English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 March 2006, 21:21   #1
Gnorman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Leeds, England
Posts: 15
Which coders used the dirtiest hacks?

After getting WHDLoad and reading this board it is obvious that many of you have picked apart Amiga games for graphics, sound, etc or hacked them to run on 1200's and it got me thinking. Which programming teams were the worst for using hacks and workarounds to achieve the end result.

i.e. Whose games are the biggest bugger to modify?
Gnorman is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 March 2006, 16:45   #2
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 41
Posts: 5,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnorman
After getting WHDLoad and reading this board it is obvious that many of you have picked apart Amiga games for graphics, sound, etc or hacked them to run on 1200's and it got me thinking. Which programming teams were the worst for using hacks and workarounds to achieve the end result.

i.e. Whose games are the biggest bugger to modify?
older the game, 'generally' worse programming practices they used.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 13 March 2006, 17:01   #3
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 2,262
I heard Tiertex (Strider series) were pretty rough Their trackloader was definately crap!
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 16 March 2006, 20:33   #4
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 41
Posts: 5,589
Teque were pretty crap as well.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 18 March 2006, 04:09   #5
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 532
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
I have some software that I can't get to work on a500 with ks1.2. I guess it's 1.1 only. What a pain. I suppose I will have to get resource out. :/

[edit] or I might ask (very kindly) someone like galahad if he wants to fix it :-)

Last edited by BuZz; 18 March 2006 at 04:24.
BuZz is offline  
Old 18 March 2006, 19:34   #6
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 2,262
It could be 1.3 only maybe? What software is it?
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 18 March 2006, 20:31   #7
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 532
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Oh. doesnt work on 1.3 either. The software is synthpack, a synth music editor by Karsten Obarski. I need to try it on winuae with kick 1.1 and If it works then i know the files not corrupt or missing something.
BuZz is offline  
Old 13 April 2006, 15:46   #8
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
I heard Tiertex (Strider series) were pretty rough Their trackloader was definately crap!
Umm. Well, let me think ... would The Plague count? Old versions of WinFellow always complained about entering ILLEGAL memory area and crashed, while I reckon that later versions only "tolerated" this behavior of the loader. Could be worth a try to look into that to check its "weirdness".

Toni Wilen once told me that the weirdest track loader he had ever seen was 'The Deep' by Emerald Software. AFAIR it did not even work in quite advanced 0.8.17 r2/r3 yet. Appears to do extremely weird things with DMA...

And as we are here (WinUAE), another one springs to mind: Voyager demo.
AFAIK still not able to boot up on the emulator.

Another is Academy - Tau Ceti II. Galahad once found out it makes quite heavy use of ABSOLUTE addresses ...
Then last but not least ... Arctic Fox. Awfully weird loader too ...
LOL. Both games are from 1985 - a sign? Probably ... Galahad said it already:

Quote:
older the game, 'generally' worse programming practices they used.
Quote:
I have some software that I can't get to work on a500 with ks1.2. I guess it's 1.1 only.
>> QUINTETTE <<
KS 1.1 only. Yes.
Boots w/1.2, but you cannot play!!

Last edited by andreas; 13 April 2006 at 15:59.
andreas is offline  
Old 15 April 2006, 00:51   #9
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,185
it would be nice to see some of the old tracker such as Future Composer working under modern Amiga
Frog is offline  
Old 15 April 2006, 01:40   #10
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 532
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
I'm sure Stingray made a fixed version of future composer. Not sure if he released it. I resourced future composer and got it part working on kickstart 3. I'll have a look and see if I can dig something out.
BuZz is offline  
Old 17 April 2006, 02:46   #11
Ray Norrish
Registered User
Ray Norrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cheshire, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 300
Send a message via ICQ to Ray Norrish
Well, I used fc back around the day.. should be fairly easy to upgrade if someone needed it
Ray Norrish is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaKit's New Battery Hacks quarkx Amiga scene 5 29 October 2012 18:27
Bit twiddling hacks. Thorham Coders. Asm / Hardware 5 29 April 2012 00:54
Bit twiddling hacks. Thorham Coders. C/C++ 1 28 April 2012 04:55
What are your favourite Workbench hacks? Graham Humphrey Amiga scene 29 01 October 2007 19:22
Memory hacks Anubis request.UAE Wishlist 20 07 November 2005 04:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16186 seconds with 11 queries