English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2005, 12:10   #1
Sid
Registered User
Sid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 85
Arrow Wanted: Blank Formatted Disc for Amiga 500

I am stuck at the moment... I NEED TO PLAY PLAYER MANAGER!!!!

My problem, apart from the addiction, is that I do not have my disks with me (recently moved house), and need a formatted blank disc (double layer would be preferable) ... or something like X-Copy 3 for me to do it.

Can someone send me a blank formatted disc please for the Amiga 500+ /512k+?? (its got the 1meg upgrade)



Cheers,
Sid
Sid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 September 2005, 12:39   #2
Sid
Registered User
Sid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 85
Can anybody help at all please?
Even an original X-Copy3 would be great!
Sid is offline  
Old 21 September 2005, 14:38   #3
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
there is a copy of xcopy for sale on ebay (can't remember the link) it was only 99p when I saw it
BippyM is offline  
Old 21 September 2005, 15:10   #4
Thalion
Amiga Collector

Thalion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 34
Posts: 643
Ehm normally you should just go to the next elctronics stor and buy some disks. Should be easieest way to get some.
Thalion is offline  
Old 21 September 2005, 16:47   #5
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
Tried to format a new disk with the miggy??
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 21 September 2005, 16:50   #6
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thalion
Ehm normally you should just go to the next elctronics stor and buy some disks. Should be easieest way to get some.
3.5" DS-DD disks are now very rare to buy new!

most electronics stores only stock 3.5" DS-HD disks!
BippyM is offline  
Old 21 September 2005, 17:57   #7
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 991
I have seen some DD disks for sale on ebay before, they may still be there. Usually in packs of 10-50 or so.

I have used HD disks with my amiga DD drive without any problems although I hear there are some properties with the HD disks that they should be used only with HD drives to avoid possible data errors. (i.e. don't use for important data you don't want to lose unless you have a HD drive)
Calgor is offline  
Old 22 September 2005, 12:27   #8
Phiber
Hardware Freak
Phiber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 222
Send a message via MSN to Phiber
The use of High Density disks with lower-end amigas is not recommended at all.. Even when you are able to format them 720K (Use a piece of tape in the hole) they are extremely unreliable.. Later model A1200's and A4000 were factory-installed with HD-drives, but lower-end models used DD-drives and the mechanics just isn't up to par with higher density disks..
Phiber is offline  
Old 22 September 2005, 12:38   #9
Sid
Registered User
Sid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 85
I have nothing to format the disk ... no X-Copy 3 or anything like that.

I have been using a BBC HD disk as my Player Manager Data Sisk, and it now has File Error... what you said above about DD could explain why! (thanks for the info).

There are no computer shops around me that sell DD disks ... plus I need to format it.
Anybody got a "X-Copy 3" ... thats the best one .... or "X-Copy 2" ... that had a disk doctor on it!!!
Sid is offline  
Old 22 September 2005, 14:57   #10
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Uhmm.. find workbench or similar.. that hasd the magic FORMAT command!
BippyM is offline  
Old 22 September 2005, 15:56   #11
onedevotee75
Registered User
onedevotee75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 46
Also in aminet you find many disk formatting tools
onedevotee75 is offline  
Old 22 September 2005, 16:30   #12
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
Mmm. I'm using a lot of hd disks nowadays with my a500 and all of them work perfect!!!. All games i put on these disks work well. Today 720k DD disks are no longer selled, so the only option is HD disks.
I repeat that i'm using those disks with 880k format on my a500 without problem. Even ndos disks work perfect!.
Hope this helps.
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 22 September 2005, 17:12   #13
Sid
Registered User
Sid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
Uhmm.. find workbench or similar.. that hasd the magic FORMAT command!
I don't have any other disks... just a few games.

(I don't know where all my collection is... moved house!)
Sid is offline  
Old 23 September 2005, 15:35   #14
commodoreamiga
 
Posts: n/a
i will
 
Old 30 September 2005, 14:13   #15
r6stu
Registered User
r6stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southampton
Age: 37
Posts: 101
HI, Ive got DD Discs (new) and X-Copy pro im selling if you are intrested!
r6stu is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with amiga 500+600 disc drives psygnosis Amiga scene 10 27 November 2017 04:40
Blank Formatted ADF save disk hiredgun support.OtherUAE 22 22 January 2015 13:44
Wanted: Amiga 2000HD floppy disc blanking plate davideo MarketPlace 1 28 March 2008 14:25
Converting an amiga formatted disc Deus New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 27 January 2007 21:05
pc .adf to real amiga 500 disc fickel New to Emulation or Amiga scene 23 02 February 2006 17:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28700 seconds with 11 queries