English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 October 2001, 15:24   #1
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Ivan Stewart's Super Off-Road

Hi again,

good things always come in threes, so here's the third one causing problems for a longer time.
This is actually some issue especially for Toni.
If you make this game work, you'll be the first in the whole world of emulators.

I'm talking about Ivan Stewart's Super Off-Road. Everybody has presumedly one and the same crack (PARADOX), either with or without trainer.
What's the problem that WinUAE always stops at track #33?
(if Slow Mem is enabled, it even gurus when accessing #33)

NB: Other (non-PARADOX) cracks wanted too, as far as they exist.

Last edited by andreas; 20 October 2001 at 15:30.
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 20 October 2001, 15:30   #2
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I've managed to make my version run fine on Winfellow.

Here's a snapshot to prove it, I know it hasn't got the title bar, but it's taken from a CD I've put together myself where I tested every single game and took snapshots so I'm fairly sure this screenshot is authentic.

Not quite sure if it's the Paradox crack, but if it was the paradox version which had an animation of a devil and an angel doing...well you know if you've seen it, then it's that version
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3.gif
Views:	142
Size:	13.2 KB
ID:	1069  
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 20 October 2001, 15:31   #3
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Could you upload it?
(please check CRC first!
- untrained PARADOX version: 2510f2f8
- trained PARADOX version: 2af5f1f6)

If your disk matches with the above CRCs, you don't need to upload it.
andreas is offline  
Old 20 October 2001, 15:31   #4
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 36
Posts: 1,763
No problem's here, when it stops on track 33 just press fire (Update: You don't even have to press fire). (Using the Paradox crack with the Angel and no trainer)

Just a normal A500 config does the trick, I used slow-mem when taking the picture and it caused me no problems.

I remember helping someone with this ages ago at AEN, it's been working at least since 0.8.14r*.

It worked on 0.8.8r8 aswell although the screen did move about a lot though making it annoying to play.

Last edited by Ian; 20 October 2001 at 15:41.
Ian is online now  
Old 20 October 2001, 15:36   #5
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Ok I'll upload my version in a sec though I think it's the version so many others have too.

Somehow my CD drive isn't too happy about reading when the other one's burning.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 20 October 2001, 15:38   #6
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
@Ian

IT WORKS! :bounce

Thanks very much for this hint!
BUT:It only works with the untrained version.
But it works!
andreas is offline  
Old 20 October 2001, 15:44   #7
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 36
Posts: 1,763
I have just tested it in all the versions I have (And use) 0.8.17r2, 0.8.14r3 and 0.8.8r9 and it works in all of them.

Can you upload the trainer version to the zone please Andreas, I don't have that version
Ian is online now  
Old 20 October 2001, 15:48   #8
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I just finished uploading my version Andreas, just in case you wanted to try that version, though it seems it works fine with the version you have.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 20 October 2001, 15:53   #9
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
yes, it's the same version (CRC 2510f2f8).
Well, you can save yourself a lot of "uploading trouble" if you check the CRC first! That's why I've posted them here.
If you don't know an easy way, I can tell you about one.

@Ian: YES!
andreas is offline  
Old 20 October 2001, 15:56   #10
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!
Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 36
Posts: 1,763
Thanks Andreas
Ian is online now  
Old 20 October 2001, 15:57   #11
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Now let's see if you can THIS to work
andreas is offline  
Old 20 October 2001, 16:02   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 13,866
This is old known problem, I debugged it about 1.5 years ago..

This game contains some very strange code (self-modifying code, trace mode tricks, etc). This was probably meant to make cracking harder.

Unfortunately game expects 68000 instruction prefetch cache to work slightly differently than UAE's emulation. There are plans to use mame's 68k prefetch code but Bernd haven't tried it yet. (No, I don't want to mess with CPU emulation code..)

It is strange that only the trained version has this code...
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 October 2001, 19:29   #13
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
No, it's NOT strange.
This version is actually a fixed version by Galahad of Fairlight, making it work on the A1200 too (it didn't before).
Look at the text displayed after booting the "untrained" version
andreas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did you like Super Off Road! Here's DRIFT! StarEye Retrogaming General Discussion 3 17 April 2009 01:44
[Found: Ivan ''Ironman'' Stewart's Super Off Road] Looking for game... clintonl Looking for a game name ? 2 19 December 2007 04:23
Super Off Road killergorilla support.Games 14 03 September 2004 01:21
Looking for Super Off Road WHDLoad version fil request.Old Rare Games 9 02 September 2004 20:10
has anyone got a working version of Super Off Road HD? JST maybe? fil request.Old Rare Games 1 02 September 2004 00:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23364 seconds with 12 queries