English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 July 2005, 15:16   #1
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
Floppy disk Is there a linux distro for use with a bppc?

As title, is there any linux distro for ppc amigas? like my system? does it worth the effort?
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 July 2005, 16:41   #2
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Here's Debian to try out: http://cdimage.debian.org/debian-cd/3.1_r0a/
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 28 July 2005, 20:02   #3
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
is it a current release, or an ancient one?
keropi is offline  
Old 28 July 2005, 20:13   #4
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
It should be the beta drawer, it reads:
08-Jun-2005 14:52

So i think a pretty recent release
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 28 July 2005, 20:31   #5
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
have u tried it bamiga2002? does it support zorro cards (piccoloSD64) I am on 56k and I must download it elsewhere, I don't want to go in that hassle for nothing
keropi is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 07:10   #6
DrBong
HOL / AMR Team Member

DrBong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,189
There is the Linux APUS project that is dedicated to 68K/PPC Amigas, but sadly it hasn't been updated in quite some time. Not sure how easy it would be to install an up-to-date Linux distro like Debian. Hopefully Bamiga2002 can give us an opinion on this as I'd be interested to know too.

Last edited by DrBong; 29 July 2005 at 07:18.
DrBong is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 07:18   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
One other q: does it have kde or gnome?
keropi is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 07:32   #8
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I haven't tried out Debian and don't know if there's KDE or Gnome for Amiga (i don't think so). If there was a forum or smthng you could query your answers from. Try googling.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 08:10   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
come to thing of it, if there was kde/gnome for the ppc amiga, every ppc user would have installed it and use browsers/ftp progs/staroffice/etc... so I guess that there is not a chance that they exist for amiga... too bad...
keropi is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 11:30   #10
MrZammler
Zone Friend
MrZammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Crete
Age: 40
Posts: 191
There is nothing stoping you from using KDE on your Amiga (even mozilla, etc). And I think on PPC they should be quite usable.

As soon as you have linux/BSD installed, then it's just a matter of a simple (although long) compile. I do remember that there even where kde binary packages for NetBSD/68k.

Anyway, I use Blackbox, xchat and Dillo on mine (NetBSD/060) for their speed (although I tried Windowmaker once)
MrZammler is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 11:41   #11
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
ah, so I can have kde on the bppc
does the amiga boot from CD? and u install a partition manager, like on pc to choose what to boot?
keropi is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 13:50   #12
MrZammler
Zone Friend
MrZammler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Crete
Age: 40
Posts: 191
Nope. You basically either leave the installation disk on a cd-rom connected to an interface that linux supports, or in a partition (copy the files).

Then you need an amigaos program that boots and runs a kernel. This is also the way to boot linux once installed (through AmigaOS). It's been a while since I messed with linux on my A1200. NetBSD on the other hand, boots from an RDB partition (just like AOS). (You can have a dual-boot machine this way, by selecting which partition to boot from the early startup-sequence).
MrZammler is offline  
Old 29 July 2005, 14:15   #13
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
as we say here in Ioannina: kla'i'n-ma'i'n kai arxidia online .... LOL
keropi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux distro for emulation Leandro Jardim Retrogaming General Discussion 4 30 April 2014 16:47
Porting to Tiny Core Linux and Puppy Linux lorenzos support.FS-UAE 1 05 January 2013 16:13
xamiga-like distro & p-uae amiga_user support.OtherUAE 2 04 May 2011 22:48
Give VmwAROS a go (the first AROS distro) amiga News 2 13 March 2009 18:08
Swap: My BPPC 240/060 + SCSI For A BPPC 240/060 + Money or Blizzardvision CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 8 11 September 2006 06:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33784 seconds with 11 queries