English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 January 2006, 19:20   #21
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
I think biggest difference is FLICKERFIXER. you can use nasty consoloid vga converter, but watching 640*512 will be really pain for ur eyes.

"Composite > VGA" converter - is cheaper, but still its just blurry composite signal...

"RBG >VGA" converters - really not that cheap, and there is still no Flickerfixer

so FF/SD indivision is really best solution, trust me


/me saving for it, not easy after x-mas
Chain is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 January 2006, 21:46   #22
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain
I think biggest difference is FLICKERFIXER. you can use nasty consoloid vga converter, but watching 640*512 will be really pain for ur eyes.

"Composite > VGA" converter - is cheaper, but still its just blurry composite signal...

"RBG >VGA" converters - really not that cheap, and there is still no Flickerfixer

so FF/SD indivision is really best solution, trust me


/me saving for it, not easy after x-mas

What...??

after x-mas you should have more money than the rest of the whole year...

except your relationship is too stingy...
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 18 January 2006, 00:13   #23
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Im still waiting for first salary in this boring year so i have only barely for food and travel to work
Chain is offline  
Old 18 January 2006, 07:37   #24
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
i know that, but mostly i spend the whole money for the computer...
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 19 January 2006, 19:24   #25
Chain
A-Collector, repairments

Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Czech Rep.
Age: 44
Posts: 1,506
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
erm... me too, i just bought A4000D
Chain is offline  
Old 22 January 2006, 20:51   #26
Joe Maroni
Moderator

Joe Maroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 38
Posts: 1,278
Send a message via MSN to Joe Maroni
i“ve ordered one..

i hope it works with my monitor, the internal doesn“t
Joe Maroni is offline  
Old 24 January 2006, 22:43   #27
DopPie
Zone Friend

DopPie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Den Hoorn, NL
Age: 38
Posts: 259
Does this thing do 1280x512? That would be awesome!
DopPie is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 13:50   #28
Sid
Registered User
Sid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chain
I think biggest difference is FLICKERFIXER. you can use nasty consoloid vga converter, but watching 640*512 will be really pain for ur eyes.

"Composite > VGA" converter - is cheaper, but still its just blurry composite signal...

"RGB >VGA" converters - really not that cheap, and there is still no Flickerfixer

so FF/SD indivision is really best solution, trust me
AmigaKit don't have the SD/FF on their site now...
just the RGB to VGA monitor adaptor:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...86092ba819f05c

Quote:
* The SVGA monitor must be able to sync to the Amiga's 31.5Khz signal (Most monitors have no problem doing this). Adapter may vary in appearance.
but no-one recommends getting this??


or this; Commodore Amiga RGB to VGA Adapter
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...767f93745669f5

??

Last edited by Sid; 12 March 2007 at 14:00.
Sid is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 13:59   #29
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
RGB to VGA adapter is useless for games. (Not to mention it was free with most A4000's!)

It uses a screen mode trick to get VGA refresh rates out of AGA. (Referred to as DBLPAL or DBLNTSC)

Ok in Workbench, but doesnt work in (most) games which change to a screen mode that isnt DBL.
alexh is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 14:03   #30
Sid
Registered User
Sid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 85
I want it for games .. primarily KO2! ... and then some others too.

see:
http://www.ko-gathering.com/phpbb2/v...=207768#207768
Sid is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 14:21   #31
Sid
Registered User
Sid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 85
so the SD/FF is the ONLY way to go?
Its not on AmigaKit site, nor can I find it on eBay?


Seen this article:
http://www.amigahistory.co.uk/monitor.html
Sid is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 14:32   #32
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
so the SD/FF is the ONLY way to go
You could buy a new monitor, an LCDTV. They are about £120 from Supermarkets and they have a SCART + VGA input. They have an SD/FF built in.

Quote:
nor can I find it on eBay?
You didnt look very hard

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=220089070759
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=320089182627
alexh is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 14:39   #33
Sid
Registered User
Sid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
Thanks Alex! At over £100 (and then the cost of a screen), I might as well buy an LCD TV... ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
You could buy a new monitor, an LCDTV. They are about £120 from Supermarkets and they have a SCART + VGA input. They have an SD/FF built in.
What LCD screens (at that price)? I have been looking for these... do response times matter at all???

This LCD has a response time of 12ms:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/17-LCD-TV-WIDE...QQcmdZViewItem
Sid is offline  
Old 12 March 2007, 14:55   #34
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@Sid

response times do so matter... in the dark days of LCD monitors thier response time was sooo poor that you would get a ghost of the previous frame when attempting to play a game!... just ghastly i tell you....

OLD lcds are only good for (A) reclimation (B) using word on it!

anyways now days we have some tasty LCD screens )

12ms or under is perfectly fine for high-end PC gamming, watching TV so it should be good for Amiga output too.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 13 March 2007, 15:47   #35
Sid
Registered User
Sid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 85
Thanks Zetro... I'm still on the lookout for a decent well priced flatscreen... (or two)
Sid is offline  
Old 18 June 2007, 01:18   #36
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
They have been sold out for over a year. Check your dates next time
alexh is offline  
Old 18 June 2007, 10:58   #37
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by olas
Hi Alexh: I did in fact see that the flickerfixer/scandoubler was out of stock, but my question was about the LCD TV.
My post wasnt in reply to you. Yesterday there was a post from someone in Taunton England saying they would collect a scandoubler from Amikit and give it to their sister who was visiting from australia. It seems now to have been deleted?
alexh is offline  
Old 21 June 2007, 08:29   #38
norseman12
 
Posts: n/a
Is a flicker fixer needed on more modern LCD displays?

I can see the need for a scan doubler, but, what resolution would benefit from this?

If I have a 1024x768 LCD display, say a 15" modern Dell unit, and my A1200 with its AGA, would I be better off just using it in VGA or multiscan mode at 640x480 or could I some how up it to 800x600 64 colors using a scan doubler???
 
Old 21 June 2007, 11:09   #39
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
A flicker fixer is required to view interlaced screen modes, otherwise the resolution is halves.

VGA or multiscan modes dont need scandoubler.

With overscan you might be able to get to 800x600 in some amiga modes.

Using an interlaced screen modes and a flicker fixer (instead of dblpal/ntsc) halves the required chip-memory bandwidth making things which use chip-RAM work faster.

Last edited by alexh; 21 June 2007 at 11:15.
alexh is offline  
Old 21 June 2007, 18:48   #40
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,358
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
A flicker fixer is required to view interlaced screen modes, otherwise the resolution is halves.
Hmm if you only have a scandoubler, you can still view interlaced modes in full resolution, you just don't get a flicker free screen.
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help me set up my scandoubler/flicker fixer terexuk support.Hardware 3 26 May 2011 11:44
Flicker fixer+scandoubler to output 31KHz, 50Hz? Photon support.Hardware 9 02 November 2009 23:32
WTB/swap: 15KHz PAL flicker fixer without scandoubler Photon MarketPlace 5 02 November 2009 22:21
Wanted: Indivision external scandoubler/flicker fixer shanegl MarketPlace 15 10 February 2009 18:12
FS: Scandoubler/Flicker Fixer DCE Flicker Magic lopos2000 MarketPlace 15 23 October 2007 12:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.40992 seconds with 11 queries