English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 March 2006, 14:38   #1
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Happy new OS 3.9 patches!

@Aminet, here's the links:

http://main.aminet.net/util/sys/OS39_update_patches.lha
http://main.aminet.net/util/sys/OS39...patches.readme

Nice to have updates to "good ol'" OS 3.9

it reads:
"These patches will result in workbench.library 45.130, icon.library 45.4, KingCON-handler (68020+) 1.8, screennotify.library 1.2.

workbench.library 45.130:
* FIXED $REV 128
* - RemoveAppMenuItem() memory leaks
* - greatly speeded up removing/adding menus (requires usage of new tag:
* WBA_LayoutMenus=$8000A050)
* - there is now safety check build into AddAppMenuItem() which ensures the
* total number of WB menu titles will never exceed allowed 32
* - copying of linked files' icons
* - copy deadlock (drag-copy of main volume icon over its child leaved-out
* drawer)
* - rename w/o changes was cutting 1 character each time
* - 12 char max size length in 'view by name' mode
* - reworked libinit/open/close/expunge - 1.3 LoadWB command now works

* FIXED $REV 129
* - fixed some bugs I introduced in rev 128
* - loader no longer tries to traverse WB path list in an attempt to LoadSeg()
* default tool file if it is described by absolute path string (such as
* 'c:iconx')
* - execute failed when script icon was clicked with RAmiga (auto win close)
* and any drawer icon was selected; fixed
* - inlined code for muls/divs replacing utility.library calls
* - fixed write access into own hunk - you can burn wb.lib in ROM now
* - dd_CurrentX/dd_CurrentY are internally scaled to WORDs to avoid sliders
* confusion and/or gfx corruption on extreme values
* - AddAppWindowA() could fail if called just after OpenWorkbench(); fixed
* - dropping an appicon over appicon caused doubleclick notification to be
* sent; fixed
* - view by name/date/type/size used pen 2 for rendering even on 1 bitplane
* screens (old bug; sould be fixed in IPrefs but I added workaround in
* wb.lib anyway)
* - hard links inside directories were not copied; fixed
* - WB got confused if there was a 'disk.info' icon present in root of a
* volume of other type than WBDISK; WB reverts to default icon now

* FIXED $REV 130
* - added new way of invoking Icon/Copy menu; if icon.library V45.4 is present
* WB uses new special tag ICONCTRLA_NewBumpRevision ($80009fff) which allows
* for longer filenames (as configured with WBCtrl tool)
* - Icon/Copy didn't copy the icon with the file (bug introduced with 45.128)


icon.library 45.4:
* 45.x - many fixes, no more memory leaks using Deficons tool etc. etc...
* 45.4 - Icon/Copy takes ICONCTRLA_SetGlobalMaxNameLength into account now


KingCON-handler (68020+) 1.8:
===============================

* - zoom gadget works with AOS4
* - fixed %A bug introduced in 1.6
* - added locale support
* - once again rewrote IM_DRAW routine for iconify gadget
* - removed workaround for xData program
* - added support for NewMouse wheels
* - fixed CTRL-D bug introduced in 1.4
* - reworked break signals post logic (should fix Reaction based ClassAction
* consoles)
* - fixed crash on window resize with NOREVIEW option (really old bug!)
* - added shell resident comands to completer
* - Complete/Enable cache didn't work as supposed (it reset NOCLOSE flag
* instead) - bug introduced in 1.5.1
* - educated screennotify support
* - fixed another old bug: referencing random ConUnit pointer on
* Next screen/Goto screen
* - fixed 'read from zero' Enforcer hits with some ARexx scripts (referencing
* fl_Volume of null pr_CurentDir)
* - misc fixes and improvements, added support for long filenames in custom
internal filename-completion (TAB) filerequesters


Settings.mui 19.18 fix:
* - workarounded OLD boring crash-bug on iconify, flushmem and then de-iconify actions when using MUI prefs
Bamiga2002 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 March 2006, 19:25   #2
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Cool!

have to set up/fire up a machine with OS3.9 and test
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 22 March 2006, 20:37   #3
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Great!!
Charlie is offline  
Old 22 March 2006, 20:47   #4
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,353
Updated

You also need spatch, found:

http://it.aminet.net/pub/aminet/util/wb/Spatcher1_0.lha

Thx Bamiga.
kriz is offline  
Old 22 March 2006, 23:17   #5
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Nice to have updates to "good ol'" OS 3.9
You're trying to be funny, eh?

Good ol'? Dude, this is the VERY LATEST OS available for non-PPC users, as 4.0 is PPC-only (and probably will always be )
I would not classify 3.9 as old just because the version number is one tenth below the "latest" OS. I think these two kinds of Amigas dwell in two different, independent worlds.
andreas is offline  
Old 23 March 2006, 10:02   #6
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
amazing! thanx for bringing that to our attention Bamiga2002 !!!
keropi is offline  
Old 23 March 2006, 10:48   #7
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
You're trying to be funny, eh?

Good ol'? Dude, this is the VERY LATEST OS available for non-PPC users, as 4.0 is PPC-only (and probably will always be )
I would not classify 3.9 as old just because the version number is one tenth below the "latest" OS. I think these two kinds of Amigas dwell in two different, independent worlds.
That was some sarcasm there , as i'm really waiting OS 4.0 for classic Amigas to appear. At the meantime it's good to have some update to the present latest classic OS. I've played with OS 3.9 for so long that it feels like a "good ol'" friend to me .

btw. this is my 666th post, grrrr
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 24 March 2006, 01:51   #8
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Great work! - have you considered posting this news to Amiga.org and AmigaWorld.net?
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 24 March 2006, 10:21   #9
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
as i'm really waiting OS 4.0 for classic Amigas to appear.
Forget it - this will never happen! Take my word for it.
andreas is offline  
Old 24 March 2006, 14:00   #10
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,353
Maybe for classic ppc ? It have taken time but there are users with beta versions...

--Dont take my word on it though "When its done ?"
kriz is offline  
Old 24 March 2006, 16:25   #11
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
Forget it - this will never happen! Take my word for it.
Oh well, i'm still hopeful . If it doesn't appear, i'll be happy with 3.9 too.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 24 March 2006, 16:27   #12
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com
Great work! - have you considered posting this news to Amiga.org and AmigaWorld.net?
Haven't registered at AW.net yet, maybe someone who has, posts this news there?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 24 March 2006, 22:54   #13
BarrySWE
Zone Friend
BarrySWE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 404
anyone tried them?
BarrySWE is offline  
Old 24 March 2006, 23:47   #14
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarrySWE
anyone tried them?
Have tried the pure OS3.9 patches (not the MUI patches etc) on my A1200D
Haven't noticed anything special so far
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 25 March 2006, 05:20   #15
cooldude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 112
Excellent!! Any update is good. You won't notice anything much since these
only cover highly unusual situations....
cooldude is offline  
Old 25 March 2006, 22:19   #16
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
I don't know if I'm hallucinating but I can't remember AGA was running at reasonable speed in this resolution, just took this screengrab from my A1200


So the patches must have done something
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 26 March 2006, 03:35   #17
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 45
Posts: 827
Waht res and how many colours and such is that screenshot?
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 26 March 2006, 10:49   #18
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Mindie
Waht res and how many colours and such is that screenshot?
720x564 256 colour, 8bit
AMIGAZ is offline  
Old 27 March 2006, 11:30   #19
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 45
Posts: 827
The Amiga can do things with 256 colours the PC is hardpressed todo with 16bit.

Heck, it can do things with _16_ colours that should still make the PC run and hide in a closet....
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 18 April 2006, 18:48   #20
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,353
Oki, lets get back on topic

A new version wich fixes some bugs:
http://aminet.net/util/sys/OS39_update_patches2.lha

The readme:
http://aminet.net/util/sys/OS39_update_patches2.readme
kriz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Patches and FastRam tolkien support.Apps 4 14 April 2013 15:45
Patches for Napalm PopoCop request.Other 2 13 February 2009 18:26
060 patches ? extralife support.Apps 7 11 October 2008 15:38
SAS C - Can't install patches jimbob support.Apps 5 07 October 2006 13:16
Software patches more more speed gary request.Apps 6 11 November 2003 07:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39298 seconds with 11 queries