English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 August 2005, 23:18   #1
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Aminet

Has anyone got a working url for aminet/amiga The one I used to use http://uk.aminet.net/~aminet/ seems to have vanished.
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 August 2005, 23:20   #2
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
http://www.aminet.net/

It's got a nice new frontend these days too.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 10 August 2005, 23:22   #3
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
But what's wrong with the search function? I want to use 'simple search' but it always throws "advanced search" results in front of me....
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 10 August 2005, 23:34   #4
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
thanx for the Url.
Arnie is offline  
Old 10 August 2005, 23:38   #5
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
New Aminet - perfect example of "if it ain't broke, slap a half-baked UI onto it to make it look like a third-rate Linux package repository".
ant512 is offline  
Old 11 August 2005, 10:05   #6
adolescent
Powered by Motorola

 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,064
Well, the new Aminet isn't really official. It's more of a take over since Urban and the other old ops are MIA. Once the main US mirror went down all mirroring stopped, and AFAIK still hasn't resumed.

But, it's nice to see that at least a handfull of sites are up to date, and recieving new files.
adolescent is offline  
Old 11 August 2005, 11:56   #7
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,047
How do you upload to it ?

do you need to include archivename.readme in the archive ?!

or does some one else create a readme file for it ?
redblade is offline  
Old 11 August 2005, 15:34   #8
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
If it works the same way as it used to, you FTP to the Aminet server, navigate to the correct directory (uploads, or pub, or something), then upload your files as LHA archives. You should upload a readme file for every archive you upload, following the standard readme structure. This used to be documented on the old site; it should be on the new site somewhere.
ant512 is offline  
Old 12 August 2005, 04:40   #9
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,047
thanks. Yeah I tried looking for the details on how to upload. Couldn't really find anything, just how to search/get files by gopher / email.
redblade is offline  
Old 13 August 2005, 00:09   #10
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
http://www.aminet.net/help.php#Uploading
RetroMan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brain Killer Aminet links changed (and a question about Aminet links) Korodny HOL data problems 0 26 November 2009 22:21
Aminet 2 OverDose request.Other 11 28 July 2009 01:57
Aminet down yet again Graham Humphrey Amiga scene 4 20 January 2007 16:59
Aminet down? DDNI Amiga scene 2 20 November 2006 17:41
Aminet Jim Amiga scene 6 20 September 2002 11:11

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14232 seconds with 11 queries