English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2001, 10:07   #21
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Well DMS 2.20r was actually The Loons 100% release (at least my version is...) of the ParCon version, only with improvements and fixes.

Was there any other disk besides Superfrog disk 3 that DMS would not work on?

On the other end of the spectrum, as you pointed out in different words, by having everything archived as ADF's, if you want the trained versions or other patches, you need an entirely separate ADF image just to accommodate a few meager tracks. And with the use of my old Warp and DMS (which are considered too old-school for some people), I am at least able to play "Dragon's Breath"! Everyone's adf's of that game are worthless, so I am far from ready to retire them.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 October 2001, 10:30   #22
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
For Dragon's Breath surely it doesn't matter whether you are using DMS or ADF? Both will need the image to be written to a disk on a real Amiga and then have the warp patch applied.

I thought that Dragon's Breath doesn't work because there is some protection which can't be imaged on either DMS or ADF.

Are you saying that you have a working DMS of Dragon's Breath which doesn't require a patch? If not, then it's hardly a disadvantage of ADFs, because I was able to write ADF images of the game to real Amiga disks and apply the patch to run the game, just as you used the DMS images.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 10:54   #23
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
@Twistin'

Could you perhaps post your version 2.20r ???? Thx
RetroMan is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 12:22   #24
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
@Retroman
It's in The Zone. It's an lha archive inside the zip. As I say, I have never had any problems with this version.

@Cody
Quote:
And with the use of my old Warp and DMS (which are considered too old-school for some people), I am at least able to play "Dragon's Breath"!
Nothing more, nothing less. My point was that the ADF format is not a panacea replacement for old school Amiga tools. Anymore than emulation is a replacement for the real thing.

I thought we agreed to leave it to personal preference...
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 12:29   #25
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
Quote:
And with the use of my old Warp and DMS (which are considered too old-school for some people), I am at least able to play "Dragon's Breath"!
My point is that you could replace the word 'DMS' with 'ADF' above, so it's not really an advantage of DMS! From what you say, it suggests that DMS is better than ADF in the case of Dragon's Breath.

It's still down to personal preference, but I thought that I'd mention the above.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 13:14   #26
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Well I thought by my mentioning DMS and WRP together that it was clear I was not pumping up DMS...and coupled with the fact that I was stating that Dragon's Breath was not compatible with the ADF format, it seems very clear that I was addressing the limitations of the ADF format.

The only deviation from that was my reference to them being too old school, responding to the tone that was first taken in this tirade from Icy with comments like "...this isn't the old days, and we aren't all limited to 1200bps modems and 200 meg harddrives..."
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 13:46   #27
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally posted by Twistin'Ghost
@Retroman
It's in The Zone. It's an lha archive inside the zip. As I say, I have never had any problems with this version.
Thx a lot
RetroMan is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 14:26   #28
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
Quote:
I am at least able to play "Dragon's Breath"!
Just like anyone who has got a DMS/ADF of the crack, the warp patch and a real Amiga. Congrats anyway, Twistin!
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 17:35   #29
|cy[ool
Strange Days
|cy[ool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 147
Ok, just to make a few points crystal clear here..

*Codys & my disks didn't 'go' bad..they were created badly.

*Tosec & dats are for cataloguing only and bear no influence on whether the images they catalog are for emulation or the real thing, it also brings new images to the 'real' users as no such system exists on Amiga.

*To image a disk 'readdisk dfx: image.name'
*To write an image to disk 'writedisk image.name dfx:'

As previously stated, i use ADF instead of DMS on my real Amiga's.. nothing to do with emulation.

Its your perogative to use a potentially faulty product, and if you have problems of corrupt disks and don't do what CodeT does with comparing disks, its no fault but your own.
|cy[ool is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 17:41   #30
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
Quote:
*Tosec & dats are for cataloguing only and bear no influence on whether the images they catalog are for emulation or the real thing, it also brings new images to the 'real' users as no such system exists on Amiga.
IcyCool - TOSEC Amiga doesn't support real Amigas, as the filenames are too long.

Which brings me back to my old question about why all the extra TOSEC info is stored in the filename, rather than a database.
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 18:05   #31
|cy[ool
Strange Days
|cy[ool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Age: 43
Posts: 147
Ok, point taken, standard Amiga filenames are only 31 chars long.. BCPL string. However, you can get an extender program to allow filenames up to 255 chars on Amiga.

But your right in the aspect that the filenames are useless for standard Amiga's but tosec and similar are certainly a benefit to the real Amy community as it sources and catalogues a large quantity of software.

Regarding Tosec's long names.. TUGID.. something they are working on, now several months overdue will strip all irrelevant information from the filenames, but don't expect to see them replaced with labels such as DSKXXXXX.ADF or anything similarly generic.
|cy[ool is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 18:40   #32
žane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally posted by |cy[ool
Regarding Tosec's long names.. TUGID.. something they are working on, now several months overdue will strip all irrelevant information from the filenames, but don't expect to see them replaced with labels such as DSKXXXXX.ADF or anything similarly generic. [/B]
If i had it my way i'd replace the filenames with their CRC counterpart, being that CRC-32 is always 8 chars long it would comply with any file system standard.

eg.
"Secret of Monkey Island (1990)(Lucasfilms)(Sp)(Disk 1 of 4).adf" becomes "BB55F647.adf"

The rest of the information regarding the file would reside in a database. It may sound like a crazy idea but i think it's what it'll come down to in the end, or at least some kind of numerical system.
žane is offline  
Old 16 October 2001, 19:03   #33
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,743
I favour a text GameID which is less or equal to 20 characters in length (e.g. Turrican2). The only other info needed is a version ID (to distinguish between different cracks) and disk numbers (but it is not necessary to include the total disks like 'Disk 1 of 3' - only _1, _2 etc.)

Last edited by CodyJarrett; 16 October 2001 at 19:10.
CodyJarrett is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADF to DMS Megamix support.Other 20 20 September 2009 21:47
.Dms to .ADF D4Ni3L3 request.Apps 12 22 November 2008 20:15
Dms 2 Adf ??? plasmatron support.WinUAE 19 25 March 2008 13:03
DMS>ADF how? Dastardly support.Apps 3 21 August 2003 04:28
ADF to DMS Unregistered support.WinUAE 1 03 April 2001 17:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29095 seconds with 11 queries