English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 April 2006, 14:40   #21
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
A wagonload of big kudos to this guy who still ACTIVELY supports the Amiga!
(Frankly: how much native Amiga software "last updated in 2006" can you count these days?)
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 April 2006, 17:15   #22
mr_a500
Amiga-based Cyborg
mr_a500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 786
Quote:
(Frankly: how much native Amiga software "last updated in 2006" can you count these days?)
Yeah, that's great. I keep a list of all Amiga software that I use that is updated each year and so far in 2006 I've got about 8 programs that have been updated (plus many WHDload slaves). Every year the list gets smaller , but when you think about it, it's still amazing for a computer that died in 1994.

Even more amazing is the fact that a lot of these guys are doing development for maybe 1 or 2 people in the world who asked for specific updates or fixes - custom software development on a dead computer for free!
mr_a500 is offline  
Old 18 April 2007, 21:45   #23
TheOffender
 
Posts: n/a
Hi everyone. New to the board...

I just reinstalled Amithlon a couple of weeks ago (haven't touched the stuff in years)...So far, here's the setup:
motherboard is NForce3 250GB
Kernel310
AfA
SFS2.3
GForce 6200 (I need to swith this for a supported video card)
160 GB dedicated hard drive (3.1GB System, 100GB Work, 47GB Game)

The AfA antialias fonts break TurboCalc 4 (causes freeze) but works great on all other apps so far. The system will also freeze after a soft-boot and trying to type. I need to resolve that. Watching video from CD using froggerng works, but copying large file from CD (>300 MB) also caused a freeze 1 out of 3 times. I'll see if I can determine if SFS is the culprit. What testing you want to see, I'll try and do it?

I saw SFS 1.70 is out, which is better to use/what's the difference?
 
Old 20 April 2007, 00:39   #24
TheOffender
 
Posts: n/a
Red face

Ne'er mind, just saw that SFS2 V2.3 is a year old. I'm going to dl new version SFS 1.270 and rebuild with that. Unless someone thinks I should stick to this SFS.
 
Old 20 April 2007, 04:30   #25
VermillioN
 
Posts: n/a
Oooo awesome! I'll be updating mine tonight
 
Old 20 April 2007, 07:39   #26
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,354
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
When will we get SFS DirectSCSI and SFS/68000?

Oh well, I have a legal copy of pfs3 sitting on my shelf, I'll keep on using that, like I've done for 9 years now. :-)
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
smart file system wilch support.WinUAE 5 07 March 2011 10:55
Smart File system install woes. r6stu support.Apps 2 20 October 2007 17:57
System is not validated! FFS (and I dont mean fast file system!) Macca support.Hardware 11 11 June 2007 14:04
File system: SFS 1.263 Paul News 2 29 October 2006 10:24
SFS file system and a network that actually works! Eny- support.Hardware 13 02 June 2004 14:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21905 seconds with 11 queries