk images from regular
Amiga disks using standard PC hardware.

Requirements:

- Windows 2000/XP/2003
- BIOS support for 2 floppy drives
- 2 non-USB floppy drives installed on the same cable
- Regular format Amiga disks without any copy-protection
- A normal PC-formatted 1.44M floppy

Download it here!
Anubis is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 31 March 2006, 20:13   #2
NOB
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 424
Cool, works with Windows XP!
NOB is offline  
Old 31 March 2006, 20:43   #3
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
Great. Good work.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 31 March 2006, 22:03   #4
jrom
Wannabe asm coder ;)
jrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 433
Send a message via MSN to jrom
Eh? Why do you need 2 drives? Can't you dump directly to HD?
jrom is offline  
Old 31 March 2006, 22:15   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
Another question: Is it possible, in the near future, to write ADF images back to real amiga discs?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 31 March 2006, 22:37   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
http://www.oldskool.org/disk2fdi/

Download disk2fdi and read docs\tech\rawflopy.doc and docs\disk2fdi.faq for more information about "disk2fdi"-method and why 2 floppy drives are needed.

<snip>

Disk2FDI Frequently-Asked Questions (FAQ) and answers:

WRITING IMAGE DISK FILES:
- Is it possible to write an Amiga, Commodore 64 or any other non-IBM disk
image back to a real floppy disk using a standard PC?
- NO. The trick used to read non-IBM disks cannot be used to write
those disks. The PC floppy disk controller (FDC) is not able, with
any trick imaginable, to write non-IBM sectors.
To go a little into more details, the problem is that the FDC always
encodes data into standard MFM, excluding any other kind of encoding
(for example GCR), and cannot write any other synchronization marks
than those of a standard IBM sector, excluding the Amiga track
layout.

</snip>
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 April 2006, 03:35   #7
gizmomelb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: melbourne
Age: 48
Posts: 510
Toni - many many thanks for porting this to windows, I'm sure it will allow a lot more Amiga DOS disks to be archived now.
gizmomelb is offline  
Old 02 April 2006, 04:23   #8
TroyDavis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Now I just have to find someone with an older PC that supports two floppies and beg them to borrow it...

Question: Is there a utility out there that will test/verify the ADFs that adfread produces? If not, can someone whip up a utility to check an ADF for checksum errors?
TroyDavis is offline  
Old 02 April 2006, 10:03   #9
sink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: france
Age: 46
Posts: 187
THkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk!!!!!! great work!! nothing is impossible! amiga rox!
sink is offline  
Old 02 April 2006, 12:00   #10
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Wonder if it works when using an USB floppy and the internal floppy?
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 02 April 2006, 12:17   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Do I understand this right, this is basically Disk2FDI, but it works with WinXP?
Yes, basically 2000/XP-compatible Disk2FDI.

Quote:
if it works when using an USB floppy
No, both drives must be connected to MB's floppy drive connector. Check Disk2FDI's documentation for more information.

Quote:
Is there a utility out there that will test/verify the ADFs that adfread produces? If not, can someone whip up a utility to check an ADF for checksum errors?
adfread checks low-level checksums and will retry reading (max 10 times). ADF should be error free if the original disk is not too badly damaged.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 April 2006, 16:31   #12
sink
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: france
Age: 46
Posts: 187
u tink it's possible to use the same system for atari disk too?

ps: thk again it's terrible news this adfread!
sink is offline  
Old 02 April 2006, 17:56   #13
TroyDavis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
adfread checks low-level checksums and will retry reading (max 10 times). ADF should be error free if the original disk is not too badly damaged.
Thanks for the clarification, Toni!
TroyDavis is offline  
Old 02 June 2006, 07:14   #14
rlcarr
 
Posts: n/a
As a newbie to Amiga Emulation-land (only got Amiga Forever today), I was wondering (a) what is it about adfread/disk2fdi that requires two floppies and (b) if anyone is attempting to write a one-floppy version (that either writes to the hard drive or has you switch floppies in and out).
 
Old 02 June 2006, 14:24   #15
sittingduck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Age: 39
Posts: 45
I think that the idea is to cut the pc floppy controller out of the loop because it isn't compatible with Amiga disks. And if you're not using the floppy controller you only have the option of staying in the floppy domain; hence to drives. But I might be totally wrong - no expert on this at all.
sittingduck is offline  
Old 02 June 2006, 15:05   #16
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlcarr
As a newbie to Amiga Emulation-land (only got Amiga Forever today), I was wondering (a) what is it about adfread/disk2fdi that requires two floppies and (b) if anyone is attempting to write a one-floppy version (that either writes to the hard drive or has you switch floppies in and out).
From post 6:

Quote:
http://www.oldskool.org/disk2fdi/

Download disk2fdi and read docs\tech\rawflopy.doc and docs\disk2fdi.faq for more information about "disk2fdi"-method and why 2 floppy drives are needed.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 June 2006, 20:25   #17
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
I'm rather the guy to read README files than to over-hype anything.
Well.
adfread clearly states that it can't even read disks with "weak" protections, so it looks that it's merely for backupping your old programming work and such.
Or maybe you even have a chance in getting cracked games to ADF, too. Yet I would not give a 100% guarantee either, as with lots of NDOS disks, some "protection" has still been left on the disk that might disturb adfread...

For any kind of weaker or (slightly) stronger protections, you will still need rawread (*if* you are likely to achieve your goal with RR)
andreas is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 11:18   #18
pidarr
Registered User
pidarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 21
Hi guys!
How can i connect two floppy-drives to my mainboard?
I have 2 floppy drives and a double cable. I've tried to connect all to the MoBo but only 1 floppy drive is detected....
What i have to do? Configure the MoBo settings?
Please help me...

...this is the cable, is it the right one?
Click image for larger version

Name:	floppycable.jpg
Views:	763
Size:	95.0 KB
ID:	12080
pidarr is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 12:43   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,934
Quote:
Originally Posted by pidarr
Hi guys!
How can i connect two floppy-drives to my mainboard?
I have 2 floppy drives and a double cable. I've tried to connect all to the MoBo but only 1 floppy drive is detected....
What i have to do? Configure the MoBo settings?
Please help me...
Check your bios settings. (floppy drives are not autodetected).

But note that most newer chipsets don't have B-floppy drive support. It is possible very latest MBs with separate "legacy" chip for floppy,parallel,serial etc have support for 2 drives. (for example Intel ICH8 southbridge does not support any legacy io, not even parallel ATA..)

Quote:
...this is the cable, is it the right one?
Yes (just ignore those obsolete weird looking connectors)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 September 2006, 13:05   #20
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
OK< i must be missing something so blindingly obvious that its going to smack me so hard my grandchildren come out bruised!

(the intrepid question: wich i dont believe was complete answered)
Q1: All i wish to do is to create a Amiga Disk Image on my Hard drive do i still require to have 2 floppy drives connected to do this?

Q1a: Is by using two floppy drives in someway a method into tricking the PC Floppy Disk Controller into reading amiga disks?
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DISK2FDI and ADFread Supamax support.Apps 19 30 November 2008 07:57
Adfread v1.1 Released Paul News 0 28 December 2006 13:31

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23952 seconds with 12 queries