English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 July 2005, 03:42   #1
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
SNES9x -real- requirements

I've just tried the Amiga port of Snes9x with Super Mario World. I thought it wasn't working because nothing came up on the screen. I left it for a few minutes and then the Nintendo logo crept up. I kinda figured my 030 50 wasn't up to the job, but I was hoping it would be a little quicker than that lol.

So what are the real minimum requirements for it? An 060 66?
Shrub is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 July 2005, 12:51   #2
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
WarpSnes and 200MHz+ PPC for AGA, less if you have a gfx card
alexh is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 15:05   #3
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
All I can say to that is "ouch".

I gather this has been asked now and again, but how come there aren't any fast Megadrive emulators for 680X0 Amigas? Most of the commands in the 68000 are present in the 68020 and upwards and surely it won't require much CPU to emulate the missing commands, should it? And the Z80 or 81 or whatever the Megadrive uses for sound can be dummied, can't it, or are Megadrive games dependent on that chip to work?

Last edited by Shrub; 24 July 2005 at 15:11.
Shrub is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 16:51   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
lol, guys there are times Snes9x has issues on my old 1Ghz Athlon Argon 512MB ram with 64MB Gfx!!!!! (mind you that DVD of game si have for it is awsome now that its running direct from nextwork drives... *ahem*)

emu on a native amiga.... totaly cool idea... but i fear for its quality.........
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 17:13   #5
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
Snes9x on the PC is mostly coded in C for compatibility isn't it?

I managed to get ZSNESw working at just about full speed on my old K6-500 machine. The DOS version was much quicker, but I had no sound coming out of it.

by native do you mean amigas without accelerators? Just about all of the 8bit console emulators I've had over the years run at full speed on my machine, even Wzonka-Lad ran at full speed on fast and inaccurate settings.
Shrub is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 17:19   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
The lack of development of emulators on the Amiga I feel is mainly due to the fact that most Amiga owners also have a PC or Mac or X-box etc. all of which have good speed emulators for other consoles already.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 17:27   #7
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
I always feel a bit guilty running emulators on my PC. All the electricity being consumed to run some piddly SNES game lol
Shrub is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 17:45   #8
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
I'm about to give up emulating SNES, Megadrive etc. or using MAME on Amiga. It's just too slow and PC has better eumlators anyway. But i'll still emulate C-64 because i like MagiC64 .
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 18:06   #9
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
ZSNESw and Gens+ are excellent emulators. Gens+ plays all the pre-Saturn Sega console games.

Zophar's Domain is probably the best place to go for emulators if anyone's interested.
Shrub is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 23:09   #10
plasmatron
Zone Friend
plasmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamiga2002
I'm about to give up emulating SNES, Megadrive etc. or using MAME on Amiga. It's just too slow and PC has better eumlators anyway. But i'll still emulate C-64 because i like MagiC64 .
Agreed. I`m a registered user of MAGIC64 for years. But since that there is only support for the games with a standart kernal loader, it`s useless for me.
When you try to run a game with a iffl or other fast loaders inside , you have no chance with MAGIC64. Because it has no support for such things.

Also the SID emulation is very slow in some parts. Even on my 060 / 64MB.
Also digi speech and samples will not work on it.

Magic64 uses the playsid library for the SID emulation. The playsid lib is fantastic. But combined with the emulator, it has some really nasty slowdowns sometimes.

But Magic64 is still the best C64 emulator for the classic AMIGA for ages now.
And I think that there will be no other new c64 emu for the classic AMIGA.

Michael Kramer the developer, had stoped working for it years ago.

The number one c64 emu for me is of course CCS64.

Last edited by plasmatron; 24 July 2005 at 23:14.
plasmatron is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 23:12   #11
plasmatron
Zone Friend
plasmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrub
ZSNESw and Gens+ are excellent emulators. Gens+ plays all the pre-Saturn Sega console games.

Zophar's Domain is probably the best place to go for emulators if anyone's interested.
Zophar`s Domain was my number one emulation source on the net for years.
But there are no new updates for a long long time now.

So I`ve changed to other sites around.

The best for me is elation.net. it is a german site.
plasmatron is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 23:37   #12
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
Zophar's Domain has been slow to update for the past few months come to look at it.

I can't find elation.net. I've found emu-elation.6x.to and emu-elation.zapto.org but neither seem to work.
Shrub is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 01:47   #13
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 37
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrub
All I can say to that is "ouch".

I gather this has been asked now and again, but how come there aren't any fast Megadrive emulators for 680X0 Amigas? Most of the commands in the 68000 are present in the 68020 and upwards and surely it won't require much CPU to emulate the missing commands, should it? And the Z80 or 81 or whatever the Megadrive uses for sound can be dummied, can't it, or are Megadrive games dependent on that chip to work?
It's not the CPU that's the bottleneck - it would be emulation of a tile-based video chip that can display 64 independent colors at once without raster routines, with several different layers of tiles (I believe four), and a shadow/highlight mode (of which the Amiga could only handle the shadow in hardware, with EHB).. OCS and ECS wouldn't be sufficient, and AGA would be slow as hell, especially given the planar nature of Amiga graphics, versus the semi-chunky Genesis graphics (each nybble contains one color index).
LocalH is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 02:44   #14
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
Would the Graffiti be any good for this? Not that many would buy it just for emulation anyway.
Shrub is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 11:33   #15
StarEye
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 985
PC is the EmulatOR, Amiga is the emulatED.

No question about that. I don't think the Amiga have any emulators for any machine that's even remotely as close to perfection as on the PC. If you want to emulate, you get a PC. Or an Xbox even. Not an amiga. Amiga is for Amiga.
StarEye is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 11:47   #16
EmuChicken
Senior Member
EmuChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Nagoya, Japan (moved!)
Age: 34
Posts: 719
On my uber old pc the snes emu worked fine until .. it hit stuff like mode7, and that was a 166mmx thingy... on the other hand for a megadrive emu (kgen at the time), you only really needed a system like a 90mhz thing, maybe even just 60mhz, unsure :-s Dunno the equivalent really on Amiga tho :S

Maybe there's a way of making a small screen (like you can do with doom) to speed up the process? .. I dunno
EmuChicken is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 12:29   #17
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I remember I played MD games on my 486/66 + CL5428 VESA VGA and most of them run @ 50FPS using Genecyst...
keropi is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 15:40   #18
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
Genecyst was fantastic. If someone wrote an x86 PC emulator for the Megadrive then Genecyst would run at full speed on that emulator
Shrub is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 21:00   #19
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
remember nesticle? that was great too! oh, how I miss BloodLust software...
keropi is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 22:46   #20
plasmatron
Zone Friend
plasmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarEye
PC is the EmulatOR, Amiga is the emulatED.

No question about that. I don't think the Amiga have any emulators for any machine that's even remotely as close to perfection as on the PC. If you want to emulate, you get a PC. Or an Xbox even. Not an amiga. Amiga is for Amiga.

Try the NES emu CoolNES on a 1200 / 060. It runs perfectly.
The best emu on the Amiga.
plasmatron is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KGLoad Requirements killergorilla project.KGLoad 32 06 May 2010 09:55
System Requirements Escordian HOL suggestions and feedback 5 18 January 2010 11:11
Snes9X 1.52 - new version released Zandig Retrogaming General Discussion 5 16 January 2010 21:24
snes9x no sound ? turrican3 Retrogaming General Discussion 5 20 October 2007 05:49
SNES9x for the Mac dreamkatcha Retrogaming General Discussion 5 25 December 2004 13:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35430 seconds with 11 queries