English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 August 2010, 15:25   #21
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,725
BTW. Is someone a real master of this game and play it without cheating? IMHO it is quite difficult.
daxb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 August 2010, 15:45   #22
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,673
I've completed it 10-15 years ago. It wasn't that difficult, had no real problems. DoG is a pretty good Langrisser/Warsong clone.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 15 September 2010, 09:42   #23
nsd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Hey guys, before I open a new thread I thought I'd ask here first.

I've installed DoG on HD using winuae, the usual A1200 setup, just like I did on my original Amiga.
Now, the game works fine except for sound playback: music during intro and gameplay is very choppy and weird, like it's missing some notes, and sound effects in combat are distorted as well.
I've tried messing with winuae's sound settings (esp the stereo/channel mixing, which I suspect is the culprit here) but I can only get it to sound worse, not better.
Did a quick test and other games (ie Ambermoon) don't seem to have that problem.
I'm not sure if the game originally had compatibility issues with the A1200 but I don't remember having these sound issues back then.

So has anyone encountered that problem and possibly have a solution? Thanks.
nsd is offline  
Old 15 September 2010, 09:48   #24
TCD
Global Moderator

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 24,032
Enable on screen LEDs on the 'Miscellaneous' panel and look at the SND and CPU numbers when the sound gets choppy. Post those numbers here afterwards.
TCD is offline  
Old 15 September 2010, 09:57   #25
nsd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Not sure which LED is which but from left to right it goes -05 100 50
The first number fluctuates constantly around -05/-15, the other two are stable.

Hmm, just tested with Amberstar. It's not as bad as in DoG, but it also plays extra notes in the tunes that shouldn't be there. Ambermoon, on the other hand, which should be more resource hungry, plays just fine.

All right, it's sorted. Whatever the problem was, the latest winuae 2.30 beta release fixed it.

Last edited by nsd; 15 September 2010 at 10:52.
nsd is offline  
Old 15 September 2010, 14:56   #26
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
I am quite sure it is not actually an emulation problem but too fast CPU breaking bad sound routines. (missing or bad samples is common symptom)

2.3 added new workaround for similar situations. (automatically enabled in non-cycle exact modes)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 February 2015, 14:44   #27
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,725
Death or Glory strange save issue. Havn`t tried to reproduce it.

Hrtmon is running in background. Using SFS partition. Start the game (whdload version slave V1.0) and load (F2) old chapter (chapter 2). Played a bit and died so the game goes back to title screen. Start new game (F1). Now the error happens: The save chapter screen appears what shouldn`t happen at this point (only after finishing one). Curiously I answered with "Yes" save chapter to see what happens. Saving took the usual time (1-2 seconds). However, later when quit the game I noticed that saving "worked" because file "Disk.8" is updated. In fact 385 MB in size now:
Code:
12. System:> list Games:Taktik/DeathOrGlory/Data/
Directory "Games:Taktik/DeathOrGlory/Data" on Freitag 13-Feb-15 
Disk.8                   385864192 ----rwed Dienstag   19:57:41
Disk.7                    942080 ----rwed 04-Mär-06  02:20:30
Disk.6                    942080 ----rwed 09-Apr-06  11:58:32
Disk.5                    942080 ----rwed 04-Mär-06  17:38:21
Disk.4                    942080 ----rwed 04-Mär-06  02:20:38
Disk.3                    942080 ----rwed 04-Mär-06  02:13:11
Disk.2                    942080 ----rwed 04-Mär-06  02:13:14
Disk.1                    940544 ----rwed 04-Mär-06  02:13:16
8 files - 766526 blocks used
I guess it could be the Death or Glory save bug that causes this large size. Someone knows how it happens or any other comments? Btw. the Disk.8 seems to be still vaild because I could save a single save state and load it again.
daxb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Theatre of Death : a problem on 040 CPU. Irek´72 project.WHDLoad 23 10 June 2013 15:45
Death or Glory: Der dunkle Kaiser - How to start? TCD support.Games 60 24 April 2013 13:36
Death or Glory: Das Erbe von Morgan logix HOL contributions 17 24 August 2010 20:03
Death Mask problem frikilokooo support.Games 8 15 January 2008 21:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12459 seconds with 11 queries