English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 July 2005, 10:30   #21
ant512
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrub
Actually, how can it be 2.3 times faster than an average A1200 when it's using the same CPU - does it mean with the optional 68030 or is it using a more efficient version of the AGA chipset?
It comes with fast RAM, the addition of which will more or less double the speed of a plain 1200.
ant512 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 July 2005, 23:04   #22
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Nowadays you may be lucky to find an Access on EBay and mostly they go away for 150 Euro
RetroMan is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 11:17   #23
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
As a hardware engineer, I did think of starting an open source Amiga hardware project. Re-creating the Amiga chips in synthesisable VHDL that could be synthesised into FPGA's.

I got as far as converting the A500 PCB into a VHDL schematic top-level. Created a working 68000 synthesisable core and then gave up.

It's a lot of work and there are not enough hardware engineers interested in this kind of thing.

Although the C64 direct-2-tv thing did make a nice tidy sum of money... but they did have licenses.

Mick Tinker, the Boxer creator was supposed to have created an AGA chipset in VHDL for FPGA's for the Boxer, making improvements towards AAA. However I doubt that work will ever become available... which is a great loss... so many man hours
hmm any chance of you being able to use your designing skills to design some new amiga hardware if 1000 of us got together and put in $1000USD each?!
redblade is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 12:17   #24
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Good luck getting 999 other people to caugh up $1000
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 12:39   #25
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Yeah right. The only viable hardware at this point in time that isnt still being produced would be clones of the Cyberstorm PPC and Blizzard PPC. The designs were complex, expensive, prone to breaking. This is why Elbox, DCE, Indvidual Computers etc. dont still make them.

I guess we'll have to wait to see if Elbox's Dragon or Shark ever get made.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 15:15   #26
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
Get 200,000 people to cough up $5. I'd pay then, probably.

I'd just like to see the AGP chipset and a 68030 in a multiplecore CPU. Should be easy to make these days, though there's no real incentive to do it.
Shrub is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 17:12   #27
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
There is no incentive period. You say you'd like to see it, but I bet you wouldnt pay for it? People dont half talk rubbish on this board dont they?

There is almost no money to be made from Classic Amiga's today. The most money is made buying and selling "rare" classic parts from eastern europe and selling them to overpaid western europeans / Americans.

Last edited by alexh; 25 July 2005 at 11:22.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 July 2005, 18:17   #28
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
Ofcourse I wouldn't pay for it, it'll end up being priced at a ridiculously high value mostly because there's little demand for it lol. I'd like to see it, yes, but I certainly won't expect it to be made.

There is one of those games-console-in-a-joypad that plugs directly into the TV for Cannon Fodder, Sensblei Soccer and Megalomania, using a Megadirve chipset, IRCC. I don't know if it's entirely legal or whether it's selling well, but if it does sell well there may be a chance some other Amiga ports will be made this way.

Wasn't there one made for Taito games like Rainbow Islands and New Zealand Story?

Last edited by Shrub; 24 July 2005 at 18:23.
Shrub is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 06:28   #29
Computolio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: California
Posts: 174
Is the C64 DTV doing well? If it is, then after a few iterations the people behind it might be willing to do a proper "sequel", and maybe Nick Tinker's design/expertise could be a good starting point for them if he's willing to play along. An Amiga-in-a-joystick done in the style of the DTV would very likey sell pretty well.

This is of course providing that the costs of the licenses won't kill the idea outright. OS 3.1 is (absurdly) not free after more than a decade, and the rights to all of the Psygnosis back-catalog is held by Sony.
Computolio is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 07:12   #30
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
There is no money in making Amiga hardware because most of the user base is using an EMU on a x86 PC. If there was no emulation going on then hardware would be profitable to clone. That and there is still enough real hardware out there for the diehards anyway.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 10:48   #31
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
There is almost no money to be made from Classic Amiga's today. The most money is made buying and selling "rare" classic parts from eastern europe and selling them to overpaid western europe / America.
I wonder what you mean
Methanoid is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 11:23   #32
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,048
hmm couldn't you like design and manufacture the boards, and then we just buy the motorola chips and the ram simms seperately, or would that still be way TOO expensive.
redblade is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 11:24   #33
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
There is no money making a 16-bit Direct2TV system really due to the size of the games (~1mbyte). The base system would end up costing too much.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 11:40   #34
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,048
damn oh well, I'll do the 'i'll wait for some amiga owner to win lotto and spend it on making new amiga hardware' .
redblade is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 19:17   #35
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade
hmm couldn't you like design and manufacture the [remakes of Cyberstorm / Blizzard] boards, and then we just buy the motorola chips and the ram simms seperately, or would that still be way TOO expensive.
The boards were very complicated, required a lot of testing, and as people know often suffered from manufacture flaws due to the way the 680x0 socket is soldered. If DCE thought it non-profitable (and they are a PCB design plant) then it's non-profitable in any way shape or form.

It's a shame because I've just found a regular supply of 100MHz capable MC68060RC50 (Full ones with MMU + FPU Rev.6 Mask 71E41J ).

Last edited by alexh; 25 July 2005 at 19:38.
alexh is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 20:55   #36
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
wow.... a 100mhz 060... that would be nice... VERY nice....
Can I put one on my dce bppc?
keropi is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 21:34   #37
girv
Reticulator of Splines
girv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 920
Send a message via ICQ to girv Send a message via AIM to girv Send a message via MSN to girv Send a message via Yahoo to girv
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
It's a shame because I've just found a regular supply of 100MHz capable MC68060RC50 (Full ones with MMU + FPU Rev.6 Mask 71E41J ).
Nice, I searched for those for a while but after dreaming briefly of a 100Mhz Blizzard 1260 I started to wonder if the rest of the accelerator board / RAM / machine be capable of 100Mhz?
girv is offline  
Old 25 July 2005, 21:49   #38
Computolio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: California
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh
There is no money making a 16-bit Direct2TV system really due to the size of the games (~1mbyte). The base system would end up costing too much.
Don't write it off so quickly- mask ROM/flash RAM in sizes around 32 megs is pretty damn cheap, and that would be adequate for maybe 4 or 5 games. I'd worry more about the FPGA space needed to stick a full-on 1200(or even 500) in there. Given the massive production runs something like this would go through, the end price would be (at worst) not much more than doubled.

The key to producing new Amiga hardware is to treat it like a games machine and use as few modern components as possible- after all, 99% of the games out there really don't need an 060 or modern RAM or PCI slots. If cloning a Genesis has been done and done cheaply, then cloning an Amiga can't be far behind.
Computolio is offline  
Old 26 July 2005, 10:24   #39
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Indeed and seeing how much fun "hackers" have had with the C64DTV making it into a real computer imagin how much fun we could have with an Amiga version....
Methanoid is offline  
Old 26 July 2005, 11:01   #40
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Computolio
Don't write it off so quickly- mask ROM/flash RAM in sizes around 32 megs is pretty damn cheap
It would have to come with all the games already pre-loaded, license paid etc. If you made it so that you could load any game, it would just be a matter of time before someone sued you for breach of the DMCA or similar. i.e. it would have to have no CF ports etc.

Quote:
If cloning a Genesis has been done and done cheaply, then cloning an Amiga can't be far behind.
I think the Genesis clone was done using a software emulator and a SoC chip designed for something else.
alexh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 03:48
Catweasel MK4+ PCI Card jasonver2.0 support.Hardware 2 02 April 2010 00:00
WANTED: Amiga Network Card (NOT PCMCIA pr PCI) Interceptor MarketPlace 10 30 May 2008 18:29
Voodoo 3 3000 PCI Card Misha support.Hardware 14 10 January 2008 12:32
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34246 seconds with 11 queries