English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 January 2006, 17:07   #1
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Possible Catweasel MK4 diskwrite fix!

Ok guys I dont know if this has any bearing on the disk writing problems some folk seem to get with this flaming card but I ran into a problem last night!
Back around late 1999 I transfered all my important amiga app's and drivers over to adf's and for some reason I named some of the files in upper-case so they looked like this "DATAFLYER.ADF"

I needed to get this particular adf written back to an amiga disk but everytime I tried the diskwiter tool kept kicking off and would fail or would write but the disk was blank! So fishing for possible causes I renamed the file in lower-case and tried again and it worked perfectly!

Im wondering if this tool has a problem with files named *.ADF when they should be *.adf... It might be nothing but anyone with a catweasel should give it a shot and if it turns out to be nothing then so be it! But it might just solve some problems
ElectroBlaster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 January 2006, 18:04   #2
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
hmmm were you trying the start/stop start method ? or just hitting go and sitting back ?
stainy is offline  
Old 12 January 2006, 18:10   #3
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Just hitting go and hoping for the best! But the thing is after I renamed that file it worked every single time, perfectly!

Ive never had to use that start/stop method! The problem I get is reboots and sometimes the machine wont even get past the first XP logo screen
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 12 January 2006, 18:57   #4
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Hmmm all my images have been in lower case so I guess that counts me out still
stainy is offline  
Old 12 January 2006, 19:10   #5
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Dam it I thought I had stumbled upon some magic fix but alas its not to be!

I really dont know why it kicked off at adf's in upper case
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 12 January 2006, 21:37   #6
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Hmm there`s the source in the arvchive !! is there no way someone could fix it for us ?
Think a delay is needed.. because the imagetool writes before the floppy is ready
stainy is offline  
Old 13 January 2006, 19:57   #7
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
How is your floppy drive connected and do you know the make of it?
My drive is attached to the catweasel only without the passthru cable connected to the pc motherboard!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 13 January 2006, 20:33   #8
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Well it was just connected to the CW... but it`s connected to the mobo as well now!
My FDD is a Sony, I tried another drive ( another Sony ) and it was worse!!
stainy is offline  
Old 13 January 2006, 23:41   #9
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Well tbh thats one thing different, I dont have any sony floppy's in my pc, they are in my kids machine's

All 3 of my pc's have teac's and one made by alps tech!
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 14 January 2006, 00:28   #10
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Your inbox is chocca!!
stainy is offline  
Old 15 January 2006, 01:50   #11
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
I may have a fix here..
I`m using the older imagetool ( 107 ) I think... and I`m able to read and write with no hassles.. yet to try the disks in a real Amiga!
I`ll report back with `hopefully` good news
stainy is offline  
Old 15 January 2006, 01:58   #12
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
I had the latest drivers but didnt change the imagetool over for the new one

So the latest one could be a bit flakey....
ElectroBlaster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catweasel Mk4 Plus **new** amigakit.com MarketPlace 45 26 June 2013 05:53
Wanted: Catweasel Mk4 or Mk4+ musashi5150 MarketPlace 9 18 July 2012 13:48
[FS] Catweasel MK4 Marcuz MarketPlace 1 24 June 2012 18:29
Looking for a Catweasel MK4 Kodoichi MarketPlace 10 03 December 2006 00:52
Catweasel MK4 boing_1000 support.Hardware 5 29 June 2006 09:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17421 seconds with 11 queries