English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 November 2005, 19:47   #1
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
Gone and done it! Bought a catweasel mk4 :D

This has to be the first new bit of amiga related kit I have bought in along time lol

I cant wait to get this thing and set it up, is there any tips I should look out for? how far have the drivers progressed as regards to the mouse/joystick ports, can I use a rounded floppy cable (for tidyness tbh) general stuff like that
ElectroBlaster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 07 November 2005, 20:43   #2
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Age: 42
Posts: 1,253
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Be prepared for XP to install ( what looks like ) umptime drivers for your floppy.. for some reason I have about 6 in device manager. Any cable should be ok.. as long as it`s standard pins with a regular FDD. Make sure you plug your SID chip in the socket closest to the back plate ( if your using just the one chip ) and make note of which way round it goes ( referring to the diagram )
stainy is offline  
Old 07 November 2005, 22:08   #3
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,304
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster


I have bought two 8580 sid chips, Stupid old me forgot about an old 64c I have stashed away in the cupboard, I couldve swiped the chip out of that!

How come 6 drives in the device manager? I wonder if thats a bug or the controller making windows think there are six connected?
I have XP-pro with a slipstreamed service pack 2! that shouldnt cause any trouble (touch wood)

What else comes with this device? do you get any setup info/manual's?
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 08 November 2005, 02:42   #4
Avanze
Amiga User

Avanze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: State College, PA
Age: 37
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by stainy
Be prepared for XP to install ( what looks like ) umptime drivers for your floppy.. for some reason I have about 6 in device manager.
After I install my driver, I have about seven "floppy on catweasel" in the control panel. Then when I reset my machine, this number is reduced to five. Any idea why this happens? This is really bugging me because one of the drives that disappears is needed for Acid64 stereo support.

For stereo support Acid64 uses the catdri2k.sys driver. This is also used for FIFO support as well.
Avanze is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted: Catweasel Mk4 or Mk4+ musashi5150 MarketPlace 9 18 July 2012 12:48
[FS] Catweasel MK4 Marcuz MarketPlace 1 24 June 2012 17:29
Catweasel MK4 Plus Help ChrisUnionNJ support.Hardware 14 04 June 2011 08:04
Looking for a Catweasel MK4 Kodoichi MarketPlace 10 02 December 2006 23:52
Catweasel MK4 boing_1000 support.Hardware 5 29 June 2006 08:07

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.09529 seconds with 11 queries