English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 June 2005, 19:38   #1
witchmaster
 
Posts: n/a
CrossDOS (again)

Hi,
I'm trying to use crossdos to transfer some files to my a1200 but I always receive disk read errors, have tried a few disks but always the same. I'm using Wb3.0. I get a message of read errors and "block not found". I can dir the files on the disks but not read them. What seems to be the problem here? Thanks in advance.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 June 2005, 19:56   #2
witchmaster
 
Posts: n/a
Ok, It seemed to be that the external disk drive couldn't read the disks but the internal could. May this be because of dirty heads? It reads amiga disks just fine.

EDIT: Looks like I was just lucky and got one file transfered. So question stands, how come crossdos is so unreliable for me?

Last edited by witchmaster; 08 June 2005 at 20:44.
 
Old 08 June 2005, 21:20   #3
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 37
Posts: 657
Try formatting the disks on the Amiga if you used the PC before, or vice versa.
TikTok is offline  
Old 08 June 2005, 21:33   #4
witchmaster
 
Posts: n/a
I can't format the disks on my amiga, I always receive an error at some block. I can format those disks normally on amiga though.
 
Old 08 June 2005, 23:04   #5
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 37
Posts: 657
That is interesting. Is the bad block always the same number or is it random?
TikTok is offline  
Old 08 June 2005, 23:15   #6
witchmaster
 
Posts: n/a
When I tested a few disks now in the external drive the error always came at cylinder 69.
 
Old 09 June 2005, 00:43   #7
astuermer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austria
Age: 39
Posts: 101
Send a message via ICQ to astuermer Send a message via MSN to astuermer
You´re sure you are using DD formatted disks?
Got the same errors years ago, when using a HD disk in the Amiga´s floppy.
astuermer is offline  
Old 09 June 2005, 10:20   #8
witchmaster
 
Posts: n/a
I'm using DD disks, yes, and its no problem formatting the same disk with amigados, but not with crossdos.

This works with the same disk and drive:
format drive df1: name ami
while this gives cylinder errors:
format drive pc1: name ami
 
Old 10 June 2005, 21:09   #9
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 5,858
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Quote:
Originally Posted by witchmaster
When I tested a few disks now in the external drive the error always came at cylinder 69.
Looks there is some dirt or dust at this position. Remember the blade-like thing that reads the disk is STATIC and - afaik - does not move around.

Do clean this thing (Q tips and a little bit (!) of isopropanol solution did the trick; just imagine the cleaning of cassette heads ). Yes, I know that it's extremely annoying as it's a lot of dismantling and fiddling, but yet, I am happy I went through it with my A1000 internal drive.
andreas is offline  
Old 11 June 2005, 00:38   #10
TikTok
Registered User

TikTok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malayasia
Age: 37
Posts: 657
Yep, definitely a dirt issue. Just good luck that the Amiga disks formatted OK I think.
TikTok is offline  
Old 11 June 2005, 15:11   #11
falconfx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 36
I used CrossDOS to transfer files Amiga<-->PC some years ago and had some problems with it. Now I use the parallel-port link, though. It's very fast (45-50 kb/s ). Returning to your problem, I suggest you to try some PC floppies (1.44MB) on the amiga: insert one in the internal drive (but it should also work with external ones) and format the PC0: drive. Now the floppy should work on both platforms.

Remember to install the appropriate driver in the Sysevs/DOSDrivers directory.

Hope this will help you.
falconfx is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have CrossDOS? mancity support.Apps 28 02 January 2013 22:25
CrossDos omnigate support.Apps 2 07 August 2011 23:35
CrossDOS 7 Graham Humphrey request.Apps 5 20 May 2006 18:57
CrossDos Stigodump New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 22 July 2005 08:04
CrossDOS mikni support.Apps 4 03 September 2001 11:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14873 seconds with 11 queries