English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 November 2005, 12:38   #1
Mikey_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Barnet/London
Age: 52
Posts: 219
Get your head around this!

In relation to the discussion here http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=20574

I have knocked up a very simple web page to demonstrate my point. (Please note, those of you with a faint heart, please look away)

Also, the page is approx 1mb in size (loads of screenshots)

You can access my page here...
Mikey_C is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 November 2005, 13:18   #2
woody57
Registered User
woody57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Age: 95
Posts: 801
The Amiga's abilitly to run multiple program windows at the same time for low memory useage has allways been impressive.

Given that the screen shots were taken off an A1 800mhz G3 with 256mb certainly shows that OS4 certainly appears to be following that tradition.

Its a pity though that three of the programs you show in screenshot namely Jabberwocky,I Browse & Amiga Amp don't seem to have moved on in appearance or increased functionality from the versions I have run on 3.9 for the last two years

That though is a critisism of the above 3 programs which compared to the rest of the desktop appear "clunky" by comparison & for demonstration purposes of OS4 may graphically draw false impressions.

The need for better applications is going to be the real deciding point if OS4 is going create new converts, so the IMHO news on this front will I believe inspire more desire to give it go.

As a suguestion perhaps the better skinned Frog or Toad players would fit in more with the screen shot styling than the now "old looking" amiga amp WINAMP lookalike ?

That or if your just wanting to show it's improved music functionality a more impresive Amiga Amp skin

As a PPC user I await news on it's eventual porting & subsequently hope it will bring more with it than just the FIRST impresion of a better looking desktop
woody57 is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 13:35   #3
Haakon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 180
For pc?

Sorry for my ignorance. Is OS4 an OS you can run at a normal PC, or do I have to have A1?
Haakon is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 13:37   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
it only runs on A1's...
keropi is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 13:42   #5
Mikey_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Barnet/London
Age: 52
Posts: 219
@woody57

Well, to be honest, the GUI has had one heck of a tweak since OS3.9

The problem is that those programs you mention all run MUI, which is a third party Graphical interface. Reaction in OS4 has had and is having a major overhaul.

When new applications come out, I am sure there will be a major improvement.

AmigaAmp
I can change the AmigaAmp skin to any available for winamp, providing I have the correct datatype. I just can't be bothered

Apparently, I could also (so a fellow amiga user tells me) have run four Movies on my Amiga AND run Q2 on top, which is what he did on his G4 processor equipped AmigaOne.
Mikey_C is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 13:43   #6
Mikey_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Barnet/London
Age: 52
Posts: 219
@Keropi

It will also run on Classic Amigas with equiped with a PPC processor.
Mikey_C is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 14:00   #7
woody57
Registered User
woody57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Age: 95
Posts: 801
Of course your right Mikey_C which is why I said first impresions

Will your site article be going on to show "under the hood" changes that highlight increased functiionality in other tasks & areas ?

So readers can view the other highly important GUI changes ?
woody57 is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 14:19   #8
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
@Mikey_C
it will run WHEN it is ready... IF it will ever be ready.

Last edited by keropi; 03 November 2005 at 16:02.
keropi is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 15:23   #9
Mikey_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Barnet/London
Age: 52
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody57
So readers can view the other highly important GUI changes ?
My page wasn't meant to be an indepth view, It would also be too biased anyhow. Why not take the review written by ARS Technica? (written before Pre-release Update 3 was released)

Screenshots.
A typical OS3.9 Screenshot that you should be familier with. Please pay attention to how the yam email client looks. then compare that to how simplemail (which is almost identical in looks on OS3.9 to Yam and indeed the same between the two on OS4) looks on one of my screenshots, you saw earlier.

Also, please take a look at these themes that are part of the official AmigaOS4 Pre release and will be bundled along with the final version.

Finally, here's a small article I wrote about my MicroA1, please excuse my photo's, Halloween has just passed
(Note the article above was also written before Pre Release 3, many of the points I made have been addressed/fixed)
Mikey_C is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 18:57   #10
TNG
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
it only runs on A1's...
a new motherboard for the Amiga OS4 is being developed called Amy'05 http://www.troikang.com/

Right now they are even giving away an Amy'05 in a design contest that ends Nov.12, 2005. http://www.troikang.com/about.html

worth a look see.
 
Old 04 November 2005, 00:06   #11
Doc Mindie
In deep Trouble
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Manchester, Made in Norway
Age: 45
Posts: 827
Mikey, you don't happen to have a very soft heart for an unemployed Norwegian living in Mnchester, do you? :P

I WANT this motherboard and OS........
Doc Mindie is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 00:12   #12
Mikey_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Barnet/London
Age: 52
Posts: 219
@Doc Mindle

Oh I do, sadly I just don't have the pockets.

I suggest you enter the troika competition, you have nothing to lose.
Mikey_C is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 00:27   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
But a emulated machine with Amiga SYS 2 could also looks nice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Amiga SYS 2.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	267.1 KB
ID:	9642  
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 01:04   #14
Mikey_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Barnet/London
Age: 52
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
But a emulated machine with Amiga SYS 2 could also looks nice.
Hey a fake rolex looks nice also, but it isn't the real deal
Mikey_C is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 01:13   #15
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
it's a pimped OS 3.9. I can use all essential programms, and with the Jit Compiler on it is faster than hell. But your 0S 4.0 looks really nice too.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 01:23   #16
Mikey_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Barnet/London
Age: 52
Posts: 219
Have a laugh, Emulation comes full circle

EUAE running on OS4
http://amigaworld.net/modules/myalbu...lid=202&full=1
Mikey_C is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 01:36   #17
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
but why? Are the games no more compatible on your OS 4.0 with A1 Board via WHDLoad?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 02:04   #18
Mikey_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Barnet/London
Age: 52
Posts: 219
not if they are banging the hardware. if they are system legal, then they work.
Mikey_C is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 02:17   #19
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 45
Posts: 10,745
nice to hear that, and good that the develope of Amiga OS continues, sloooow, but it goes. How much for the OS & the board?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 09:52   #20
Haakon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 180
Sorry for my ignorance once more .

I love Amiga's, but mostly for sentimental reasons. If i had one today, i probably would mostly use it for playing old games. I have been considiring for a long time to get myself an A1200.

Never really considered A1 with OS4, but i guess that would be a better (and a lot more expensive) choice. BUT: OS4 emulates games. Does the emulating function like WinUae (90% perfection) or is it like the real deal? (100%). Can i just run Kick Off, and it runs like my old A500 or do i individually have to setup each game (like Winuae)?
Haakon is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Coach? XoreX Looking for a game name ? 8 13 January 2013 21:11
Trying to get my head around accelerators... AB Positive New to Emulation or Amiga scene 32 13 June 2009 12:13
Please help this is doing my head in! Exentia Looking for a game name ? 2 19 January 2006 10:23
Head over Heels IFW project.SPS (was CAPS) 15 20 April 2004 11:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36902 seconds with 12 queries