English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 October 2005, 18:44   #1
Sbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal
Age: 47
Posts: 14
Question Atari ST disk images

Hi everyone

I've been trying to create a .st imagefile from my ST disk on PC. Unfortunateley, the image doesn't seem to work.
The thing is that on the ST version, I was using some kind of fastload. It's been 13 years so i can't remember quite well but I know I got rid of the boot sector and file structure. I was pointing loading data directly from sectors on the disk. I also add a custom numer of sectors. I guess it was 10 sectors but couldn't tell for sure. I've tried different possibilities with Makedisk (09, 10 sectors) but still no result. My image on emulator reads the very fisrt data as the screeen goes black but stops after that.
Is anybody could help me with that? Thanks.

Last edited by woody57; 18 October 2005 at 19:02. Reason: post off topic & requiring OWN THREAD
Sbe is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 October 2005, 20:06   #2
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
Yup.

http://www.softpres.org/
IFW is offline  
Old 18 October 2005, 20:52   #3
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
Quote:
Originally Posted by IFW
That would mean posting the disk out and having to wait another month for the ST version.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 18 October 2005, 21:49   #4
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
You can use Pasti but you need access to a real ST

http://pasti.fxatari.com/

I can help if you want. I would post the image out the same day!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 18 October 2005, 21:52   #5
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Another thing I thought of SBE, try booting to a pure DOS mode on the PC to make the .ST image! It will not work on 2000 or XP! You can boot to a DOS Boot disk, then run MAKEDISK and save the file to a FAT/FAT32 partition. That will allow higher tracks to be copied... Let me know if you need help.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 18 October 2005, 22:09   #6
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by FromWithin
That would mean posting the disk out and having to wait another month for the ST version.
How about buying an amiga on the flea market, no posting needed then.
Or sending it to someone in Canada who has one.
IFW is offline  
Old 19 October 2005, 02:00   #7
Sbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal
Age: 47
Posts: 14
Thanks a lot everyone. TJlazer, you are right. I have a friend who has a PC under FAT32. We're going to do what you suggested. If I still get nothing, I could Fedex the disk to you (no 1 month wait FromWithin ;-)
I'll keep posted
Sbe is offline  
Old 19 October 2005, 17:15   #8
Sbe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal
Age: 47
Posts: 14
TJLazer. it works. I'm pleased to say that the ST version will be available soon with the Amiga version thanks to you.
Sbe is offline  
Old 19 October 2005, 23:08   #9
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Great!! Can't wait to play the game on my Atari 1040ST computer...
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 21 October 2005, 10:05   #10
commie1974
Ami Worshipper
commie1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Piraeus-Greece
Age: 43
Posts: 215
Hey, any atari freak out there to find, make, or whatever a really useable ST emulator for AGA amigas? Still searching, I' m about to abandon all hope....
commie1974 is offline  
Old 21 October 2005, 14:23   #11
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer
Great!! Can't wait to play the game on my Atari 1040ST computer...
I cant wait to play the game on my Amiga, then again i cant wait to play it on my 1040ST either.
whiteb is offline  
Old 22 October 2005, 00:44   #12
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
There is no AGA emulator, there are some regular emulators and some for OS 4 PPC too. Sorry.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 07 December 2009, 08:08   #13
jimijamez
 
Posts: n/a
Atari floppies - Help

This is way over my head. I have a simple problem with no simple answers.

I have 6 Atari ST-formatted floppies that have MIDI files on them that I would like to retrieve. Is there any simple way to access these with either PC or Mac ? I have an Atari (a 1040STf), so if there's an option with using it somehow to assist in this, then I can try that too.

I'm thinking of this: Take the MIDI out from my Atari and run it into the MIDI in of my MAC audio interface; Open Garage Band and record the MIDI info that will stream to the MAC. Does that make sense?
 
Old 07 December 2009, 09:11   #14
coze
hastala vista winny vista
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 39
Posts: 1,333
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
http://ppera.07x.net/atari/floimgd.php
coze is offline  
Old 11 June 2010, 10:39   #15
haynor666
retro maniac

haynor666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tarnobrzeg/Poland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,462
Send a message via Skype™ to haynor666
Anyone tried these pasti tools?
haynor666 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.COP Disk images jjsmith support.Apps 25 25 October 2014 17:58
New source for Amiga Disk Images hot trout Amiga scene 50 29 July 2011 00:39
Delta disk images? KillaByte request.UAE Wishlist 3 02 November 2009 23:36
Atari ST Disk Images in WinUAE 1.6.0 AmigaBoingBall request.UAE Wishlist 10 04 June 2009 22:14
Anyone know a good site for disk images? gbgunner New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 22 April 2006 20:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29790 seconds with 11 queries