English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 November 2005, 21:32   #1
Gavilan
Amiga user & abuser

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: BUENOS AIRES, ARGENTINA
Age: 39
Posts: 175
Send a message via ICQ to Gavilan Send a message via MSN to Gavilan Send a message via Skype™ to Gavilan
How to clone my hdd

Hi there!
I have my Amiga 1200 HDD (850 MB), full of things.
Im about to moving into a bigger one (maybe 20 gigas)
I have OS 3.1 roms, and 3.9 system
The actual HDD has 3 partitions : hd0 (workbench), hd1 (stuff) and hd2 (games)

My question is: how could i "clone" my 850 MB into the bigger one, so i just unplug the smallest, put the new one, swithc my machine on, and have exactly the same stuff??

Is it possible doing this just copying everything using DOpus, and then changing the names of the partitions on the new hdd? (i put as slave, and partitioned just like the samll one, but instead of hd0,hd1 and hd2, i have dh0, dh1 and dh2). I dont want to mess up thing with Assign or things like that, just need to clone the disc

Thanks in advance

Sebastian
Gavilan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 November 2005, 01:03   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
That´s exactly the easiest method

Just put both HDs in, copy from one to the other, remove the old one and make the new one bootable (HDToolBox) and ....... so on
RetroMan is offline  
Old 10 November 2005, 05:44   #3
Gavilan
Amiga user & abuser

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: BUENOS AIRES, ARGENTINA
Age: 39
Posts: 175
Send a message via ICQ to Gavilan Send a message via MSN to Gavilan Send a message via Skype™ to Gavilan
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroMan
Thatīs exactly the easiest method

Just put both HDs in, copy from one to the other, remove the old one and make the new one bootable (HDToolBox) and ....... so on

Lovely!
In 10 minutes i re-built a complete "brand new Amiga"...
i forgot why i love this machine so so much...
thanks!!!
Gavilan is offline  
Old 10 November 2005, 08:17   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 4,529
Send a message via MSN to Jope Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
If someone is interested in this in the future, the command to use is:

copy dh0:#? dh1: all clone
Jope is offline  
Old 10 November 2005, 11:15   #5
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope
If someone is interested in this in the future, the command to use is:

copy dh0:#? dh1: all clone
copy dh0:#? dh1: all clone quiet

is a better (faster) choice
zipper is offline  
Old 10 November 2005, 13:11   #6
Bamiga2002
bye BlizzardPPC...

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 3,156
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
DOPUS is nicer to use

And it doesn't matter if the 2 harddisk's partitions are named hd0, hd1 etc. because amiga mounts the other same named as hd0.1, hd0.2 etc. It's a wise one
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 10 November 2005, 13:16   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,040
dopus mopus gopus... lol
I use ClassAction! try it!
www.martin-elsner.de
keropi is offline  
Old 10 November 2005, 13:42   #8
Bamiga2002
bye BlizzardPPC...

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 3,156
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I've tried and didn't like it, not so comfortable to use than DOPUS IMO. And it did crash quite often too.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 10 November 2005, 21:53   #9
Gavilan
Amiga user & abuser

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: BUENOS AIRES, ARGENTINA
Age: 39
Posts: 175
Send a message via ICQ to Gavilan Send a message via MSN to Gavilan Send a message via Skype™ to Gavilan
You can imagine for sure that the most happy person with me cloning a hdd in 10 minutes was my girlfriend (yeah..she tought "oh my..cloning like on the pc?? It means i will be sleeping alone tonight??)"

)))))
Gavilan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A bejewelled clone, deviish clone, columns clone Gordon Looking for a game name ? 10 16 June 2014 20:28
What has Happened To clone-A? digiflip Amiga scene 61 23 November 2013 17:41
Amiga 4000 FDD / HDD and HDD brackests Seblington MarketPlace 1 24 January 2012 16:10
'clone' virtual HDD in winuae to real Amiga HDD? gizmomelb support.Other 1 11 December 2009 10:13
enhancement request: Clone Amiga HDD to HDF gizmomelb request.UAE Wishlist 5 18 June 2006 16:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13984 seconds with 11 queries