English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 April 2005, 18:27   #1
Dj Dishcloth
Junior Member
Dj Dishcloth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Age: 42
Posts: 22
AmigaSYS worth

What's the general opinion of AmigaSYS, is it something people like, use and download or is it pretty much just ignored? AIAB is another alternative of this sort, what do you think?
Dj Dishcloth is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 April 2005, 10:15   #2
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel
gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 36
Posts: 2,946
I think AmigaSys is pretty good. It looks pretty and has plenty of tools (some which wouldn't work / wouldn't work right away in my case though). AIAB is also good, but it's not being actively developed while AmigaSys is VERY active.
gimbal is offline  
Old 20 April 2005, 10:46   #3
HOL2001
Amigamaniac

HOL2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neheim / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by gimbal
I think AmigaSys is pretty good. It looks pretty and has plenty of tools (some which wouldn't work / wouldn't work right away in my case though). AIAB is also good, but it's not being actively developed while AmigaSys is VERY active.
I think gimbal is right. I also prefer AmigaSYS. Even more as I have good contacts to one of the developers (Calo Nord).
HOL2001 is offline  
Old 20 April 2005, 12:44   #4
Calo Nord
Junior Member
Calo Nord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Espoo / FIN
Age: 38
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Calo Nord
Quote:
Originally Posted by HOL2001
I have good contacts to one of the developers (Calo Nord).
Thats right
Calo Nord is offline  
Old 21 April 2005, 01:05   #5
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
I also use AmigaSys for my Winuae, waiting for the 3.9 version )
kriz is online now  
Old 21 April 2005, 12:17   #6
HOL2001
Amigamaniac

HOL2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neheim / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriz
I also use AmigaSys for my Winuae, waiting for the 3.9 version )
3.9 version of AmigaSYS ? You mean the 2.0 version, don't you ?
HOL2001 is offline  
Old 21 April 2005, 14:45   #7
Calo Nord
Junior Member
Calo Nord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Espoo / FIN
Age: 38
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Calo Nord
The 2.0 will support OS 3.1 and 3.9 too
Calo Nord is offline  
Old 21 April 2005, 16:26   #8
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
hehe yeah I mean the 2.0 verison wich enables me to use (os) 3.9

btw. Keep up the good work AmigaSys team!!
kriz is online now  
Old 21 April 2005, 17:00   #9
Calo Nord
Junior Member
Calo Nord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Espoo / FIN
Age: 38
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Calo Nord
AmigaSYS 2.0 will be released with the WinUAE Version 1.0
Calo Nord is offline  
Old 21 April 2005, 17:24   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
I preffer Bloodwych's ClassicWB
Akira is offline  
Old 21 April 2005, 17:25   #11
glwxxx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira
I preffer Bloodwych's ClassicWB
what's that man?
 
Old 21 April 2005, 17:52   #12
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,354
http://classicwb.abime.net/ <- Also very good work.
kriz is online now  
Old 21 April 2005, 17:56   #13
glwxxx
 
Posts: n/a
sorry for invading this thread, but maybe this could attract your attention:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=18345
 
Old 21 April 2005, 18:31   #14
Calo Nord
Junior Member
Calo Nord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Espoo / FIN
Age: 38
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Calo Nord
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriz
http://classicwb.abime.net/ <- Also very good work.
Nice one! AmigaSYS will never came with a start menü. Because AmigaOS doesnt need that! We still use MagicMenü with the right mouse button to reach important applications and actions

Do you have the licence for the applications?
Calo Nord is offline  
Old 21 April 2005, 18:57   #15
glwxxx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calo Nord
Nice one! AmigaSYS will never came with a start menü. Because AmigaOS doesnt need that! We still use MagicMenü with the right mouse button to reach important applications and actions

Do you have the licence for the applications?
I assume this is question for me and not kriz, 'cause I don't see any startmenu on those pics...

anyway, AmigaOS needs a lot of improvements, someone could say that he doesn't need any DOpus Magellan, but in fact when I run the system without it, I feel like without hands... maybe that's a matter of habit or personal preference, but there are lot of people who love it and use it regularly... why?
With regards to licences, note that the screenshots are only previews. Few apps need to be removed for sure (like MicroGoldEd)... With regards to others, I am working on licences.
 
Old 21 April 2005, 19:49   #16
Calo Nord
Junior Member
Calo Nord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Espoo / FIN
Age: 38
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Calo Nord
Yes, the question was for you. the quote was my fault!
I wish you good look with your project! Looks really good!
Calo Nord is offline  
Old 21 April 2005, 19:52   #17
glwxxx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calo Nord
Yes, the question was for you. the quote was my fault!
I wish you good look with your project! Looks really good!
thank you very much!
 
Old 21 April 2005, 22:14   #18
HOL2001
Amigamaniac

HOL2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neheim / Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriz
hehe yeah I mean the 2.0 verison wich enables me to use (os) 3.9

btw. Keep up the good work AmigaSys team!!
Ahh, I see. Sorry, for this misunderstanding !
HOL2001 is offline  
Old 22 April 2005, 02:55   #19
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calo Nord
Do you have the licence for the applications?
He is NOT making ClassicWB, in your message you quoted about ClassicWb, let's clarify BLOODWYCH is he one making ClassicWB.glwxxx is making another one
Akira is offline  
Old 22 April 2005, 10:29   #20
Calo Nord
Junior Member
Calo Nord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Espoo / FIN
Age: 38
Posts: 53
Send a message via ICQ to Calo Nord
@Akira: It was my mistake. I mean the other project from GLWXXX
Calo Nord is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AmigaSYS 5 Dary News 14 13 February 2010 14:10
AmigaSYS 3 Plus Dary News 10 12 July 2007 06:04
AmigaSYS 3 Dary News 11 07 September 2005 01:44
AmigaSYS 2 is Out! Dary News 3 10 July 2005 19:09
AmigaSYS 1.7 is out! Dary News 0 08 February 2005 20:55

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26080 seconds with 11 queries