English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 July 2005, 17:22   #1
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
Amiga on a PCI card

Did this ever get released?

I remember seeing an 68040 based Amiga chipset on a PCI card a few years back. Is the card available, and is it being sold at a decent price?
Shrub is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 July 2005, 17:40   #2
DJBase
Amiga is my Religion

DJBase's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 473
No, was never available.
DJBase is offline  
Old 19 July 2005, 18:00   #3
amigauser
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 70
Posts: 60
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrub
Did this ever get released?

I remember seeing an 68040 based Amiga chipset on a PCI card a few years back. Is the card available, and is it being sold at a decent price?
Is this what you were thinking of?

http://amiga.emugaming.com/inside.html
amigauser is offline  
Old 19 July 2005, 19:05   #4
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I wish someone would release an amiga on a pci card, just like those pci/isa industrial pc's... that would rock hard....
keropi is offline  
Old 19 July 2005, 19:34   #5
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigauser
Is this what you were thinking of?

http://amiga.emugaming.com/inside.html
Yep, that's the one. Cheers. Would have been great if it was released back then. Even a 68020 based board would have done nicely if it meant a more reasonable price. I don't suppose it's needed anymore with UAE and all that though, riight?
Shrub is offline  
Old 19 July 2005, 20:30   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
As a hardware engineer, I did think of starting an open source Amiga hardware project. Re-creating the Amiga chips in synthesisable VHDL that could be synthesised into FPGA's.

I got as far as converting the A500 PCB into a VHDL schematic top-level. Created a working 68000 synthesisable core and then gave up.

It's a lot of work and there are not enough hardware engineers interested in this kind of thing.

Although the C64 direct-2-tv thing did make a nice tidy sum of money... but they did have licenses.

Mick Tinker, the Boxer creator was supposed to have created an AGA chipset in VHDL for FPGA's for the Boxer, making improvements towards AAA. However I doubt that work will ever become available... which is a great loss... so many man hours
alexh is offline  
Old 20 July 2005, 08:19   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
I remember reading that also the WALKER motherboard, was a redesigned 1200, but due to redesign, the AGA chipset was 2-3 times faster than the original, and still using the same 020/14 ...
keropi is offline  
Old 20 July 2005, 12:01   #8
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
I dont think that is true. Walker didnt even have an 020

http://www.blachford.info/computer/walker/walker.html

Last edited by alexh; 20 July 2005 at 12:06.
alexh is offline  
Old 20 July 2005, 13:22   #9
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
so it had a 030EC.... now that I remember, the AGA chipset on the walker was on a single chip, hence the speed increase...
keropi is offline  
Old 20 July 2005, 13:38   #10
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
I remember the Walker. It was an ugly machine, almost as ugly as the N64.
Shrub is offline  
Old 20 July 2005, 16:23   #11
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
now that I remember, the AGA chipset on the walker was on a single chip, hence the speed increase...
Not true... take a look at the photos of the motherboard on this page

http://www.blachford.info/computer/w...er_inside.html

You'll see Walker had the STANDARD separate A1200 AGA chips.

Quote:
# GAYLE - 391424-02, AA-GAYLE-R5, (CSG)
# ALICE - 391010-01, 8374-ALICE, AMIGA TECH, (?)
# BUDGIE - 391425-01, BUDGIE REV 0, (VLSI)
# LISA - 391227-01, 1XS6-LISA, (HP)
# PAULA - 391077-01, 8364R7PL, (CSG)
The only *real* thing that had any accelerated Amiga chipset (to my knowledge) was the BoXer2 created by Mick Tinker.

http://amiga.emugaming.com/boxer.html

With the death of Commodore, supplies of AGA chips had dried up and so worrying about the future of his as yet unreleased Amiga Motherboard replacement Mick reversed engineered the AGA chips, at the same time removing some limitations, such as chip RAM and DMA. Of course he couldnt afford "real" chips and it was realised using an expensive FPGA.

Access Innovations (Mick Tinkers company) who created the BoXer also created the Amiga Siamese PCI card that also was never released.

Last edited by alexh; 20 July 2005 at 16:33.
alexh is offline  
Old 20 July 2005, 21:16   #12
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
ah, so it was the boxer.... boxer - walker... I got confused
keropi is offline  
Old 21 July 2005, 00:51   #13
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
When do the patents on the AGA and other chips run out? Once the patents are expired I am sure somebody could make a custom chip with all of them onboard and produce a cheap Amiga on PCI card. Ofcourse by that time nobody would want to buy one unless it was dirt cheap.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 21 July 2005, 09:21   #14
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showha....cgi?HARDID=41
keropi is offline  
Old 21 July 2005, 10:45   #15
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
I exchanged some emails with Mick Tinker. Basically he gave up as the hardware vas virtually done but there was no s/w from Paul Nolan (of Photogenics fame) to do the interface with PC hardware (the card uses the PC's VGA card as a display).

Personally I think it would have been a great piece of kit. But times move on and now with a fast PC and WinUAE you can get 040 speeds so whats the point (OK, 060 maybe).... Maybe if it had a Coldfire and patches like Oxypatcher etc it would be interesting....

Still, if someone made one I'd rather have real hardware rather than emulation inside my PC...
Methanoid is offline  
Old 21 July 2005, 10:52   #16
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
yep, nothing beats the real thing...
keropi is offline  
Old 21 July 2005, 11:06   #17
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
The point would be that you can run anything the real amiga can run without messing with an emulater screen for each app/game

Emulating is fine if you never used the real thing. Have you ever played battlezone in the arcade and then played it on an emulater? Its not the same. if you were not old enough to experience the real thing then you don't have a frame of reference as to what the game as originaly sold was like to know if the emulated version is 100% or not (let alone as fun to play without the original video/controls).
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 21 July 2005, 20:36   #18
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
Another bonus is that you're using less of the PC's resources, so you can have the PC doing something in the background while you're using Amiga software. If the Amiga PCI card had some sort of video output too you'd essentially have a Siemese system
Shrub is offline  
Old 21 July 2005, 21:20   #19
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
How about the Access -> http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showha....cgi?HARDID=39

Not a PCI Card, but it fits well in any PC Tower
RetroMan is offline  
Old 22 July 2005, 02:26   #20
Shrub
Registered User
Shrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Age: 37
Posts: 238
I found the Access (not actually named but it's the a 5.25" slot) mentioned on a forum posted at the end of 2004. The price they were charging for it was $1000 Canadian. That's the most expensive ISA and LAN enabled, stock (almost) A1200 I've seen lol. It looks good, though.

Actually, how can it be 2.3 times faster than an average A1200 when it's using the same CPU - does it mean with the optional 68030 or is it using a more efficient version of the AGA chipset?

Access Home Page
Shrub is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 03:48
Catweasel MK4+ PCI Card jasonver2.0 support.Hardware 2 02 April 2010 00:00
WANTED: Amiga Network Card (NOT PCMCIA pr PCI) Interceptor MarketPlace 10 30 May 2008 18:29
Voodoo 3 3000 PCI Card Misha support.Hardware 14 10 January 2008 12:32
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34265 seconds with 11 queries