English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 October 2005, 11:17   #1
Interceptor
Moderator
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 400
Power XL HighDensity Patch

does anybody have the latest version of this they could put in the zone please? later than 1.32.

also, can anybody tell me *exactly* what this patch is doing to the OS? i've never quite understood why its needed.

thanks!
Interceptor is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 October 2005, 14:04   #2
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
I found a disk in my collection and is called Power Xl drive. I'll up it to the zone. Hope that's the one you need.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 06 October 2005, 14:21   #3
Interceptor
Moderator
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 400
that's version 1.31 sadly. but thanks for trying though, it's appreciated!
Interceptor is offline  
Old 06 October 2005, 14:24   #4
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
You are welcome. I also found this info about the Power XL Drive.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 07 October 2005, 00:23   #5
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
I've uploaded a DMS of my Power XL Install Disk to the Zone. When you run the patch it says it's version 1.4 - hope this helps you?

There is some other stuff on the disk too, maybe some docs perhaps? The only useful bit for me is C:\highdensitypatch

It's used to patch something in the OS as the Amiga has trouble writing to the HD disks... it can read them fine without the patch though (I think)
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 07 October 2005, 13:05   #6
Interceptor
Moderator
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 400
cool, thanks. for some reason i didnt get email notification about this thread after the first reply..

anyways attached is a file i found yesterday which stops the console output and fixes it for 68060 processors too.
Attached Files
File Type: zip dc-xl060.zip (20.1 KB, 129 views)
Interceptor is offline  
Old 07 October 2005, 13:59   #7
musashi5150
move.w #$4489,$dff07e
musashi5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolk, UK
Age: 36
Posts: 2,284
You're welcome

When I bought my PowerXL Drive there was also a Power Super XL drive for sale that was supposed to fit around 3MB per disk. Do you know anything about that? Could it be similar to the 2.88MB drives on PC?

I think it's quite rare and I've never seen one for sale on eBay...
musashi5150 is offline  
Old 07 October 2005, 14:09   #8
Interceptor
Moderator
Interceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 400
not heard of one myself. i've contacted power in the hope that they have the info on that the patch actually does. i know it's needed to write disks properly, i'm after more detail than that.

i've not found any decent documentation on the web about it unfortunately. just the odd review.
Interceptor is offline  
Old 07 October 2005, 16:41   #9
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by musashi5150
When I bought my PowerXL Drive there was also a Power Super XL drive for sale that was supposed to fit around 3MB per disk. Do you know anything about that? Could it be similar to the 2.88MB drives on PC?

I think it's quite rare and I've never seen one for sale on eBay...
The Power Super XL was on sale for a very short time (< 3-6 months) after many months of advertising. There were lots and lots of problems with it (many were probably returned as faulty or defective), so it was withdrawn from sale altogether.
DrBong is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 with CF card - safe to just power off at power brick? kernoman support.Other 14 29 August 2009 19:31
A1200 Power tower case with Power supply Floppy drives and cables. paul773car MarketPlace 0 31 May 2009 15:55
three in one? (SCSI Patch,Mac Patch,MapRom) RogerWilco09 support.Apps 0 05 May 2009 16:56
can i use a 1200 power supply to power a 500? boing_1000 support.Hardware 5 16 August 2006 02:34
PIC interesting a1200 m/b power hack: takes power from normal HDD power cable plug! keropi Hardware pics 40 16 July 2006 21:16

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14136 seconds with 12 queries