English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2005, 16:55   #1
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 59
Posts: 189
Scalos backdrops

Hi everyone,
I have now installed Bloodwych's advanced desktop which uses Scalos.I want to change the workbench from boring grey to having a picture in it's place.I use MagicTV to enable Pal Hi res laced so am limited to 16 colours.However I am having no joy what so ever in accomplishing this.Magic Workbench was straight forward so could someone please point me in the right direction.Yours in hope
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 July 2005, 23:04   #2
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Top left tools menu (where most the settings are located):

http://classicwb.abime.net/classicwe...ures/prefs.png

Select Scalos->Pattern (see above)

Add the picture you want, but be careful - certain picture formats will hurt performance and large ones eat chipram on a standard Amiga. For more info, see the Scalos documentation also available from that tools menu under help.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 02 July 2005, 00:33   #3
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
for the chipram problem on real amiga i recommend to use http://eab.abime.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=7752
To improve performance better convert picture to .iff
Frog is offline  
Old 02 July 2005, 11:04   #4
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 59
Posts: 189
Thanks Bloodwych - you are the man.Does it matter that I will be in high res laced mode or is it simply more important that the iff is up to scratch
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 02 July 2005, 11:23   #5
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
The picture format and size are the most important - resize the picture (and reduce colour depth) to the same dimensions as your screen mode or use a small picture and tile it (like scratches.iff already provided).

Last edited by Bloodwych; 02 July 2005 at 11:33.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 03 July 2005, 16:21   #6
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 59
Posts: 189
Scalos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych
The picture format and size are the most important - resize the picture (and reduce colour depth) to the same dimensions as your screen mode or use a small picture and tile it (like scratches.iff already provided).
Thanks again Bloodwych - you are the man!dave
Dave_wb is offline  
Old 03 July 2005, 16:23   #7
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 59
Posts: 189
Scalos

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frog
for the chipram problem on real amiga i recommend to use http://eab.abime.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=7752
To improve performance better convert picture to .iff
Thanks for the reply and knowledge - Its great having a community that is so keen and accessible - have a great weekDave
Dave_wb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Found: Wall 2] Old breakout game (clone of commercial game, changed nudie backdrops) Skylight Looking for a game name ? 23 09 April 2016 23:58
Good AGA wb backdrops _ThEcRoW request.Other 16 04 December 2015 00:40
Boot Screen and Backdrops rossb project.ClassicWB 1 09 May 2010 19:51
Scalos,what is it ??? leytond support.Apps 32 22 March 2009 22:33
Backdrops error with picasso96 Demiurgo support.WinUAE 3 23 May 2007 15:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20626 seconds with 11 queries