English Amiga Board   Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 September 2005, 20:35   #1
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 56
Posts: 187
Atapi Cd Rom Drive

Hi chaps,
I have a ATAPI IDE cd rom drive but dont know how to install it as it did not have any software apart from idefix when it arrived.It has a seperate power supply and powers up ok and will eject cd's with no problems.I currently use an external scsi (squirrel) but would like to get this going as a spare or replacement for the scsi (due to noise).Happy miggying
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 September 2005, 20:47   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,656
IDEfix is all you need. Just install it.
thomas is offline  
Old 25 September 2005, 12:11   #3
Seblington
Amiga Nutter
Seblington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Paignton, Devon.
Age: 34
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Seblington Send a message via Skype™ to Seblington
IDE fix is great, if you have any problems finding it give us a shout
Seblington is offline  
Old 25 September 2005, 13:02   #4
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 56
Posts: 187
Ide Cd Rom

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas
IDEfix is all you need. Just install it.
Hi Thomas,
With regard to your advice I checked my IDEFix "Find Device" and have
1,Atapi.device
2,cd.device

The second device gives the following
UNIT=0
UNKNOWN
(no SCSI inquire)

On IDEfix prefs I have used auto-detect to try and get my CD running.I am now stuck! Do I have to mess about with S:startup-sequence or S:User-startup?If so I am at a loss.Any help would be greatly appreciated as I dont know where to go from here.Have a good weekend
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 25 September 2005, 13:11   #5
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 56
Posts: 187
Hooooo IDEfix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seblington
IDE fix is great, if you have any problems finding it give us a shout
Hi Seblington,
I have IDEfix installed (hardware and software) but am at a loss as of how to get the CD drive running.It has a seperate power supply and will open and close manually but I can not make the icon appear on my workbench.Do I have to edit my S:user-startup-sequence or user-startup?

Any help as to how I go about this would be greatly appreciated.I have my fingers cossed and hope you can help.If it's something simple and obvious I will pull my hair out this end and believe me when I say there isn't that much left!
Have a good Sunday
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 25 September 2005, 13:48   #6
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
@Dave_wb
How is your CD drive connected to the Amiga? What Amiga do you have?
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 25 September 2005, 17:42   #7
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 56
Posts: 187
Atapi Cd Rom

Hi Lopos,

I have a 1200 classic to which I have added an internal 2gig hard drive and have connected up a second external hard drive and an iomega zip100.I have a Blizzard 1230 IV Accelerator and a VERY NOISY squirrel scsi connected via the pcmcia slotI have disconnected these before plugging in my IDE CD Rom as I am not sure of the jumpering required (master or slave) etc etc.To power this combination I have replaced the original power supply with an A500.
Hope you find this handy as I dont know what I am doing wrong.
I get as far now as using Playcd within the IDEfix97 drawer and receiving no error messages but the Player tells me have no disc.If I change the settings then I get error messages thrown up.In Playcd tool types I have the device as cd.device and the unit number as 0.aaaaaAAAARRRGGGHHH
Looking on the bright side at least I am not getting worked up....er
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 25 September 2005, 17:49   #8
Seblington
Amiga Nutter
Seblington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Paignton, Devon.
Age: 34
Posts: 187
Send a message via AIM to Seblington Send a message via Skype™ to Seblington
You mention the IDEFix hardware as well? thatís a good thing. As for external power supply, thatís possibly bad as the CDROM will send signals through the IDE cable, they may differ slightly in voltages and you can run the risk of hardware damage (From experience ) also when you install there should have been a program which asked ytou to scan for devises, think its called findCD or somtehing, you want to use the atapi driver for this. If it does not show in that list then make sure the CDROM is on slave where the DH0 is most probably on master (2.5" HDD's are master by default) I would try and run the CDROM from the Amiga as thats a big possiblity, can you solder? if so the voltages you need can be taken from the FDD cable, if not you can find the leads on Ebay
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/IDE-Hard-disk-...QQcmdZViewItem
Seblington is offline  
Old 25 September 2005, 18:40   #9
lopos2000
Zone Friend
lopos2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cider is best In The West
Posts: 1,238
I always found this website to be very helpful if you have buffered IDE interface.
lopos2000 is offline  
Old 25 September 2005, 22:10   #10
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_wb
Hi Thomas,
With regard to your advice I checked my IDEFix "Find Device" and have
1,Atapi.device
2,cd.device

The second device gives the following
UNIT=0
UNKNOWN
(no SCSI inquire)
cd.device does *not* belong to IDEfix. It probably belongs to the squirrel drivers or to some other weird software package. It won't work with IDEfix.

Both atapi.device and scsi.device should show your new ATAPI CD-ROM drive if it is connected to the internal IDE bus and correctly jumpered and powered.

Also you should *install* IDEfix and not just run some programs from the archive. FindDevice is run during the installation process and as I said, you should be able to find your new drive at this time.
thomas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a ATAPI IDE Drive Dave_wb support.Hardware 6 19 February 2010 20:04
CD Rom Drive Washac support.Hardware 8 09 February 2010 12:03
Slim CD drive with idefix97.....atapi device appears not to be working Smiley support.Hardware 9 28 April 2007 20:03
atapi cd rom connection to speakers Dave_wb support.Hardware 4 22 December 2006 11:33
ATAPI Disk Drive (ZIP/LS120) Drivers? Akira support.Hardware 2 14 July 2002 04:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14657 seconds with 11 queries