English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 October 2001, 01:29   #1
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Smile Pinball Dreams for Atari Falcon 030

http://www.fatal-design.com/pinball/

Now all we need is an Atari Falcon emulator.... Any ideas?
MethodGit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 October 2001, 02:06   #2
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Re: Pinball Dreams for Atari Falcon 030

Quote:
Originally posted by MarzAttakz
Now all we need is an Atari Falcon emulator.... Any ideas?
Sorry Marz, your out of luck, no Falcon emulator is even planned let alone ready to use AFAIK

Anyway it woun't be any better than the CD32/A1200 version anyway

I did see a Falcon for sale on Ebay a while back ............. For $500 and that was at the start of the auction:eek


Moved to General discussion, nothing really to do with the Amiga Scene Marz

Last edited by Ian; 18 October 2001 at 20:03.
Ian is offline  
Old 18 October 2001, 11:46   #3
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
Re: Re: Pinball Dreams for Atari Falcon 030

Quote:
Originally posted by Ian
Sorry Marz, your out of luck, no Falcon emulator is even planned let alone ready to use AFAIK
Dang. :thumbs_do It can't be that hard to emulate though? If it can do Pinball Dreams in full colour and all that, its hardware must be similar to Amiga or at least a slightly more powerful version of the ST, perhaps?

Quote:
Originally posted by Ian
Anyway it woun't be any better than the CD32/A1200 version anyway
There was a CD32/A1200 version of Dreams? Unless you're getting confused with Fantasies, buddy...

Quote:
Originally posted by Ian
I did see a Falcon for sale on Ebay a while back ............. For $500 and that was at the start of the auction:eek
It must be a very rare beast of a machine then, if someone thought they could sell a machine like that for that much cash.

Quote:
Originally posted by Ian
Moved to General discussion, nothing really to do with the Amiga Scene Marz
Okay, I thought it would fit in Amiga Scene because it was about an Amiga game. But the rule appears to be, if the post is about game conversions, then it fits in General Discussion, I guess.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 18 October 2001, 11:49   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Re: Re: Pinball Dreams for Atari Falcon 030

Quote:
Originally posted by Ian
I did see a Falcon for sale on Ebay a while back ............. For $500 and that was at the start of the auction:eek
Hmm, this neat machine isnīt worth that much any more, Iīve seen several Falcon030 going away at $150 at EBay here in germany .... just some days ago
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 October 2001, 11:55   #5
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Well, at least there is a Projekt for a Falcon-Emu : http://sourceforge.net/projects/falconpowder/

But I doubt itīs real
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 October 2001, 20:02   #6
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Re: Re: Re: Pinball Dreams for Atari Falcon 030

Quote:
Originally posted by MarzAttakz
Okay, I thought it would fit in Amiga Scene because it was about an Amiga game. But the rule appears to be, if the post is about game conversions, then it fits in General Discussion, I guess.
Well I could have put in off-topic, but you know what would happen then :kill

Oh, sorry for not reading your post properly, but I doubt it's better than the A500 version of PD

@ Retroman

It did have an accelerator fitted and the seller was making a really big deal out of it, maybe it was rare

Last edited by Ian; 18 October 2001 at 20:26.
Ian is offline  
Old 21 October 2001, 15:54   #7
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Quote:
Originally posted by RetroMan
Well, at least there is a Projekt for a Falcon-Emu : http://sourceforge.net/projects/falconpowder/

But I doubt itīs real
It is real

It's been started by the same guy that wrote STonX the Atari St emulator
Ian is offline  
Old 21 October 2001, 16:16   #8
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Ian

It is real

It's been started by the same guy that wrote STonX the Atari St emulator
WHOOOOOOOHO
RetroMan is offline  
Old 22 October 2001, 01:10   #9
MethodGit
Junior Member
MethodGit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Streets
Age: 33
Posts: 2,723
JACKPOT!

Hopefully he'll bring the full hardware sound emulation from that top ST emu into this one too.
MethodGit is offline  
Old 22 October 2001, 10:53   #10
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Since I never seen a Falcon in action, I would really like to see that Emu being released and one thing is for sure, if itīs good, I will buy a real Falcon
RetroMan is offline  
Old 05 December 2003, 14:32   #11
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
there's another one on sourceforge. a VM really...

http://aranym.sourceforge.net/

but i guess it must be known by now...
Marcuz is offline  
Old 06 December 2003, 22:02   #12
Puzzle
Registered User
Puzzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 99
Am I the only one here that actually owns a Falcon?

I've played the game in question. It's identical to the Amiga-version.

There aren't that many Falcon-specific games. The machine never took off, as Atari had economic problems at the time, and they were focusing on the Jaguar instead.

Anyway, the Falcon is a nice machine. Loads more powerful than an A1200. Faster processor, better and faster graphics, much better sound, and a built-in SCSI port at the back.
But it is much harder to upgrade than an A1200. Most accelerators require that you solder wires to various spots on the motherboard.
Also, the Falcon has almost no compatibility with the ST when it comes to games. Very few work at all.
Puzzle is offline  
Old 07 December 2003, 00:17   #13
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
Would love to own a Falcon, v expensive tho.

Id like to debate the whole issue of better sound and gfx than the A1200 tho Puzzle. And even the CPU wasnt that far ahead. And it had only 1MB Ram...
Antiriad is offline  
Old 07 December 2003, 07:54   #14
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
I wouldnt mind on either, but not at what they currently go for on ebay; especially since there are few games for it.

It would be smarter for me to get a STE to replace my STf since I can jam more memory into it cheaply and its in stereo.
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 07 December 2003, 18:50   #15
Puzzle
Registered User
Puzzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally posted by Antiriad
Would love to own a Falcon, v expensive tho.

Id like to debate the whole issue of better sound and gfx than the A1200 tho Puzzle. And even the CPU wasnt that far ahead. And it had only 1MB Ram...
The sound and graphics is better than the A1200. Believe me, I own both machines.

However, there are very few games and demos that take advantage of it. But some applications do.

The graphics on the Falcon is a bit faster than the A1200. This is very noticeable in screenmodes with 256-colours. And the Falcon has true CD-quality sound (16 bit, 44KHz), unlike the A1200. And it has SCSI built in.

However, the blitter on the Falcon is not as good as on the A1200. And GEM (compared to Workbench)... well, yuck.

The CPU on the Falcon is not much faster than the one in the A1200. But the difference was quite large back in 1992.

Also, I think the Falcon came with 4MB RAM in it's default configuration.
Mine has 14MB, by the way.
Puzzle is offline  
Old 07 December 2003, 19:56   #16
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 49
Posts: 1,379
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Quote:
Originally posted by Puzzle
The sound and graphics is better than the A1200. Believe me, I own both machines.

However, there are very few games and demos that take advantage of it. But some applications do.

The graphics on the Falcon is a bit faster than the A1200. This is very noticeable in screenmodes with 256-colours. And the Falcon has true CD-quality sound (16 bit, 44KHz), unlike the A1200. And it has SCSI built in.

However, the blitter on the Falcon is not as good as on the A1200. And GEM (compared to Workbench)... well, yuck.

The CPU on the Falcon is not much faster than the one in the A1200. But the difference was quite large back in 1992.

Also, I think the Falcon came with 4MB RAM in it's default configuration.
Mine has 14MB, by the way.
So what do you use the falcon for?
Unknown_K is offline  
Old 08 December 2003, 03:05   #17
Puzzle
Registered User
Puzzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 99
Nothing right now. It's stored at my parents' place. I don't have room for it right now.

It's a nice setup. It has an accelerator that overclocks the 030, an FDI, CD-ROM, and two almost dead SCSI-drives. Plus an internal 120MB IDE-drive.
Puzzle is offline  
Old 08 December 2003, 10:09   #18
SilentBob
Junior Member

SilentBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norway
Age: 42
Posts: 241
I read the Falcon came with 1 Mb as default, at least back in 1992. But hey, I think it was a neat machine back then. It had all the things I wanted Commodore to put in the A1200. 16-bit sound, high-density floppy drive, and RAM expansion on the mainboard.

I've always wanted one of my own to mess around with, too bad they're hard to come by. Found a solitary one on Ebay the other day, but they were asking too much.
SilentBob is offline  
Old 10 December 2003, 18:12   #19
Fred the Fop
flaming faggot
Fred the Fop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Versailles
Age: 49
Posts: 2,802
Quote:
Originally posted by Puzzle
Nothing right now. It's stored at my parents' place. I don't have room for it right now.

It's a nice setup. It has an accelerator that overclocks the 030, an FDI, CD-ROM, and two almost dead SCSI-drives. Plus an internal 120MB IDE-drive.
Quite possible, a useless machine.
Fred the Fop is offline  
Old 10 December 2003, 23:12   #20
Marcuz
Wurk???
Marcuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: .
Age: 41
Posts: 5,185
i wonder if there any copy of Ishar 3 around for Falcon and if so and you have tryied it, if it's better or differente for the AGA version.
Marcuz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinball Dreams & Pinball Fantasies - Special Edition (OCS/ECS) teh HOL contributions 3 23 March 2012 15:39
Pinball Dreaming: Pinball Dreams for the iPhone mfletcher Retrogaming General Discussion 35 12 June 2010 23:44
Ultimate Pinball (Pinball Dreams clone for MS-DOS) s2325 Retrogaming General Discussion 7 17 October 2009 00:26
Replacement floppy for Atari Falcon 030 keropi Retrogaming General Discussion 18 07 March 2008 13:18
Pinball Dreams, Pinball Dreams II, WHDLoadable Hideki request.Old Rare Games 12 10 January 2007 03:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.39457 seconds with 11 queries