English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 November 2005, 13:24   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
wtf? The ram disk icon does not save its position...

Suddenly on ny 3.9BB2 installation, the ramdisk icon does not save its position, and on every reboot is on the center of the screen.... any ideas?
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 November 2005, 13:31   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
bah, there is something wrong... the freewheel settings prog freezes the amiga, the abuse060 starter freezes the amiga when looking at audio/video settings, amistart crashes... perhaps I did something wrong when installing the system... a format is on it's way...
keropi is offline  
Old 29 November 2005, 16:18   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
Suddenly on ny 3.9BB2 installation, the ramdisk icon does not save its position, and on every reboot is on the center of the screen.... any ideas?
The ram disk icon never saves its position. The ram disk is temporary storage which vanishes when the computer is reset or switched off. You have to do special tricks in order to get the ram disk icon snapshotted.

One trick which works on any OS version is to copy the disk.info file manually to a place on HDD and add a line to the startup scripts which copies the hdd version of the icon into the ram disk before Workbench loads. You have to update the HDD copy manually after each change.

The other trick which works since OS3.5 is to manually copy the ram disk icon to envarc:sys/def_ram.info after a snapshot. This file is taken automatically as default if there is no disk.info file in ram (which is true on every boot up).

Finally the most convenient way is to add a line to the user-startup file which creates a soft link from ram:disk.info to envarc:sys/def_ram.info. This way a snapshot of the ram disk automatically saves the icon to the default icon file.

If you do none of the above, the icon looses its position on every boot-up. And AFAIK none of the above is part of the OS3.9 installation process. You have to add it manually.
thomas is offline  
Old 29 November 2005, 18:10   #4
kas1e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: russia/moskow
Age: 38
Posts: 135
Also, i solved this problem just by change data in end of icon (where is x/y place of icon). btw, if i remember correctly, copy to envarc:sys/def_ram.info do not solve problem on 3.9bb2.
kas1e is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cracker tag / Disk number position Another World project.TOSEC (amiga only) 7 05 October 2008 10:13
A1200 with 1meg chip ram - WTF? DC33 support.Hardware 19 08 July 2007 17:00
CD-ROM icon position fc.studio support.Apps 4 21 December 2005 22:54
Changing default Ram Disk: icon under 3.9 oldpx support.Apps 8 26 July 2004 20:51
Trained save game or kick-butt RPG party save disk for Pool of Raidiance 7-Zark-7 request.Old Rare Games 1 16 June 2003 01:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11239 seconds with 11 queries