English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 August 2005, 10:06   #1
johndoe3500
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Amiga 600 Kickstart 37.299 to 37.300??

Hi!

I have been told that for me to enable a harddrive I will need to upgrade my rom to 37.300???

Is this true??

As i have prepaired a HDD for Winuae using kickstart 37.299 and have install workbench and it works great! but as soon as i put it in the A600 it can not see it?

Thanks for all of your support!! I hope to give some back!!

Thanks!
 
Old 18 August 2005, 10:16   #2
MrZammler
Zone Friend
MrZammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Crete
Age: 44
Posts: 191
Yes. Early A600 kickstart revisions did not have or had a problematic IDE driver (could not boot from it), plus no pcmcia driver too. A safe bet is 37.350, but 37.300 can also use and boot from IDE hard disks (some report that it can only use limited capacity, but mine seems to cope with a 2G disk).
MrZammler is offline  
Old 18 August 2005, 10:39   #3
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,353
WinUAE uses its own HDD driver, so it works for every Kickstart, even 1.3. On the A600 the HDD driver from the Kickstart is used and 37.299 does not have such.

Here are some more information about the different Kickstart revisions: http://www.gregdonner.org/workbench/wb_205.html

Following these information, you should skip 37.300 and go for 37.350. IMHO, if you start changing Kickstart chips you should jump to 3.1 (40.63) at once.
thomas is offline  
Old 18 August 2005, 11:25   #4
johndoe3500
 
Posts: n/a
Many thanks all, fi anyone has a ROM 37.350 drop me a line!!

Thanks!
 
Old 19 August 2005, 07:31   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 41
Posts: 8,698
If you can't find one, just go for 3.1 all the way - those are still available "new".
Jope is offline  
Old 19 August 2005, 10:50   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,738
If you are going to get a new kickstart, may as well get 40.63 (A600 KS3.1)
alexh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 600 and kickstart 1.3 SS454 support.Hardware 14 16 November 2016 02:01
WTB: Kickstart 3.1 for Amiga 600 CritAnime MarketPlace 4 02 November 2011 18:57
Amiga 600 Kickstart ?? janikosk support.Hardware 3 08 October 2011 15:47
WTB: Amiga 600 Kickstart CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 13 25 July 2009 00:32
WIll Harddisks work with Kickstart 37.299 ? Dr.Doom support.Hardware 8 30 November 2002 20:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07224 seconds with 12 queries