English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

View Poll Results: Was your school equipped with an Amiga?
Hell yes! 14 9.52%
Wish it was... 108 73.47%
We didn't have computers back then 25 17.01%
Voters: 147. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 September 2005, 00:40   #61
petza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK / NEWCASTLE
Age: 42
Posts: 230
they had bbc's
i used to be the fastest typer in the class
and i had the highest score on bat n ball
to get access to the games u had to enter a password i tried to guese it i tried ship then car and i got it right on my second try lol,it could have been anything my teacher never believed i guesed it

the bbc's probably cost more than amigas even the spectums were better than bbc's

Last edited by BippyM; 03 September 2005 at 01:47. Reason: posting two 2 posts when quoting in 1 is enough
petza is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 September 2005, 02:13   #62
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 42
Posts: 431
The only time our school was equiped with Amiga's was on the "activities week" at the end of term, when I took mine in All the other poor suckers had to play on Beebs, while I showed off playing Dragons Lair, and blasting remixes of G'n'R out of one of those big wooden tellies they used to have.

Happy days, especially in the Alton Towers trip the same week - I distinctly remember playing APB and not going on any of the rides
Parsec is offline  
Old 03 September 2005, 03:34   #63
andyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 97
We had a pretty decent IT dept which networked the whole school resulting in each classroom having at least 2 BBC model B's.

We had a business studies classroom full of Amstrad PCW's and the main I.T. studies room had 6 Acorn Archimedes computer's. I was always quite impressed with the Achimedes (more especially when using one after using a BBC!)

The Arch was pretty comparable to the Amiga software wise - Chuck Rock, Cannon Fodder, Lemmings, Zool, James Pond etc.. were all released for it. (Some screenshots here.)

The basic model ran at 8MHz using a RISC processor, had a WIMP interface (RISC OS which is still being updated!) and was capable of a maximum screen resolution of 1152x896 with up to 256 colours. 8 Channels of digital audio, protected memory (upto 4MB initially) and a proper IDE implementation.

In theory this system could have whipped the Amiga's backside but dire marketing from the off, expensive hardware and the fact that both the system and Acorn themselves were always viewed as education tools only to be found in schools, meant that it didn't really stand a chance.

College had an Amiga 4000+genlock in the Media Studies dept but because I was doing HND Theatre Engineering (Sound+Lighting), we never got to play with it.

Last edited by andyr; 03 September 2005 at 03:50.
andyr is offline  
Old 03 September 2005, 11:49   #64
Fenrir
Junior Member
Fenrir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tromsø, Norway
Age: 41
Posts: 66
Nope :/ 8086 with 1 MB RAM and M$DOS 2.0 to run TurboPascal.
It was glorious 1990/91.
Fenrir is offline  
Old 03 September 2005, 13:11   #65
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 42
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyr
The Arch was pretty comparable to the Amiga software wise - Chuck Rock, Cannon Fodder, Lemmings, Zool, James Pond etc.. were all released for it.

The basic model ran at 8MHz using a RISC processor, had a WIMP interface (RISC OS which is still being updated!) and was capable of a maximum screen resolution of 1152x896 with up to 256 colours. 8 Channels of digital audio, protected memory (upto 4MB initially) and a proper IDE implementation.
The Archimedes was a very good machine indeed, last time I looked they fetched pretty much nil on eBay too

I don't think it was comparable to the Amiga software wise, it might have been for a short time but the Amiga had a much bigger software catalogue before and after that.
Parsec is offline  
Old 03 September 2005, 23:55   #66
andyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 97
Quote:
I don't think it was comparable to the Amiga software wise, it might have been for a short time but the Amiga had a much bigger software catalogue before and after that.
I should have been clearer by saying that the small amount of 'mainstream' titles released were comparable to thier Amiga counterparts - you are perfectly correct in saying that the amount of software released didn't even come close to matching the immense software catalogue of the Amiga.

Which was a great shame...

But then again, the Amiga always had that something extra - dunno how to describe it though, it just always 'felt' better even though spec wise, it wasn't.

EDIT: Just had a quick scan on E-bay and the only Arch I can see is a 3000 model - currently at £4!
andyr is offline  
Old 04 September 2005, 00:23   #67
Parsec
Registered User
Parsec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lancashire
Age: 42
Posts: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyr
I should have been clearer by saying that the small amount of 'mainstream' titles released were comparable to thier Amiga counterparts - you are perfectly correct in saying that the amount of software released didn't even come close to matching the immense software catalogue of the Amiga.
Ah right you mean game for game the Archie versions were comparable. I'd go along with that. The Archie was probably a bit weaker at 2D games but better at 3D, certainly Zarch showed there was easily more CPU power available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by andyr
EDIT: Just had a quick scan on E-bay and the only Arch I can see is a 3000 model - currently at £4!
Shocking isn't it! I always thought rarity was a guarantee of higher prices.
Parsec is offline  
Old 04 September 2005, 20:35   #68
petza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK / NEWCASTLE
Age: 42
Posts: 230
speccy power

Quote:
Originally Posted by stainy
Hmm we had ZX Speccy`s.. with microdrives for backup and thermal printers!!
Our computer teacher wore cloggs and his name was Mr Ecott!! hahah
we had this old thing in the corner.. no idea what it was though..

THE SPECTRUM IS A SUPER COMPUTER
ITS PURE RAW POWER

WITH VAAAAAAAAST MEMORY

BTW CLOGS SUCK
petza is offline  
Old 04 September 2005, 20:51   #69
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by petza
THE SPECTRUM IS A SUPER COMPUTER
ITS PURE RAW POWER

WITH VAAAAAAAAST MEMORY

BTW CLOGS SUCK
Don't shout.. turn the damn caps lock off!!!
BippyM is offline  
Old 08 September 2005, 21:14   #70
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Lightbulb Ja... Amiga... heres a BBC A m8, be happy

There was a fabled archemides in my High school... it had leser power than my Juiced (pimped up) A500 (1MB module) of the day.

you know i am not quite sure if they had cal-tic-ulators in primary school lol, but yes there was 1 BBC model B with all the trimmings 9600 Bps modem, Cart-slot and 8/5 Disk. it was amazing interacting with teletex via BBS (ahem yawn) my pimped Zx80 had all that and a bag of chips.. except maybe not the modem or the disk drive or the cart slot 'n only 1 chip but hey I HAD 16K RAM PACK AND THE CURRA-SPEAH UNIT!!!!!! the words (F~*k you) were heard repeatedly towards my younger brother in many bi-lingual languages including binary. *ahem* good days...

Computers in my day at school and including high school were a joke, they were still trying to force feed people BBC basic when i was 16 (would of been 1990) lucky me i got excemption from that (smart pupil me)

One thing that amused me though was the inch think lead based BNC EXPRESS carrier network. I tell yell them cables could easly put some one in hospital if ya managed to pick 'em up LOL

ahhh...

other schools had ACORN risc based computers... we had clockwork ones some schools even had intel PC computers but we had there empty boxes...

its okay though... what i needed i had at home..

Binatone, Database2, Atari 2600, Zx80, Spectrum 48k, Vic 20, Atari 600 & 800XL, A500, Atari ST 520, A600, A1200 and more...
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 06 October 2005, 14:41   #71
BarrySWE
Zone Friend
BarrySWE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 404
One amiga 4000 for video management.
BarrySWE is offline  
Old 06 October 2005, 22:52   #72
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarrySWE
One amiga 4000 for video management.
Lucky bastardo , i kinda suspect the "video management" part, i bet you played Wings with some great frames-per-second there
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 07 October 2005, 11:02   #73
com
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: home
Posts: 13
We had this Multitech Popular 500 (PC manufactured by Acer) in the 80s.
bäh...
com is offline  
Old 27 July 2015, 00:49   #74
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 40
Posts: 652
Old thread but in my school they had the old style commodore 64's. This was in 1991 and 92. The c64's seemed outdated at the time particularly compared to my Amiga 500.
Frogger and several other simple game were loaded on. I believe the c64's were all connected on a network. As such load frogger on one c64 and you load it on all of them.
Adrian Browne is offline  
Old 27 July 2015, 00:53   #75
Lonewolf10
AMOS Extensions Developer
Lonewolf10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: near Cambridge, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,917
My primary school (1984-1990) had a BBC Micro in most classrooms. My secondary school (1990-1996) still had a few BBC Micro's lurking here and there, but most of the computers we had were Acorn Archemedes, with software such as Pro-Artisan.
Lonewolf10 is offline  
Old 27 July 2015, 05:05   #76
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Amiga? We didn't even have Calculators. We used to write on slate until one kid fell off the roof.
Arnie is offline  
Old 27 July 2015, 05:49   #77
XPD
Registered User

XPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Stanmore Bay / NZ
Posts: 29
Primary school, we had an Apple of some description arrive about 3 months before I left.
Intermediate, we had BBC's, loved playing around with those.
College, we had some Acorn Archidemes, and in computer studies we had a room full of PC's (286's if lucky), and a room full of Amstrad CPC464's - some with disk drives, most were tape. We were taught BASIC on them. (wooohooo)
Yet all us students had Amigas :-p
XPD is offline  
Old 27 July 2015, 12:48   #78
edd_jedi
Registered User
edd_jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London / UK
Posts: 396
My school had just one Amiga - an A4000 in the art department. I have no idea what it was for as we certainly never used it! I was at high school in the mid 90s so we had Acorns as our main computers (which we only got to use occasionally) and the electronics department also had some 386 PCs with some software to create circuit board schematics, and then as above just one Amiga.
edd_jedi is offline  
Old 27 July 2015, 14:32   #79
Higgy
Registered User

Higgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 397
My secondary school had BBC Micros & Archimedes. We found a 'Doomsdays Project' BBC in the library. Powered it on and had a play. At some point it mentioned about swapping/flipping the disc. We pressed a button and this massive drawer opened with a huge shiny disc appearing - we ran off!

Although when I was younger and attended summer school there, they had a room of rubber key ZX Spectrums. A week of playing Commando & Manic Miner = bliss.

I was in the lower 'Band' at secondary school. So had to use the BBC Micros instead of Archimedes. Ever tried Desktop Publishing on a BBC? It was very frustrating using such primative computers at school when my AMIGA was at home.
Basically I did my GCSE project work at home on my AMIGA with a digitizer & colour dot matrix. It was great fun and no hardship in having to do this work at home after school. I loved scanning in pictures with Vidi-Amiga and tweeking the pics using Deluxe Paint. Can't remember what I used to combine the text and pics, Final Writer/Wordsworth?

Primary school had one BBC Micro and we had a Turtle. I remember playing with it when most of the other kids were outside doing their Cycling Proficiency. Good fun finding the 'hoot' command and driving the Turtle around. I also remember playing 'Castle Quest' and a 2-player plane game.

Simple times...
Higgy is offline  
Old 27 July 2015, 16:59   #80
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,604
BBC Model B's when I was a kid, not long before I left junior school, they ditched the BBC's for a load of Research Machine Nimbuses, a rather basic PC, I remember it being quite slow.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LTTF: Amiga CD32 Games ~ HFT: Old School & Import Games mobiusclimber Swapshop 3 08 December 2015 01:35
Swos 96 Slowdown with a PPC equipped Amiga portarinos project.WHDLoad 7 18 January 2012 23:14
Todd's CF equipped A1200 thgill Hardware pics 7 21 June 2008 00:27
For Sale Amiga 1200 PPC fully equipped... martin-flash MarketPlace 23 14 September 2005 21:06
Complete PPC equipped Amiga! paul_r_t MarketPlace 10 28 April 2005 18:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25376 seconds with 12 queries