English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 June 2005, 17:09   #21
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
PSPs cpu can be clocked back to 333MHz. All those people out there using emus have already done that. Sony will also do that in GT4. They will clock the CPU back to 333MHz. As IFW said, Sony underclocked the CPU to extend battery duration. At 333MHz emus run much better, however, several emus are still slow unless you play with FPS settings, transparency and stuff. You may be able to get near Amiga speeds with much fewer FPS and a few other tweaks. Not sure how difficult or easy it is to get an Amiga or Megadrive emulated to PSP, but I think that if speed and framerate is above 85-90%, this is fine by me.

BTW, all those emulators so far are written without the psp sdk. Not sure if developing with the sdk will improve things and if yes by how much.
manicx is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 June 2005, 17:14   #22
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
You are likely to get half or third speed on a well optimised Amiga emulator when the cpu is running at 333mhz.
Genesis emulation with a line based engine (ie not cycle exact) should be able to perform full or half speed on most titles, the graphics susbsytem is much simpler to emulate. Same true for ST.
IFW is offline  
Old 28 June 2005, 17:25   #23
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by manicx
BTW, all those emulators so far are written without the psp sdk. Not sure if developing with the sdk will improve things and if yes by how much.
That is a myth, to prevent legal hassles and keep the masses happy.
Most scene releases are written by either industry workers, or people who have friends within the industry with access to the sdk.
Only a few people really make programs without the sdk, but you won't get very far with that, your stuff will be very shoddy compared to anyone else's.
It is just the untold rule of the scene that if you have the sdk, you say you do not, and if you don't you don't ask for it publicly.
if you don't keep the rules you'll be flamed for being a lamer by all the people who actually do have the sdk.
If they say they have it is just unwanted attention, so everyone is happy with the hypocrisy and outsiders without a clue about software development and the knowledge of how complex any of the recent hardware is fall for it.

After a while - once the core scene members are bored with being l337 - the inner circle releases the sdk they have had access to for months/years.

For the record: the psp sdk is out and no I don't know how to find, where, when etc. - I just say this to comply with the unwritten rules

This is how the console scene works, since the dreamcast days (not counting the hacker scene of mgd and snes which was mostly just profit making via "backups").
IFW is offline  
Old 28 June 2005, 17:44   #24
bloom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: LONDON
Age: 39
Posts: 34
IFW sorry to insult you mate but i doubt you know what you are talking about - sorry !!
bloom is offline  
Old 28 June 2005, 17:49   #25
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
Sure, if you are a scene member I can understand why you say this if you are not I can understand it too - you see everyone's happy
For the others: think. You don't cook without knowing how and programming a 3d system is slightly a bit more complex.
Also google is your friend but for the most this is how far you'll get obtaining the sdk for the psp or anythig else. But does it really matter, if you don't use it for anything anyway?
IFW is offline  
Old 28 June 2005, 18:27   #26
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,613
Bloom, what frameskip did U use on PS2UAE ?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 28 June 2005, 20:14   #27
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,947
Quote:
Originally Posted by manicx
PSPs cpu can be clocked back to 333MHz.
Yeah but the SDRAM controller only ever runs at 166MHz, lots of cache misses and you're soon back to 166MHz with the CPU burning lots of power waiting.
alexh is offline  
Old 28 June 2005, 20:30   #28
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
As far as I am concerned, the Samsung DDR SDRAM is clocked at 333MHz. Also, keep in mind that when the PSP plays MP3s, it does it in 333MHz CPU mode.
manicx is offline  
Old 29 June 2005, 10:01   #29
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,947
http://www.extremetech.com/slideshow...0&po=10,00.asp
alexh is offline  
Old 29 June 2005, 10:34   #30
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Well, this info is kinda outdated. The eDRAM has been upgraded to 8MBs. I think that the gfx and sound cores are clocked to 166MHz but I think the RAM runs at 333MHz.I think a little bit of googling will help (I can't be arse tho).

BTW, thanks IFW for your info regarding sdk.
manicx is offline  
Old 29 June 2005, 15:11   #31
IFW
Moderator
IFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ...
Age: 46
Posts: 1,838
Manicx: have fun
IFW is offline  
Old 01 July 2005, 10:12   #32
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,613
PSPUAE released.... v0.1 and apparently runs 75-80% A500 speed. Not bad for a first release. Info at PS2NFO.com

I might have to get a PSP now.
Methanoid is offline  
Old 01 July 2005, 11:25   #33
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
Jezeez, that was fast eh? 75-80%? If this is with sounnd it is a great number because with some frameskipping and tweaking you'll get playable games.
manicx is offline  
Old 01 July 2005, 11:30   #34
bloom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: LONDON
Age: 39
Posts: 34
No it runs without sound.. speed is like 80% auf an Amiga500 - for a first version without beeing much optimized code its GREAT !!

I just have to add - In your face IFW -
bloom is offline  
Old 01 July 2005, 11:32   #35
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by bloom
I just have to add - In your face IFW -
Keep this thread pleasant please, there have been enough closed threads recently!!
BippyM is offline  
Old 01 July 2005, 11:49   #36
bloom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: LONDON
Age: 39
Posts: 34
That wasnt meant offended... just check my smiley !! Im just happy
bloom is offline  
Old 01 July 2005, 11:56   #37
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by bloom
That wasnt meant offended... just check my smiley !! Im just happy
I know.. just ensuring the thread stays peaceful
BippyM is offline  
Old 01 July 2005, 12:17   #38
bloom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: LONDON
Age: 39
Posts: 34
Quote:
Update:
-v0.2 released with sound and auto framerate support. Games are a bit more playable

-fcorbier
I just watched some old demos, and i am in tears !

Last edited by bloom; 01 July 2005 at 12:22.
bloom is offline  
Old 01 July 2005, 13:17   #39
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
I think that everything that IFW said is true. 75%-80% with no sound? No, thanks. It may not be optimized but don't expect miracles. This is why I asked about the sdk.... I think I'll wait for a port of a Atari ST emu, I think. I bet it can run at same speed with sound.
manicx is offline  
Old 01 July 2005, 13:23   #40
bloom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: LONDON
Age: 39
Posts: 34
you can say what you want, i am pretty sure we will see a running A500 emulation at fullspeed on the PSP..

I still remember the first days of WinUAE when everybody said "No Way there will never be a Amiga Emulation that works" - some month later WinFellow came out and it run more or less fullspeed on my P1-233mhz system or was it my PI-133.

i dont want a fully Amiga emulation on PSP - No need for me to run a Workbench 3.0 with Picasso to surf the net via Aweb.. I am just happy with basic A500 emulation, just to play some good old classics. And i am nearly 100% sure this is possible on PSP. I am very surprised about how great the very FIRST version of this port already runs. I played Rick Dangerous, with sound and it ran nearly "perfect" with a frameskip of 2.

We will see, maybe you guys are right and it never will run at acceptable speed for all games, but atleast someone is trying and i am very glad about that !

Last edited by bloom; 01 July 2005 at 13:34.
bloom is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSPUAE Performance tonyyeb support.OtherUAE 73 27 January 2011 17:45
PSPUAE RPGs Washac support.OtherUAE 1 13 August 2010 19:40
PSPUAE No Go Washac support.OtherUAE 34 24 March 2010 20:32
PSPUAE 0.63 BE Released Hungry Horace News 45 08 February 2008 03:02
PSPUAE 0.52 Released Paul News 0 24 July 2006 13:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31614 seconds with 11 queries