English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 April 2005, 12:20   #1
anj
 
Posts: n/a
Help getting these two demos to run

Hi all,

I've got a couple of EOC 1999 Amiga demos here but can't get them to run.

I've been pulling my hair out as these are demos I fondly remember from over 12/13 years ago and I'm desperate to see them again!

I'm running WinUAE 0.9.92.

Both demos output text "Released at 92 QZ Party" to the shell, load for a bit but then exit. Any help would be appreciated!

I been advised that they may need a few libraries to run so here's what I did, I made a copy of a Workbench 1.3 disk, deleted some files from it (e.g. some of the utilities and tools; calculator/more etc) so that there was space enough for the demo files.

I then tried every permutation of the following:

- Kickstart 1.2/1.3
- OCS/ECS
- Differing values of Chip/Slow/Fast memory

The only glimpse of the demo I've had is when I use just 512k of Chip mem, a message comes up "Insufficient memory, please press mouse" (and the font that message comes up in is a font I remember from the actual demo!) So obviously it does run and unpack and initialise enough to show that message.

Arrrggh - its like I'm so close, but still so far..

Any help would be most greatly appreciated!! If you can get it to run, please let me know the config and if you have the time, an ADF file would be fantastic!

Thanks in advance :-)
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 April 2005, 12:39   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
They miss some external files. (3d-objects and fonts)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 April 2005, 14:29   #3
anj
 
Posts: n/a
Hey thanks for the prompt reply. How did you find out it needed 3DS files (I'm actually quite impressed), I know one o fthe demos contains 3D objects but no the other one (I think). Anyway, as you seem to be an expert, can you tell me the names of the libraries/font files each one requires?

Many thanks for your help!! :-)
 
Old 30 April 2005, 14:50   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,663
I don't remember anymore the filenames.. Just unpack the executables and use hex-editor (they are packed with Titanics cruncher)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 April 2005, 15:29   #5
anj
 
Posts: n/a
Excellent thanks for the info :-)
 
Old 02 May 2005, 05:51   #6
anj
 
Posts: n/a
Got them all working:

They can be found at Pouet: (Called Aphex / Blade Distro and Neuron-137)

Thanks again for your help :-)

http://www.pouet.net/groups.php?which=2010
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD demos don't run from within Gamebase - but why exactly? andreas support.Demos 1 25 October 2010 22:02
How do I run this? XIIGermanIIX support.WinUAE 8 09 February 2010 16:30
Help Please! I cant get 3.9 to run dezmond support.Apps 7 05 November 2009 14:59
how to run winuae and run Tau Ceti Academy ??? funkycatspangky support.Games 7 22 July 2007 18:51
How to run Demos...*.iha files ??? Lightforce Amiga scene 5 03 March 2003 22:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11501 seconds with 11 queries