English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 June 2005, 23:13   #1
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 854
PicassoIV

Hi everybody!

I just wanted to know how much do you think it's worth to pay about PicassoIV graphics card. Is it worth about 160 euros if it's full working?
I am considering in buying one and like to know if it's worth the money.
I do know that Picasso4 is famous board.
But does anyone know any problems when using P4 with A4000?
Are there any "bad" revisions of the board to avoid? If so, what is the best revision number of Picasso4 board?
Where can one get expansion modules for the board?
macce2 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 June 2005, 23:17   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
I bought one last week for 80 Euro .... allready got one with Pablo Modul for 100 Euro and hey, I allready considered that "expensive"
RetroMan is offline  
Old 13 June 2005, 23:21   #3
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 854
Retroman, from where did you buy it? If it's fully working then I think it was cheap.
Why did you buy another one?
macce2 is offline  
Old 13 June 2005, 23:23   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
I allready sold the first one, bought it from a guy here in germany, he offered it to me because his A4000 is dead
RetroMan is offline  
Old 13 June 2005, 23:26   #5
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 854
Did you notice the advert about Picasso4+Paloma in the Marketplace, Retroman?
Someone offered over 200 euros
macce2 is offline  
Old 13 June 2005, 23:30   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Well, I would never pay such high prices but hey, itīs their own decision !!!
RetroMan is offline  
Old 13 June 2005, 23:35   #7
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 854
That's right. But do you think the Picasso4 is good..?
macce2 is offline  
Old 13 June 2005, 23:36   #8
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Itīs definitely the best 2D Card on Amiga
RetroMan is offline  
Old 13 June 2005, 23:44   #9
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 854
That's what I have been told of. Maybe you just had very good luck, because you got them with so "little" money, er?
macce2 is offline  
Old 14 June 2005, 01:19   #10
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 854
How much does Picasso4 actually speed up 3d applications? Although it is 2d board, it surely does also make all 3d applications and games run faster?
macce2 is offline  
Old 14 June 2005, 09:30   #11
manicx
Junior Member
manicx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 962
The Picasso IV does not have a 3D accelerator. All 3D games will still depend on the CPU. The only non-ppc based gfx card with 3D acceleration is the CV64/3D but even that sucks big time regarding 3D acceleration (the difference in Decent between a CV64/3D and a CV64 was minimal).
manicx is offline  
Old 14 June 2005, 09:33   #12
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
face the truth: 3D sux big time in amiga.... no matter what hardware u have... playing 3D fps's @ 15-25 fps is lame...
keropi is offline  
Old 14 June 2005, 12:45   #13
macce2
Retro maniac

macce2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 854
I don' t totally agree with you, Keropi. Try Genetic Species, for example
macce2 is offline  
Old 14 June 2005, 13:49   #14
AMIGAZ
Amiga-Mad
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 1,286
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi
face the truth: 3D sux big time in amiga.... no matter what hardware u have... playing 3D fps's @ 15-25 fps is lame...
Quake II is running nice here, haven't checked the FPS but it doesn't feel like 25fps.
I guess the Blizz PPC boards are slower than the Cyberstom PPC boards, and I use the DMA UW-SCSI controller which doesn't load down my CPU when my HD is accessed
AMIGAZ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PicassoIV scandoubler configuration ajk support.Hardware 22 22 November 2016 16:46
broken PicassoIV? orange support.Hardware 19 04 April 2013 00:24
CSPPC and PicassoIV problem mfilos support.Hardware 13 05 November 2012 19:32
PicassoIV with faulty flickerfixer? kasio support.Hardware 6 18 February 2011 15:03
FS: PicassoIV revision 2.1 mabus MarketPlace 5 24 August 2007 13:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18453 seconds with 11 queries