English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 November 2005, 16:38   #101
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Yes i got that error also so i tried the other two SWOS installs but got a gray screen when i tried to play them.
Whitesnake is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 November 2005, 17:13   #102
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
I've just PM jotd......
Perhaps he knows the solution although he don't support jst more.......
Rochabian is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 17:29   #103
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
It would also be great if Psygore created a fix for Worms DC to work on the CD32
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 17:54   #104
lentivector
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Urbino/Italia
Age: 38
Posts: 35
Already tested: blank screen. The installer works fine, the game runs if started by icon on my emulated workbench but resets on emulated cd32 and goes in a blank screen with lowmem or hdload command added in startup. Many colors if you press the left mouse button, good for a trip.
lentivector is offline  
Old 03 November 2005, 19:53   #105
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Does Frostwork know any techniques for freeing up more chip ram?
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 15:51   #106
frostwork
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 152
Hi!

Sorry, no idea!
There are tools like add44k which sometimes might help, but chances are
almost zer0 as the rad doesn't need mem anyways...
I tried much with WormsDC when making the 444/888 but the best result
was getting to the title-screen
Probably only a complete re-write of the slave could fix the prob(?)

cheers
frostwork
frostwork is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 16:06   #107
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
On second approach i did add a little more memory in Winuae to my cd32 setup and Worms DC did work. But i still believe it can work it is just a case of finding ways to free more ram up. The cd32 starts with 1.83 available chip ram and a bare A1200 i believe starts with quite a bit more.
When browsing through the forums i found various articles that can free up to 1.93 chip ram which i think might just do it,
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ghlight=add44k
There is also a program called add36k which adds 21k and a further 36k giving you 57k.
I think if we establish some working startup which frees this amount of ram i think games like swos might also have a chance of working.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 16:46   #108
frostwork
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 152
Hi!

Using add36k & 21k sadly doesn't mean you'll get 57kb more.
They both (&add44k, too) simply reduce f.e. the used colors on screen to
b/w which gives you some kb chip. Alternaively you can start
add44k twice. The prob is, that the rad-device screen anyway only uses
4 colors (?), so you won't get much more mem...


Really not very sure about this, but aren't there some progs in aminet which can "defrag" free mem, so the biggest-memblock will get bigger?
Maybe the combination
--------
add44k
add44k
"defragger"
game
---------
could help with some games, too...

cheers
frostwork
frostwork is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 17:01   #109
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
I'm not aware of any memory defragment tools for chip ram and i can't find any on aminet, but it is clear the extended rom is using up way too much chip ram for my liking
When you start without the extended rom you have 1.92 free, maybe it would be possible to somehow disable the extended rom on a reboot and load a very small compatible cd device and boot. But that would be a long shot and there is no telling what other dependent things would be missing.

EDIT: I did load without the extended rom and ran add36k then loaded worms dc and it worked fine.
It doesn't work with add44k, I think you misread what i typed about add36k. What it does is it frees 36k and 21k, try it.
http://main.aminet.net/util/misc/add36k.lzh

Last edited by Whitesnake; 04 November 2005 at 17:15.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 17:43   #110
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
Just a question Withesnake:
How do you load without the extended rom??????
Are you talking about Winuae or on a real CD32???
If it's on real CD32, what is the command to do this miracle???

BTW it's a very very good direction for this thread: How can we have the maximum of free ram on the CD32 startup!!

Perhaps with all the ideas here we can finally run Capital Punishment wich needs 1.95Mb Chip RAM on CD32

Cya

Last edited by Rochabian; 04 November 2005 at 17:54.
Rochabian is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 18:06   #111
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
You just remove it from Winuae and just load the 3.1 rom and use a windows directory and give it the device name CD0 and label CD0 and you can just loads things within that dir. Yes i think 1.95mb chip ram should be the goal to get, i will not rest until Worms DC is working on the CD32
I'm still trying to find out if there is a way to disable the extended rom on reboot for the cd32. I'm pretty sure a simple application could do this.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 18:13   #112
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
Withesnake, you seems to be crazier than me and frostwork
Glad to see persevering guy!!!!!!

My wish for the CD32 is to run quite all the game that needs 2Mb
Perhaps with some management memory tools like add44k & others it will be possible!!!!!
Rochabian is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 18:26   #113
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
Well i just did something crazy i got worms dc to work but at a cost. I removed all the TWSAMPLES from the directory and the game works on a cd32 but you don't get any worms sound effects.
Although it is a start I did this because i was actually thinking about downsampling the audio and maybe it just might work but i don't know what type if audio file they are and goldwave needs to know before it can open them.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 18:33   #114
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
I was right, you're really crazy
Nice performance!!!!
Good luck for resampling SFX, good idea
Rochabian is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 19:06   #115
woody57
Registered User
woody57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Age: 95
Posts: 801
Once Whitesnake gets his FANGS into something he doesn't let go until he's has mastered it

He may be entering as a "NEW" member but he has been around this board for quite a while, so do not be suprised if his unorthodox approach to issues actually gets results
woody57 is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 19:19   #116
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
If this can help you WhiteSnake, samples of DC seems to be Crunchmania compressed files....
They are IFF-8SVX files

Last edited by Rochabian; 04 November 2005 at 20:01.
Rochabian is offline  
Old 04 November 2005, 21:03   #117
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
Bug report for my CD32 comp:
James Pond 2 don't work, the script just reset the CD32
I'll do an update soon

Cya
Rochabian is offline  
Old 05 November 2005, 05:20   #118
lentivector
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Urbino/Italia
Age: 38
Posts: 35
Dear Rochabian, jump into the zone and do the miracle with swos. I've sended for you two versions. What is the problem that you have noticied with this installer? Are you using an emulated or a real workbench?
Do you know a cli program named joy2key (aminet)? It use the joystick's directional button instead of arrow keys and fire button instead of space for only keyboard games. It's programmable but i need to know the rawkey codes to redefine this settings. Do you know how to get this info?
Do you know another similar program or script.
lentivector is offline  
Old 05 November 2005, 14:11   #119
Rochabian
The Big White Cat
Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 408
Yep!
Just find the program KeysPlease.lha on AMinet
This program will give you all the Rawkey codes you needs!!!
Cya
Rochabian is offline  
Old 05 November 2005, 16:25   #120
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 390
After much eye straining and more sampling i think i have a working version of WormsDC. But after all this i discovered that on a 2mb amiga the game doesn't use the witty audio remark samples either meaning these could be removed also. But i don't want to hazard a guess to what files are usable and what ones aren't. If i could find out what samples the game loads on a 2mb amiga then i might not have to resample anything as the redundant samples wouldn't need to be loaded.
Whitesnake is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMIGA CD32 Games Compilation Toolkit: create your own ultra-fast compilations! lennonlives project.CD32 Conversion 196 14 August 2016 17:24
AMIGA CD32 Games Compilation Toolkit - Need it j_sntos request.Apps 3 23 March 2012 02:08
question about cd32 compilation: accolade games jolly11 Amiga scene 7 31 March 2011 14:50
How to do CD32 games compilation Another World support.Games 9 25 November 2008 05:58
Chuck Rock CD32 & 200 Games Compilation Fingerlickin_B support.Games 0 07 July 2007 15:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30078 seconds with 12 queries